We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carda Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carda Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Carda Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardamena 85302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Kardamena
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

the hotel is really great and spotlessly clean, the rooms are fantastic and as we were 3 women together we had no problems sharing unlike others where you have to climb over beds to get to the bathroom.The standard of cleanliness is excellent and the staff could not have been more helpful. The food was for me a little bit iffy as I do not like stews and sauces, so evening was a problem to find something desirable but the breakfasts are second to none, freshly cooked omelettes and eggs. The pool area was gorgeous and plenty of room, when you arrive the pool towels are already in your room and you just take them to reception to change not like other hotels who put a deposit charge starting at 20 euro's, plenty of hanging space , the fridge was checked and restocked each day so plenty of cold water in room. The rooms are built in steps up a hill so you do need to be fit to get to the top. Again cannot express how lovely the Managers and staff were.

Room Tip: ask for a room lower down close to reception and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    248
    95
    25
    18
See reviews for
53
509
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

There can be no doubt that the Cards Hotel, Kardamena, Kos, offers first class hospitality and a fantastic Food and Beverage facility under the watchful eye of a terrific F&B Manager. Good pool facilities, get your towel down early else the Krauts take them all. Good tours in the area, particularly the Aegean sailing trip, take your cossies for an ocean swim. What anyone could find to complain about we are at a loss to know. Yes there are problems regarding the split level of the accommodation, so when booking (if you are infirm) then request lower level room (2130 to 2139). We were allocated 2452 right at the top, we are in our eighties, but with help of the hotel and the club buggy, and using our common sense, we had a fantastic holiday, and, will go back.

Room Tip: The top rooms give the best views, the lower rooms are better for accessibility, you will be well fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Firstly, i would like to say that i am not usually one for leaving reviews or even complaining; however i felt that it was necessary on this occasion.

From reading 100's of reviews of this hotel prior to booking, as usual, i assumed that some people just love to complain and the hotel would still be fantastic, unfortunately this was not the case.

1. upon arrival, at approx 13:00, our room was not ready, which was not a problem, we were told we could help our selves to lunch and the drinks at the pool bar. what concerned me was that there was no secure locked room for us to keep our luggage and it is only kept near the front door of the hotel.

our flight home had also been changed form 12:00 noon until 23:00. we emailed the hotel 3 months prior to our arrival requesting if we can pay for an extra night to keep the room on. after not receiving a reply i emailed them a further 2 times which were ignored.

i spoke to the reception regarding the late checkout and was informed that this would have to be requested the day before our flight. a bit of a worry/inconvenience, but if that's the hotels policy, fair enough.

2. our booking was for 6 people in 3 different rooms which were not all going to be next to each other. the lady behind the desk asked if we would like our rooms to be next to each other. we said yes, under the impression that we would all be together in Carda Beach. but no, this was not the case, we were immediately escorted to the sister hotel, which is NOT adult only and a lower star rating. we then refused to even see the room, as we had paid extra for a sea view suite ( i will get to that later). the man who drove the luggage buggy was not impressed that we did not want to see the room and drove us back to the main hotel. we were eventually given our room keys and directed to our rooms (that we had paid for),

3. although the rooms the really nice, it had not been cleaned property, there was dead bugs in the corner of the rooms, cobwebs under the chair, and smudge marks on the walls where the previous person had killed various insects. but again, not one to complain, we just cleaned the dead insects up with some tissue and flushed them away,

considering the room was supposed to be a sea view, i would say that our view was tree view. we could see the sea if you walked to the end of the grass verge and stood on your tip toes.

the reason for the smudge marks soon became clear when our room shortly filled up, jumping spiders, mosquito's, ants and beetles. there was no form of insect repellent in the room, or in the sprinklers on the grass outside our balcony which was a problem we had to face throughout our holiday. it got beyond a joke when we found our wardrobe covered in ants!


following the discovery of the ants in our wardrobe, we called to reception and politely asked if a cleaner could come to our room and spray some insect repellent on the curtains and in the wardrobe. the clearer, although she was lovely, did not speak any English and did not understand what we were requesting. she had only been provided with a disinfectant spray....

the ants returned the next day!

Yes they do provide you with beach towels which is a lovely gesture, but after using them on the first day, the clearer took them in the morning and did not replace them for the rest of the holiday.

a small problem which did cause an inconvenience, there is no where to hang your wet clothes or swimwear to dry outside. we ended up using the 2 chairs we had, but again, you woke up in the morning to a jumping spider making a new home in your shorts!

