We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SECOND TIME AT THIS HOTEL AND EXCELLENT AS EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carda Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carda Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Carda Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardamena 85302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Kardamena
Bristol
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“SECOND TIME AT THIS HOTEL AND EXCELLENT AS EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We first stayed at the Carda 3 years ago for my husbands 50th birthday and had forgotten how beautiful and serene this property is (especially as now it is adults only!) A quick transfer from the airport (15 mins) brings you here, just a ten minute walk to the village, which is also another advantage.

Checked in swiftly by the lovely Maria (Who I remembered from 3 years ago)We were taken up to our Shared Pool Suite by Costas with our luggage in the golf buggy as it is at the top of the resort. Surprisingly he remembered us and even the exact suite where we stayed before. I had requested a ground floor suite as this had direct access to the pool, but Maria had said at check in that we would not be able to move into one until the Saturday which was only 2 days away so we settled happily into 2307 which still had the shared pool, but you had to go downstairs.

All the suites are fab. Lovely lounge area with tv/dvd and mini bar. Separate bedroom with HUGE double bed, which is always nice, as in previous hotels, it is normally 2 singles pushed together. Double sink area with loads of room for all your products ladies! Separate shower and toilet by the double wardrobes. Now I have read a lot of comments on Trip about people moaning that the shower does not have a door. WISE UP ITS WHAT KNOWN AS A WET ROOM.

These Sharing Pool Suites are the business and well worth the extra cost. Not only do you get a beautiful private pool shared between 8 suites, there is the most stunning view of Nisyros Island across the Aegean.

Back dow the hill at the main pool, this is also beautiful and very large. Unfortunately when there are a lot of guests the sunbeds do seem to be crammed together along the top part of the pool area over looking the sea. Again this is why having a Shared pool room has an advantage.

There is a pool bar which opens at 11 until 6 serving wine beer and spirits, also tea and coffee. Snacks such as rolls and cake are available throughout, but to be honest there is so much choice of food at the breakfast and lunch buffets we did not bother. The quality of the spirits is not great, but I suppose with the way the economy is over there, you won,t get branded drinks unless you pay top notch for your hotel.

Ok onto the main restaurant. As mentioned earlier, there is a great deal of choice and varierty and to be fair it is probably one of the best buffets we have seen during all our travels. Breakfast is excellent with an omelette station for freshly prepared food. Anything you could ever eat is here. Cakes, pastries, cold ham and cheese, bacon, eggs etc. Two negative points. The orange juice from the machine is awful, so either go upstairs to the shop and buy a carton or you can ask for a fresh juice (about 2 and half euros I think). Secondly the coffee machine is in the wrong position as it is next to the tea bag station and you get people queing up to sort their tea bags out who don,t want coffee and therefore causing waiting time for the guest that do.

Lunch is also a very varied affair with fresh meats off the grill, pizzas, cold cuts, delicious salads with yummy feta cheese. You can get wine and beer from the barrels in the restaurant also. There is also a fantastic range of desserts and ice creams. Dinner time in the main restaurant is pretty much the same, and I think that even the fussiest of eaters would find something to suit.

The hotel has two al la carte restaurants which make a nice change to the buffet as all the food is served to your table and what a choice! The Wok and Roll Asian restaurant has so much on its menu and everything we tried was astounding. This is a beautiful restaurant with outdoor dining if you wish. The spicy soup is a must! We also went to the Italian upstairs. You choose your main and dessert from the menu and get your own starter from the selection. The olive and rosemary breads are delicious. I can highly recommend the chicken.

The Blue Moon Bar upstairs is perfect for a pre or post dinner drink. It is a real cool and trendy place and very modern with indoor and outdoor seating. They do also a list of drinks and cocktails that you pay for but to be honest the Ouzo and Brandy are ok for after dinner drinks.

There isn,t any night time entertainment at the Carda, but they do next door at the sister hotel the MIkri Poli. We went over there one night to have a look around but it was bedlam with all the baby things running around, so if like us you aren,t keen on kids steer clear.

You can always take the 15 min walk into the village to have a late night drink. Bar Street is not as busy as it used to be, but for us oldies I can highly recommend the Garden Bar or Adams on the seafront.

Right coming to the end of this review now you will be pleased to know. My finally comments are thanks you to the people who worked at the Carda and made our holiday special.

First up is Nikos the Maitre d of the restaurants. He always welcomed us with a smile and had always time to chat to me and Mart about all sorts. Loved that silver suit babes! Goda, both at the pool bar and upstairs was lovely. Always happy and smiling serving my fave drinks. Dionsaya served us once in the Asian and then we saw her at pool bar and also upstairs. Another lovely girl. There were two other girls who helped out at pool bar and whose names I have forgot but again they are a credit to the hotel. Michealis upstairs bar you mix a mean Mojito!

