We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Porto Bello Royal

Save Saved
You added Atlantica Porto Bello Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kardamena 85300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Kardamena
Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here at the end of June as other reviews say it can be hard to find your room
But once you find it it's easy , your cases are delivered to your room .
We had a royal suite it was very spacious and very clean was views over 3 of the pools and sea.
There was such a large choice of food in the main resturant and the other restaurants were lovely ( remember to book a table at reception the day before !
The beach bar is loud and pumping in the evenings and so much better than the organ player in the main hotel bar (your waited on in the main bar)
Location is a little out of the way and the mini market makes the most of this with its prices redbull in mini market 2.50 euros in kardamina 1.50 euros .
All in all we had a lovely stay here quiet and relaxing , it was lovely chatting to vivian from the anamation team every day such a lovely girl (sponge bob) lol
big thank you to all at the Porto bello royal .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    235
    72
    34
    6
See reviews for
300
395
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just returned after 2 weeks holiday, a lovely hotel rather a lot of steps to consider though. loads of lovely clean pools to swim in all salt water though so take your goggles.Overall a very good holiday just a few little niggles, didn't feel maids cleaning & replenishing what was used was very good, I did phone rec to find out how often fridge was supposed to be restocked to be told daily which ours was'nt. We had a family room on higher level which was nice it had two bedrooms & two bathrooms even though there was only two of us.Food was one of the best I've had & we have stayed at some other lovely hotels so much choice & didn't even find it repetitive after 2 wks, Asian was lovely & nice to be served. We found staff all very happy & helpful, special mention to mateus & Thomas at beach bar, also raffela & George in lounge bar, & Eva & karol in pool bar not forgetting the lady who worked hard on her own keeping up with all the milk shakes & ice creams. Also felt the water sport team was very good as well & not over priced at all. Did find birds & the mess they left behind on the chairs etc not very nice, 1 day this man went to get something & the birds started eating his pancakes. only other thing that was poor was evening entertainment same man playing an organ & singing every night & shows in neighbouring hotel not very good either. Did have a jeep out & enjoyed a drive around the island. Would most deffently return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback.
We appreciate your kind words about the friendly, helpful nature of our Team. At the same time though, we’d be remiss if we didn’t apologize for the various problems you had in your unit and assure you we are continuing to challenge ourselves to do a better job of identifying any potential housekeeping related issues as part of our normal inspection process.
Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Stay Connected… Find us on Facebook/Twitter/Pinerest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on the 19th June for 7 nights we were immediately upgraded to a royal suite from 2standard rooms at no cost the staff are fantastic as is the food the buffet restaurant has so much choice. The Asian restaurant is excellent as is the Italian. All the pools are superb and kept very clean in the bars the service is excellent we just could not fault the hotel and would reccomend it worth every penny

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words!
It is great to know that you found our staff “fantastic”, as well as our food and pools!
I am glad you found us recommendation worthy.
Thank you again and hope to see you again in the near future!
Stay Connected… Find us on Facebook/ Twitter/ Pinterenst!
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

room was on the 1st floor (ground floor). ants in a bathroom. they promised to resolve it, but didn't even try.
everythin inside the room is well seen from outside and be sure quite a lot of ppl pass by your glass panorama window. which means no privacy or sacrifice comfort and keep the windows blinded
staff is not friendly (in most cases, especially in the bars), they are not eager to work and service.
stones in the sea, just a couple of meters in the water where you can get in without stones.
wifi internet only in reception and in "rush hours" works awful - either not allowing to connect at all or slow. you can get a cable for the room if you have a laptop. speed is better (124 kb per sec) but it also fails from time to time.
room cleaning is not perfect at all.
service, rooms (especially bathroom), convenience are not at 5 stars level at all.
food and all the rest is not bad.
but maybe it's Kos trouble - I may suppose that there might not be a better hotel on Hos..

Room Tip: try the houses closer to the beach and definitely not on the 1st floor to get some privacy in a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We do thank you for taking the time to share your experience/point of view regarding your stay with us.
We wish to convey to you our gratitude for choosing our hotel and our sincerest apologies for any dissatisfaction you seemingly encountered.
The issues noted, especially concerning room’s cleaning or unfriendly staff, are truly rare for our property and in that concern us as we care deeply about each and every guest's experience- that most certainly includes yours.
Our Management Team would be more than happy to discuss this with you directly as we wish to clarify or correct the issue after examining further. Please contact us at your convenience and we will be happy to work through the issues mentioned in hopes to find a happy resolution to you, our Valued Guest. Email: info@portobelloroyal.gr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

What can I say, another fantastic week at this hotel. The staff are all lovely & very friendly. The food is great (diet has already started) , every where is kept just spotless. Fabulous hotel.
Will we be returning for a 3rd time, we most defiantly will be.