4. our experience in the restaurant was horrendous. we ended up eating our a lot of the time. and again, i am not particularly a fussy eater. the worst of it was the cuts of meat. the beef had gelatin running all the way through, the chicken was a gray/brown colour, and the pork was very under cooked. not wanting to make my self ill and ruin the holiday, i steered well clear of this!

lunch and breakfast were very average and what you would usually expect. main gripe with breakfast was that NO fresh juice was available on the all inclusive. it was a premixed cordial from a machine.

you could pay for fresh orange but this was 2.50 euros and seemed to be made from some sort of puree.

another awful experience was that we were constantly having digs made at all 6 of us for our dress attire. we were not dressed in rough clothes, or wet bikins. we were to dressed, make up done, hair done, denim shorts and a tshirt/vest. we were shortly told that our tattoos were offending the other guests! this behavior is disgusting! we are paying guests that the hotel and we deserve to be treated the same way as every body else. near enough every person in the hotel was dressed the same as us except the elderly. NOTHING was mentioned when we booked the hotel that there was a dress code for dinner.

we are also made digs at by the restaurant manager for example, saying that we looked like a Harley Davidson crew. we were a group of 22-24 year old 6 girls, who look after ourselves and have respectful jobs and also have either a sleeve or a half sleeve. a bit discriminating!

the food also made all 6 of us have an upset stomach.


as for the Chinese and Italian, the Italian was just as bad at the main restaurant; however the Chinese was lovely and the hotel was extremely helpful in providing a birthday cake for 15 euros as it was our friends birthday.

not letting any of this ruin our experience, we ignored the comments and tried to eat out as much as possible. ( i highly recommend captains in the sea front near the square, very cheap and huge portions!)

5. the bathrooms of the rooms are very exposed. i read a review prior to booking which stated that the rooms were more for couples. now i understand why, luckily i was sharing with my partner; however our friends and to work our bathroom arrangements, the showers are completely open and there is no door. in the suites you get a small frosted glass screen which partially covers you. in the double rooms there is nothing to cover you up. take this on board when booking!!!

6. i would highly recommend hiring cars/buggies/quads from peters inside the hotel. very reasonably prices and helpful.

7. don't bother booking transfers to this hotel. another couple staying in the hotel booked through Thompson and the transfer drove them around the island for 2 hours before dropping the at the hotel. bare in mind, it is a 5-10 min drive in a taxi for 18 euros!

8. taxis from the hotel costs 6 euros to go to the centre, this is a short walk, however due to the heat and the road not being well lit in places, we did get taxis the majority of the time.

9. i would HIGHLY recommend lush bar in the sea front. lovely owner, fantastic toasties, and a great range of cheap and huge cocktails. they also provide the cheapest watersports we found on the island. you can also book a private booze cruise here which is 30 euros and takes you out to a private island and all drinking games and alcohol is included for approx 3 hour trip. they do a similar boat trip if you are not interested in the drink but we did not inquire about that.

10. back to the requesting late check out. we went back to reception the day before our flight and was told we had to come back at 20:00. we did this and was then told that the hotel was fully booked. which we later found out was not the case. there was already a list that we could clearly see with a number of hotel rooms wrote down and the price people had paid to keep the room on. bare in mind we requested this 3 months prior to our arrival and was told we couldn't do it until 20:00 the night before our checkout. how did other people manage to book this when we got there at 20:00 on the dot?!

we were provided with a courtesy room for 30 mins per couple. which i have to say, was disgusting. there was dirty towels all over the room, the bathroom was soaking wet. the shower and toilet had not been cleaned before giving it to another group.

11. the best members of staff at this hotel without a doubt was the lovely lady behind reception with curly red hair and Goda. Goda usually works the pool bar and she is definitely the friendliest member of staff employed at this hotel. she was always making us laugh and asking if there was anything else she would help us with.

to summarize, the hotel to look at is stunning and definitely 5* looks wise, unfortunately it did not live up to expectations and i would rate this hotel has a 3*. sorry to say that we wont be returning or recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: dont get one on the grass! best rooms are the sharing pool suites. great views and private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Carda Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear asteward 1990

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your feedback. We do appreciate comments from our guests and use this information to improve upon our services and facilities.

We do sincerely regret that you faced some inconvenience with your reservation and inquiries. I assure you that this was an exception due to reasons beyond our control and not the norm.