Finally on reception the lovely Fiotini and Maria. It was always a pleasure talking to you and thank you so much for helping us in every way that you did to make our holiday special.

George the Manager, thank you so much for an excellent stay at the Carda. All your staff are a credit to you and if we win the lottery we will come over and set up camp for the whole of the summer in Room 2314!

Very Best Wishes

Jo and Mart UK xxx

Room Tip: No question! Just a Shared Pool Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Carda Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear HallyBristol
Dear Jo

Thanks for awarding us the highest possible rating for your recent stay and we are happy to have provided an enjoyable experience and to know that our brand concept focusing on quality at a value was once again appreciated by yourself.

As you have mentioned, our location near several cultural and historical attractions and proximity to the airport as well as business venues is appreciated by most of our guests.

Your good words regarding our Staff "Maria & Fotini" at reception, "Nikos" the Maitre D' and "Michalis, Goda and Dionysia" at the bars, have been passed on to them individually.

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await your next stay at our hotel.

p.s. we are now checking for the new position of the coffee nachine and the fish spa "::-)

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

George Vassilopoulos - Hotel Manager - mail: george.vassilopoulos@mikripoli.gr ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
Kostas Zois – Front Office Manager - mail: kostas.zois@mikripoli.gr ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager - mail: reservations.kos@mikripoli.gr
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    271
    107
    28
    18
See reviews for
53
556
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

23 - 30 6 2013...my girl and i just turn from hotel carda in cardamena-kos...not a five star hotel,four definitly,because off this things---all inclusive is like half all inclusive,because in lobby bar open in 18-23 h,and after that you need 2 pay drinks,pool bar is a poor bar because nothing 2 eat there,just drinks and the nonalcholic drinks are bad quality,and there not bar on the beach,which means that you must go on the pool bar who is not closed and there is road who is buy the whey not finished yet and cars go crayzy fast there.but maind restaurant offers very good food for each lunch,and there is manager nicholas who is most qaindly and pleasent person in whole hotel.but anyway i likrd 2 stay there and think 2 come back next year again.there is no kids and this hotel is not for family which is good for coupels.hotel is closed 2 the town.take renta car and go all over the ireland...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Would definitely recommend this hotel, best all rounder that I've experienced so far. We stayed all inclusive, and had a great choice of food and drinks. Stuck with the bottled water, which although wasn't available at the bar, was re-stocked daily in our room fridge. Great little shop on site for extra supplies, and reasonably priced. Check out the entertainment at the sister hotel next door if you don't want to venture far, great animation staff. In fact all the staff were helpful, friendly and very hard working.I Would like to say thanks to you all for a wonderful time... In particular Claudio from the animation team who kept me laughing and fit at the same time with stretching and aqua gym!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Myself and my partner booked this hotel for pure relaxation.....and pure relaxation we got!!. We personally couldn't fault the hotel..it was just as we imagined it.....
The receptionist's were extremely friendly, we were booked in and shown to our room straight away, we had read the reports about the steep walk to rooms and we were room 2449...right at the very top, lets just say it took some getting use to and by the end of the holiday I think we finally got use to the climb!.. Once in the room we were very pleased with the layout, the cleanliness and the most stunning view (well worth the steep walk)... our room was cleaned daily, we were given clean towels for the room daily and we changed our beach towel daily at reception like it says and they were changed for clean ones, our fridge was stocked up although I think the beer was only stocked up every 3 days...
The pool's are amazing, you are asked not to put your towels on to your sunbed until you are ready, this was not a problem in this hotel as most people seemed to obey this rule and there was never a fight for a sun bed!.. Every morning again I could see the pool area &sunbeds were cleaned. The staff at the pool bars were very friendly and polite.
After reading some of the reviews about the food I was in two minds on what to expect...well I was not disappointed...I thought the food was fantastic.. and regardless of what some people have wrote I thought there was ample choice, I had a different meal every time I ate..it was cooked to perfection and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were very friendly, efficient and welcoming, always had a smile...they worked very hard and nothing seemed to be to much trouble.
I booked 2 excursions through the thomas cook rep, both were fantastic, but we especially loved the aegeon cruise, 3 island hopping, swimming in the sea, barbeque on board, walks on the islands and more.. the rep Suzanne and the boat crew was fantastic and gave us a fabulous fun day, memories from this day will be with me forever!!
Overall if I could break my 'never go to the same place twice rule' (as I want to see as many places as I can) I would definetly go back again!!! ....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We've just returned from 2 weeks at Carda Beach. We absolutely loved the place. We had read the reviews on Trip Advisor beforehand and decided to pay extra for a junior suite (and are glad we did). We loved having a shared pool which most of the time we had to ourselves. We originally booked an upper floor room as thought it would be better to have a private balcony but realised when we got there that we would prefer a room on the ground floor with direct access to the shared pool. We liaised with Reception about this and our request was dealt with efficiently - we moved into a ground floor room for the last 6 days of our holiday. The rooms were spotless and our cleaner was lovely. She worked tirelessly to keep everything looking great - from mopping the outdoor patio and pool area long before anyone got up in the morning, to making sure the rooms were clean and towels/bedding replenished as necessary. All staff (Reception, Beach Bar staff, Waiters and Waitresses etc) were extremely service oriented and a pleasure to deal with, except for the Maitre d'hotel (Nikos) who looked as though he would rather be a million miles away. He was solemn, looked miserable and was not approachable. He blanked us on several occasions. He had favourites he latched onto (usually attractive young women) but needs to remember who his customers are and that all customers provide him with a living and that he should be polite and courteous to everyone. Amazingly his staff - the waiters and waitresses and those who work to keep things topped up in the dining room, were all brilliant and they deserve a better and more service excellence focused boss! George, the hotel Manager, was also brilliant - always smiley and welcoming.