Thank you to all at the Porto bello

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us for the second time, and look forward to seeing you for the third one!!
Thank you for your wonderful review, your opinion is so precious!!
Stay Connected… Find us on Facebook/Twitter/ Pinterest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

To sum up the hotel was brilliant! With it being 5 starts you expect the cleanliness and the style which it clearly has but it was the finer details which really made us appreciate this hotel, these include the generous drink sizes, incredible helpful and smiley staff and the way they make a buffet style dinner more than that with the way they get your drinks for you. The room is more than enough with a very good size bathroom which includes a shower and bath and also a good size room to dump all the packing etc. Every balcony seems as if it would offer an immaculate sea view and we were not disappointed with ours. Being in 546 and on the higher floor not only do you get a stunning see view but also get a view over the resort and beach which are both lovely sights. Weather is a guarantee, we only saw one cloud the whole week we were there and that was on a distant island, whilst we were on a pedalo (free for 30 mins but again they are relaxed on the time if it isn't busy, a nice touch). The resort itself offering 12/13/14 Swimming pools however many it is after you lose count trying to think of them all is great for anyone looking to avoid a busy pool with kids throwing balls at you. This is because we found it very relaxing with all swimming pools very quiet every day! The only problem was the reserving on the sun beds which seemed to happen very early every day despite being against the rules of the hotel, this meant sometimes you would have to walk quite a while to get a free sun bed unfortunately, which was a minor problem but nothing major because we managed to find one every day still. The hotel is styled as a old greek village which is much preffered to a big hotel block like others you see, and makes your room feel much more private and out of the way that right in the middle of the hotel. The restaurants are all simply fantastic, the Ambrosia offers a delightful range of foods and manages to have themed nights to keep the restaurant interesting, whereas the set menus of the Asian and the Italian were also very good and very nice restaurants. All restaurants offer a lovely atmosphere and stunning views when sitting outisde. Our favourite was the Greek taverna for lunch however which does the most remarkable selection of greek food, with the meats all stunningly cooked and we also enjoyed the Fish restaurant for lunch despite not being fish lovers!. The bars are all brilliant in offering a wide range of cocktails all part of the all inclusive and generous alcohol sizes in the drinks. Sometimes you would have to queue for a while to get the drinks during peak times which was a little frustrating but also expected. The Excursions on offer are fantastic and a good choice, we did the Aegean Cruise which was fantastic, allowing us to jumo into the sea and do some snorkelling and then sunbathing on a sun bed on a boat, was immensely fun. Zia at night offers the best sunset we have ever seen which is enjoyed whilst eating at one of the many restuarants, all trying to sell the restaurant to you however. Lastly we went to Kos town for the day which is lovely in walking around the historice elements of Kos but also grabbing some bargains in the market stalls, again the only problem being the over selling of the shop owners! The excursions were all well worth the time and money, with the only minor problem again, the coach journeys and relaxed coach drivers as the Greeks aren't as strict on road safety, also driving through Kardamena wasn't entirely pleasant. The holiday as a whole was simple unbelievable and we would happily go back there! I never knew sitting on a sun bed would be so rewarding because a little walk will get you to Gelateria which allows you to eat as much ice cream as you want and have stunning milkshakes but we must have drank our weight in Fanta Lemon, ideal for keep you hydrated throughout the pool days. The Beach always enables a free sun bed, however the sea rocks are very slippery making getting into the sea quite uncomfortable.The hotel is ideal for looking back on the photos because it's so quiet it seems like a very private holiday and there is a great picture or view with every turn. Quite simply apart from some very minor annoyances, like the sun beds, the slippery rocks which are all easily looked over. The hotel is remarkable and ideal for couple looking for a romantic time away, you really do feel like a couple on a holiday and not just part of a big crowd in a bid hotel block. Would recommend Porto Bello Royal and also Kos to everyone because they won't be disappointed and we would definitely go back to this 10/10 stunningly stylish and lovely hotel and place!