I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our services. Our team members do make every effort to satisfy guests as no business can survive on poor service. This is evident from the overall majority of happy guests who have posted their comments on this site.

At the Reception area - in a rather visible point we all have our names and pictures on a board - in order for all guests that may have something to point out to find us by recognising us - (we are all there 24/7. I truly feel puzzled questioning as to why you didnt choose to share your complaints during your stay with us. I am positive we could have changed your opinion and assist you in spending a great holiday.

Your good words about "Goda" have been passed on to her individually.

We hope you will give us another chance to be your choice in the future.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

George Vassilopoulos - Hotel Manager - mail: george.vassilopoulos@mikripoli.gr ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
Kostas Zois – Front Office Manager - mail: kostas.zois@mikripoli.gr ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager - mail: reservations.kos@mikripoli.gr
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This holiday was one of the best.the hotel was very clean, public areas,rooms ,restaurants were spotless.the food was always good,may not have what you want,but you couldn't fault what was there.the staff were all great.i unfortunately had an accident and was taken to hospital by Nike (mitre de in the restaurants)who couldn't have been more careing and kind.a big thank you.when we came back all the staff bent over backwards to help us. Yes the hills to some rooms were a little steep, but it does warn you in the brochers.y you walk into the hotel and the atmospher is very welcoming as all the staff seem happy.that helps for a good holiday!thanks again to all the staff who helpt me on my last day.(couple from Isle of Man)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Carda Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Angela C

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback and for awarding us the highest possible rating for your recent stay.

We are happy to have provided you with an enjoyable experience and to know that our brand concept focusing on quality at a value was so much appreciated by yourself.

As you have mentioned, our staff is our great asset. "NIck" the Maitre D' is a professional that would certainly assist every one of our guests.

Your good words regarding our Staff have been passed on to them individually.

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await your next stay at our hotel.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

George Vassilopoulos - Hotel Manager - mail: george.vassilopoulos@mikripoli.gr ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
Kostas Zois – Front Office Manager - mail: kostas.zois@mikripoli.gr ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager - mail: reservations.kos@mikripoli.gr
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Myself & my husband stayed here for 1 week in early June. After a late afternoon flight we transferred to the hotel from the airport in around 20 minutes.

The room was great with a huge bed and the plus point of being higher is a fantastic view of the sea! The bathroom is glass walked with a frosted section for the toilet but no door for the shower. There were Towels, bathrobes and slippers provided in the room and it was cleaned daily. There is a fridge in the room which was replenished only once with fizzy pop & lager during our stay. We used the spa a couple of times for the jacuzzi which was free. Plenty of sunbeds by the pool and on the beach, lots of tables, sofas & chairs for evening drinks too.

Yes the hotel is quite steeply laid out but there are both ramps and steps and it does get easier as the week goes on....! All areas of the hotel including around the bar & pool were spotless, the restaurant was nice with lots of variety of food and the Chinese restaurant was excellent - a shame you can only go once.

The hotel is about 15 mins stroll into Kardamena where there are lots of nice places to eat and drink if you want to get out of the hotel for a bit.

All of the staff were very helpful, quickly serving drinks at the bar, clearing plates and glasses etc. We did not pay for a late checkout but chose to have a courtesy room which you can book on the morning if check out and it's free, you have a 30min slot which is enough to shower/freshen up.

Overall, a lovely stay a great hotel for couples/friends and we would say an easy 4*

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George V, Manager at Carda Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear lolly2409

Thank you for your recent stay and positive feedback about our staff and services. We are proud to have a dedicated team of professionals in our team who are all eager to give their best services.

We are happy to have provided you with an enjoyable experience and to know that our brand concept focusing on quality was so much appreciated by yourself.

Your good words about Housekeeping "! All areas of the hotel including around the bar & pool were spotless" and all staff have been passed on to them.

Our location is much appreciated by most guests like yourself, being close to the airport and walking distance to Kardamena, beautiful beaches around the island and a lot more.

All my colleagues join me in wishing you the best and we await your next stay at our hotel.

With our warmest regards from the island of the Sun -Kos-.
Sincerely.

