We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sovereign Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sovereign Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sovereign Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Kardamena, Kardamena 85302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 44 hotels in Kardamena
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well situated hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2006

This was a very clean hotel. Admittedly there were a lot of Italians there, but there were also a lot of British people. The hotel itself was excellent and the staff polite and friendly. The pool was clean and the sunbeds plentiful. Never had to wait for one to be free! The food at the hotel was very much like food we have experienced in other Greek resorts, something for everyone, we never went hungry. The desserts are to die for and the bread served fresh every day was great. The hotel is situated about 20 minutes from the main resort and we walked it quite a few times during our stay. The view from the balcony of the room we had was magnificent. Saw the sun rise on many occasions. The hotel has a limited shuttle bus service into the town on an evening, but the last one back is 9.15 pm. However the taxi was 5 euro and if you could find someone to share your ride back all the better. We used this often. The entertainment was mostly aimed at the Italians, but with bits thrown in for the Brits. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Disliked — Entertainment
  • Tips/Secrets — Walk into town on the coast road, takes 20 minues
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    162
    81
    30
    15
See reviews for
139
102
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2006

We stayed at the Sovereign Beach Hotel in August for one week and thoroughly enjoyed out stay there. The hotel was very spacious and clean and welcoming. We had two adjoining rooms with balconies, both with superb sea view (most rooms did have sea views). We had never been on an all inclusive holiday before and were a little unsure about how it would be - but it was the best thing - we would definetely do it again! There was always plenty of food to choose from, we ate well and were never hungry. Our boys are aged 12 and 9 and they loved the pool and hotel's own beach with free canoes and pedaloes. Watersports are on offer too at a reasonable price. There is a pool bar to get drinks and ice-cream from 10 -6 pm and also a snack bar serving drinks, ice-cream, and snack food (all inclus) until 11pm. Always plenty of sunbeds (even in peak season in August). Even though the entertainment team are geared more towards the Italians they still include the English and in our opinion the evening entertainment is more sophisticated than some English entertainment we have seen before! The hotel is on the outskirts of Kardamena so if you want to see some of the island we would recommend hiring a car for a few days - go and see Kos Town and Paradise Beach. Go and have a fab time!

  • Liked — Air conditioning in room, location of hotel and beach
  • Disliked — Lift sometimes out of order
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2006

We stayed at this hotel 4th Oct 2006 for a week, it was our second time there. We enjoyed it before but noticed that there could be room for some improvement, but were pleasantly surprised when we went for the second time. It was absolutely lovely. Lots of Italians there and very friendly. The hotel is very well located, near the beach, Kardemena just down the road and the Hotel runs an efficient courtesy coach. Food was nice, and of good quality. The swimming pool was lovely and clean. All the hotel staff are friendly, Notis especially and Stephanos who is really quite cheeky. Our stay at this hotel was extremely pleasant and relaxing. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Neighbours
  • Tips/Secrets — Always use Nationwide Debit/Credit Cards - They do not charge commission for currency conversion
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

We recently stayed for a week in the Hotel Sovereign and throughly enjoued ourselves. The hotel has a great location, close to Kardemena to enjoy the nightlife but further enough away to not be bothered by any noise. The swimming pool area was really nice and was never overcrowded so you could easily get a sun bed without getting up at the crack of dawn. The beach was next to the hotel and also offered free sunbeds which was a real plus point. The hotel room was nicely furnished and was kept extremely clean by the maid who came daily. It also had a lovely view of the swimming pool and beach. The entertainment team worked extremely hard and provided a variety of activites in the day, alongside entertainment shows in the evening. Free drinks were provided until 11 o'clock at night and we were surprised to find the soft drinks on offer were in fact the branded variety of coca-cola, sprite and fanta. Alcoholic drinks were also on offer until 11 o'clock but these were the locally produced variety.

The only downside to this hotel was the food. The choice was very limited and the food was often cold. On occassions, the cutlery and glasses were also dirty. However, we found we could eat out in Kardemena for quite cheap and so the poor food in the hotel was not a real issue.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2006

We stayed here for 10 nights in August.