We went on a few trips and hired a car for a couple of days but apart from that loved relaxing around the private pool (the temperature was around 40 degrees so it was too hot to venture too far).

The Chinese restaurant was our favourite and it made a welcome change to be waited on (rather than the normal buffet style restaurant). It's possible to book into each of the Italian and Chinese restaurants once a week when you're on an all inclusive package.

The location is in a very quiet area of Kardemena and it takes about 10 minutes to walk into the town. The junior suites are up a fairly steep hill so not suitable for those with mobility issues.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Waltham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

i have just come back from here 2weeks ago... one word Amazing... staff were so friendly and all spoke English well and all very helpful with trips we were interested in where to get busses and all so rang for taxi's if needed ( all taxi drivers very friendly) , the pool is great very big and 3 to pick from and the all inc (highly recommend doing all inc) restaurant is right next to the pool and has so many different types of food to eat - im very fussy and had lots to pick from/... the Italian and Chinese restaurant are ones to deffinetely try as they are included in the package ... rooms were very nice and spacious with aircon and balconys with picture perfect views... the beach is about 15 foot steps away from the hotel (you will need jelly shoes as its hot sand and a bit stoney) few big rocks as u go into the sea but then its sand lovely for swimming) - the entertainment in the sister hotel is good fun and your all inc is used there to for food/drink - me and my best friend had a holiday to remember and didn't want to leave - weather was very hot but the wind cools u down - the kardemena town is lovely and about 10min walk lots of shops restaurants and beachs - great for a night out so I hear :) I will deffinetly be returning - mozzis are a nucense and they have spiders that jump and recommend u don't drink the tap water - but that's all there was to moan about it was AWSOME very quiet and relaxing just what me and rach needed ... enjoy x

Room Tip: you can request a ground floor room - as a lot of the rooms are a good hike up as the hotel is built...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Very nice holiday.

The hotel is spotless and my room was cleaned top to bottom every day. Yes there was the odd bit of wear and tare but that's normal.

The food was amazing and initially myself and my boyfriend planned to eat out in the evenings but found that we didn't bother. There was only one day that we didn't like what was on the menue and we didn't starve because there's so much choice it's impossible not to find something. The Italian and the Chinese was very nice. We never got any tummy bugs and more did anyone else when we was there.

The fridge was stocked everyday and so was fresh bathroom towels. The blue towels are for the pool and you get new ones from
Reception.

The animation team where very good and always planning something like football, darts, arobics.

Yes the drinks are in plastic cups- but this is not the end of the world.

The bad points for us was that there no evening entertainment in carda beach and that its in the sister hotel.

Are room number was 2222 and was half way up the hotel. It was a steep walk but I saw this as a kind of exercise as I was clearly eating to much. I would say the hotel is not suitable for anyone with waking problems as there's no Lifts and the slopes are steep.

The beech is stoney - but this is not the hotels fault.

Also the cocktails where a disserpointment as for €4 they tasted like petrol and come in the same plastic cups.

Overall a very nice holiday and if you are like us and don't dwell on the tiny things you will enjoy your stay here.

The hotel was close enough to perfect for us. - thanks for a nice holiday :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carda Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carda Beach Hotel

Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#5 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carda Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our fantastic world!Defined by inspired, vibrant design, and located along the south coastline of Kos Island, Carda Beach is the setting for the most playful Escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carda Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carda Beach Kardamena
Hotel Carda Beach
Carda Beach Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carda Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.