George Vassilopoulos - Hotel Manager - mail: george.vassilopoulos@mikripoli.gr ,
tel: +30 22420 92414
Kostas Zois – Front Office Manager - mail: kostas.zois@mikripoli.gr ,
tel: +30 22420 92411
Rosana Pasaris – Reservations Manager - mail: reservations.kos@mikripoli.gr
tel: +30 22420 91332
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have just returned from a week’s holiday at Carda Beach Hotel. My boyfriend and I are both mid-late twenties and wanted a destination that was relaxing in the day but had a bit of nightlife in the evening when we fancied a night out. Kardamena/Carda Beach Hotel was great for this, the town itself is quite small and has lots of beach bars and little shops open in the day time. As for the evenings it has a small square of bars where The Stone Roses Bar can be found (a fab place for Indie fans) and a fairly long narrow road with lots of bars on either side all the way along. We visited the Vibe bar often as the PR's there were really lovely and good fun. There are a few nightclubs in the town, one of which we visited for the opening night (Starlight)- personally for me this was not that brilliant and we didn't stay that long...it's a small walk from the main bars and the main crowd were alot younger than us and I actually felt really old!!!! But all in all Kardamena was a brilliant choice for us.

On to the Hotel- Carda Beach is probably no more than a 15 minute flat walk from Kardamena centre. It is as most people on Trip Advisor have already said very relaxing and a lovely place. We were originally put in room 2222 which we asked to be changed- the balcony was looking on to the back wall of the building in front and we wanted a sea view, at Reception there was no problem in changing us to the floor above to room 2207 which was fine. The rooms themselves are very nice and modern and more importantly very clean. The cleaners come in everyday changing the bedding, towels and providing clean beach towels (so there is no need for you to take your own!) We read on Trip Advisor that they re-stocked the fridge daily....this was not always the case, they always re-stocked pop and water but only once in the week did they restock the beer (which my boyfriend was a little disappointed about).
The food was as you would expect from an All Inclusive Hotel, some things a little bland and repetitive but there was a couple of new things each night and something for everyone. I heard a guests asking one of the members of staff what the theme night was that evening to which she replied Mexican (there was enchiladas and chilli)...so I think they try to change things but I can't say I noticed that much. The Pool Bar is open all day everyday and have lots of drinks to choose from and also have cakes, hot dogs, sandwiches, pastries etc in case you get a little puckish in between. There is also an ice cream freezer with various flavours and ice cream cones for you to help yourself!!! In the evenings at the bar there is a large choice of free all inclusive drink (but also premium beers, spirits and cocktails which you have to pay for) they play music for all ages and is open until 11pm, there are plenty places to sit both inside and outside. The only slight negative thing I would say regarding the food and drinks is that at the bar they don't like to give you too many drinks at a time, for groups of people I noticed the bar staff seemed reluctant to give more than 2 drinks at a time.

Excursions - We went on the 3 Bay Cruise which cost us 23 euros each, we had a good day. Be aware however at the first bay (Bubble Bay) where you stay for 2 hours you are required to pay for the sunbeds (6 euros). At this bay there are lots of water sports and also a beach bar. We then got back on the boat where we have a BBQ which was lovely. We then went to the 2nd bay which was absolutely stunning – a really good spot to take your snorkel and have a swim in the clear water. At the final bay they stopped the boat quite far from the beach for people to jump in to the sea (I think this was just to fill the time up really) whilst the scenery was lovely you weren’t able to get off the boat to get on to the beach.

All in all we had a fabulous holiday and would definitely consider returning. My advice is to get booked in to Carda Beach…you will enjoy it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor to make sure you get the lovely sea views! And if you're not happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just returned from a great stay at Carda Beach, Good quality hotel at a reasonable price. The location is great just fifteen minutes from the airport, directly on the beach and about twenty minutes stroll from the bright lights of Kardamena.

The hotel is modern in design, well presented with fantastic large rooms, I have no idea how anyone can complain about the cleanliness or the food. The staff work constantly to keep it up to this standard.
I thought the food was plentiful with good selection of salads, vegetables, meat, fish and pasta dishes, always something for everyone.

There was a good selection of drinks at the bars, with always very generous measures and the help your self beer and wine in the restaurant were very hard to resist. My only complaints were the bar staff objecting to two of you from a group getting a round of drinks in just before the bar closed and the white wine running out one evening in all the bars but I suspect that this was due to a good friend of mine drinking it all ! No names but you know who you are ! ! !

I holiday was improved no end by the great people I met at this hotel and would encourage anyone to give this hotel a try. Well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carda Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carda Beach Hotel

Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#4 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Carda Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our fantastic world!Defined by inspired, vibrant design, and located along the south coastline of Kos Island, Carda Beach is the setting for the most playful Escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carda Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carda Beach Kardamena
Hotel Carda Beach
Carda Beach Hotel Kos/Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carda Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.