The hotel itself is extremely spacious and very clean. We were impressed that you didn't have to get up at the crack of dawn to put your towels over your sunbeds. Infact there were plenty of sunbeds all the time.

The staff all spoke English and were friendly, the kids club was a hit with our twins. The Animation team worked hard and also were very friendly.

Our accommodation was clean - the maid came every day and we had clean towels daily.

Our only dissappointment was the food - but to be honest we didn't go hungry. The restaurant staff took away your dirty plates almost immediately. There was always plenty of food even if yes it did seem to be geared towards the Italians. They did a bbq outside each night - that was popular and smelt lovely when you were outside.

I hope you all have a good holiday - we did!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

29.07.06 - I was interested to read that this hotel had problems with there room allocations, we were told on arrival at Kos airport... 'Your not going to Sovereign Beach hotel you are going to Kalamarie Mare for one week then moved to Sovereign Beach for the second week, the rep will see you tomorrow afternoon'
We decided to go to the SBeach Hotel in morning and were told they'd had a burst pipe on Friday Evening, so we told our rep who arrrived at our hotel at 3.45pm (another day wastes) she said she'd emailed Libra in the UK at 12.07pm Kos time. We received no notifcaiton. It did nt end there we were offered to rooms on the Wednesday, so we went up on the Tuesday night to view the rooms and surprise surprise we had a look at the rooms and one was vacant the other was empty. We werent happy with them so we asked what could be done, two more rooms were found for us, and we were told that these rooms would be held until the Saturday with the following remark made ' Please don t tell any one about the rooms being held as we are relocating other people to another hotel' surprise surprise when we eventually arrived at S Beach hotel on the Saturday one room was vacant the other had still got the cleaners to go in!!!! Yet another lie.
We were a party of 6 including 2 children, 1 22year old and my 72 year old mother so obviously this holiday was a bit of a nightmare.

It would have been better if the S Beach could just tell us the truth instead of what appeared to be a pack of lies. And if Libra had contacted us to let us know a give us alternatives so it did not cause us to much disruption.

The hotel was a good but they obviously have serious problems when allocating rooms as this seems a reoccuring problem.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — being messed about of rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure you have room
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2006

To be honest i dont think my family would ever go back to this hotel. We were told it was a nice quite hotel but to our dismay it certainly was not. With music blaring out from the pool area from 10.00am until the mid afternoon and when that stops there is more music from the entertainment area for the dance lessons and some times the two were competing with each other as to who could be the loudest. We were also not keen on the evening entertainment continuing until 12.30am and you could not get away from the noise anywere in the hotel. Not good if you are trying to get to sleep.
With regards to the food, we were not happy at all. The food was never hot enough and its fine as long as you like pizza, pasta and chips. It was totally geared towards the italians-which we found out a few days of being there that an Italian company had bought the hotel and 90% of the guests we italian. Yes thats fine but it would of been nice to have some of the entertainment spoken in a different lanugage and also have some variety on food. Regardless of all that i have to say how professional Stephanos, the restaurant manager was. He had a hard time trying to find tables for people when there werent any and he had some long days sometimes.
The rooms were ok. The housekeepers need to be retrained, I work in a hotel and we certainly wouldnt allow them to get away with the sloopy standards they have. One day they completely forgot to service our room, and yes i did know they dont do rooms on a sunday but this was midweek and im sorry but when there is a puddle on the floor and some dirt i do expect them to mop this up. I also expect them to sweep the bedroom floor. Not the best !!!
The receptionist were very helpful especaialy when we were asking them information about the hotel and spoke excellent english.
All i can say is good luck to anyone who goes there- its fine if you want a cheapish all inclusive holiday and you dont mind reptative, luke warm food with no entertainment in english!

  • Liked — good to centralised area- away from the clubbing area
  • Disliked — the constant blare of musice
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sovereign Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Sovereign Beach
Sovereign Beach kós
Sovereign Beach Hotel Kos/Kardamena
Address: | Kardamena, Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sovereign Beach Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sovereign Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sovereign Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.