We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kalimera Suites

Kalimera Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kalimera Suites to your Saves list
Kalimera Suites
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Choris Onoma, Kardamena 85302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Kent
1 review
“A Great Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

This was a nice clean hotel, you had the choice of 3 pools and its the best all inclusive food we've had. The staff were friendly and were happy to help with any quieries we had.

The rooms are basic but you dont spend alot of time in the room anyway. The only problem i had is the shower, its too small and there is no bath. The water goes everywhere as the plastic curtain doesnt seem to have a purpose!

The food was cooked fresh infront of you, with a choice of typical english chips and a range of meats, or you could have chinese or pizza which was all cooked while you waited.

The hotel laid on a free bus service to Kardamena town as the hotel is slightly out of the way, but they were frequent and always on time.

One thing to be prepared for is that you have to give a 50 euro deposit for the remote that controls the air conditioning, unfortunately it is definately needed so make sure you budget for that.

Kardamena itself is great for nightlife with plenty of bars and clubs. But for the friendliest staff and a good night out visit the 'Brothers Bar' at the end of the strip.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    8
    8
    9
See reviews for
6
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

We loved it at the Kalimera Kos hotel! Do not listen to any of the other reviews on here - people seem to moan about the slightest of things!
The hotel is clean, with friendly service and lovely pool area.
You can use all facilities at the Akti beach club next door (think they are trying to make it all one hotel, as the Kalimera Kos is now called the Akti annex)
You have to eat your meals in the Akti, we had 3 meals a day for a week and there was always something different to choose from. It really was a very nice hotel!
I cannot understand comments people make about 'frogs in the pool' and 'blood stains on the sheets' etc! - from our experience and other people we spoke to, everyone had lovely rooms and a great holiday.
It depends what you want from a holiday i suppose, but if you are a normal, down to earth type of person not expecting a place as posh the ritz, then you are sure to love it!
Free hotel bus running all day until 11:45pm into Kardamena town (all on time - none cancelled) and a taxi back was about 8euros. Go and enjoy it and have a great holiday - we certainly did!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2008

Believe it all - we stayed here in 05 and by the look of other reviews its not changed much. The hotel was sold to us as a 4 star - 2 star more like. I was in total shock upon arriving. Its run down reception with rude and unhelpful staff that give you the distinct impression that they really can't be bothered with you. We dragged our cases along an uneven path and up stairs that had broken glass and food and also what looked like blood on the them. I got quite upset and worried that we were going to be in a complex with a bunch of drunken yobs who liked a good punch up. The room was a total disgrace. The door was hanging off the hinges and would have only taken a good kick to burst the flimsy lock. The was what looked like insulating foam bursting out of the walls that were marked and dirty and the beds were so old we thought they'd fall apart. The bathroom was just unclean and old and you felt disgusted by this. I had a good old cry on my first night and after checking the sheets and pillows which although old and tatty were at least laundered we climbed in to bed. I attempted to discuss matters with the staff at reception but they would just shake their heads and say that they didn't speak English. We decided to make do and try to enjoy ourselves as much as possible but when you've booked a 4star all incl. You expect only to eat out a few times - the food was horrendous and flies were everywhere. The opinion of the Brits must be just given then something shaped like a sausage and chips or a toastie. We went out every night and spent a fortune but we had to get out of that hell hole! I would never let anyone stay here and it has put us off returning to Kos also as the staff were all rude. Been to other Greek islands and experience the total opposite. Please do not stay here - no matter how much of a bargain you think it not worth it in the slightest !!

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing - it was a disgrace
  • Disliked — All of it !!
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

It was my first holiday away with my friends, so before all the hotels I have stayed in before have been nice due to my parents choice.

When we arrived at the hotel and I was relieved it wasn't falling apart. The rooms were of a good size, four of us were sharing and two shared each room. The only problem I had with the room was that there were ants everywhere and the room had not be cleaned at all, the floor was dusty. The hotel staff gave us ant killer but they kept coming back. The bed sheets weren't cleaned throughout our stay, only the beds were made.

The food in the hotel was edable but lacked variety. Some of my party weren't fussed about the food but ate chips most days for lunch and dinner.

The hotel manager and staff were friendly but had a careless attitude to helping about teh room situation.

The good thing about the hotel was the pool area, this was very clean and nice and pleasant to sit around. Plenty of sunbeds throughout the day.

If you want a low cost holiday, with cheap food thrown in then go to this hotel but if you are looing for a luxury hotel do not come here.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2007

Avoid at all costs
Food disgusting.
Room - staff tried their best, the slugs loved the balcony if you could call it a balcony
Staff - surly except the Dev look a like behind the bar

No hot water for 3 nights.

All - inclusive means jail!!

Rhona and Brian

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

this hotel is not what it is ment out to be. the food was cold, not much variety. only one bar staff on at a time. some hotel staff very friendly but others should not be in the industry. the entertainment is very poor, bingo for cheap neckless or 2006 cd. the sister hotel the mear is better but only just and the other hotel was out of bounds. at least you wont oversleep as the birds in the many trees kick of every day at 5am. the hotel mini bus goes into town when the driver feels like it as it gets cancelled but no one bothers to tell you.

  • Liked — cleaning staff
  • Disliked — the whole room
  • Tips/Secrets — do not go
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2006

Kalimera Kos, Kos.
6-13 Sep 06
Tourist view, Portsmouth, UK

Just returned after 7 days in Kalimera Kos, not impressed for a 4 star hotel, maximum 2 star.
Arrived at mid-day and apart from the pleasantries given no information about the hotel. Had to go back to reception and spend 50€ on key to safe and TV and aircon remotes. Did get 30€ returned for remotes. At times reception staff seemed to be more interested in what they were doing than answering questions. It all seemed too difficult at times.
Beds and pillows very hard although linen changed every day. Bathroom very small consequently the bath would only accommodate a baby. Hot water was always available. Cannot put loo paper down the toilet so it sits in the waste bin until emptied the next day. In public toilets they were always over-flowing.
Pool area good but some beds and cushions are in need of replacement.
Food hardly seems to vary from day to day with a distinct lack of local fare. Chips with everything. Presentation very poor.
Cleanliness around hotel not good. Bins not emptied on a daily basis. In one case not emptied for 2 days.
For an all inclusive holiday it was not value for money.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not expect 4*
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kardamena hotels
0.0 mi away
Kalimera Mare Hotel
Kalimera Mare Hotel
#8 of 42 in Kardamena
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Evripides Village Hotel
Evripides Village Hotel
#32 of 42 in Kardamena
3.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakitira Suites
Lakitira Suites
#3 of 42 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mammis Beach Studios
Mammis Beach Studios
#27 of 42 in Kardamena
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sweet Kalimera Apartments
Sweet Kalimera Apartments
#9 of 29 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Helona Resort
Helona Resort
#12 of 42 in Kardamena
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalimera Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalimera Suites

Address: Choris Onoma, Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalimera Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUITE beachfront consisting of a bedroom and living room. The suites are part of a larger residence where you will find a swimming pool, restaurant and bar at your disposal. Directly opposite you will find one of the most beautiful beaches in Kardamena that few know, off the beaten track of mass tourism. All apartments have a private balcony, a bathroom with hairdryer, mini bar, satellite TV, safe and air conditioning optional. (Not equipped with a kitchenette). Available to all guests a restaurant for those who wish to have breakfast and dinner (optional services). The residence is located 2 km from the village of Kardamena. The ideal solution for those seeking tranquility and relaxation. We recommend renting a bike, scooter or car to be able to easily reach the center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Kalimera Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalimera Suites Kos/Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalimera Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.