Room Tip: If looking for peacefulness aim for 500-560 and also 700+ and also I would recommend higher floors b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to provide a detailed review of your recent stay.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us!
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious and fully equipped room, and that you found our team members to be “incredible helpful and smiley”.
We are extremely lucky to have this fantastic weather that you mentioned in your review. (Not even one cloud for the next two months!)
10/10- WOW- this is the best compliment for us! Thank you again, we appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and hope we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future.
Stay Connected… Find us on Facebook/Twitter/Pinterest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Kos, Oh no!
This was my first reaction after being told that Kos was the venue for my nephews wedding. First it was Cyprus (good) then Crete (good), now Kos? The only suitable hotel for us local to the wedding was all inclusive. Having travelled to the Greek Islands for 20 plus years self catering or bed & breakfast, all inclusive was not what we wanted. We like to dine out in the local tavernas. However, we chose the Atlantico Portobello Royal because of the good reports on Tripadvisor. The plan was to try and dine out anyway and use the hotel for everything else. Well, we were in for quite a surprise. We were very well received on arrival and as we arrived after the restaurants had closed, filled rolls and water had been left in our room.
The food was outstanding. Quality and choice fantastic. We ended up having all our meals in the hotel! The Ambrosia buffet was the best we have had anywhere and the two speciality restaurants with their set menu were also very good. The speciality restaurants, one Asian 'Tai Pan'and one Italian 'Luna Rosa' had to be booked the day before, as did the two buffet lunch time restaurants one Greek 'Epicure' and one Fish 'Trata'. Wine is freely available at all restaurants served by the glass, carafe or bottle, and continually topped up. A beach bar, pool bar and lounge bar serving most local and some branded alcohol spirits are open from 10am till late. Lovers of ice cream can eat from 12.00 until 22.00 hrs in the Gelateria!.
The hotel is quite large and well laid out in a village style and is beautifully maintained and spotlessly clean. 12 swimming pools should be enough for anyone and each one has plenty of sun beds and umbrellas. Early morning sun bed reserving does go on though (all nationalities) The beach is mainly grey sand and a few pebbles with once again plenty of sun beds and umbrellas. A dedicated pool with mini slides etc. is available for children.
Our room had lovely sea views and a balcony. Bed was large although a little firm. Large modern bathroom with shampoo, lotions etc. Bath with shower attachment. Adequate cupboards, fridge, safe and air conditioning. No wifi reception only an Ethernet point. The main lounge area and reception were the only places to get wireless reception.
There isn't a great deal to do outside the hotel other than walking. Kardamena is about 30 mins. and has many tourist shops and restaurants along the harbour. It was fairly deserted when we were there. The hotel runs a bus though 6 times a day. A walk inland from the front of the hotel goes into the hills with masses of wild flowers and herbs. Alternatively, turning right on the beach and passing the rocky headland takes you to a long quiet sandy beach stretching a mile or two.
Entertainment is somewhat limited to a solo singer/musician. Not very entertaining but makes good background music when sitting having a drink and admiring the view.
Reception will endeavour to allow you to keep your room where possible for late flights. We paid €45 until 18.00 hrs. Thomson quoted £80.00! Also the full hotel facilities including drink and the restaurants are available right up to leaving time. No cut off at 3pm. Kos airport is typically Greek, cramped and crowded. Spirits prices same as Tesco! Cigarettes are cheaper €38.00 for 200.
A very good hotel with very friendly staff. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and about to book again for next year. What a pleasant surprise! Kos is also very pretty and gets a bad press.

Room Tip: Those furthest from reception and main restaurant are a good 5/6 minute walk uphill including some s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoBelloHotels, Manager at Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review and for entrusting us with your visit to Kos!
I am really proud to hear such a great comments from such an experienced traveler! I am also glad that you’ve changed your opinion about Kos Island after spending your holiday with us!
I will be sure to share your feedback with our chef, in order to thank him personally for the food quality standards you mentioned in your review.
Thank you again and please send our best wishes to the couple!
We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Stay Connected… Find us on Facebook/Twitter/Pinterest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Porto Bello Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Porto Bello Royal

Address: Kardamena 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#1 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kardamena
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Porto Bello Royal 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Otel so you can book your Atlantica Porto Bello Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bello Royal Hotel Kardamena
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Kardamena
Porto Bello Beach
Kos Porto Bello Beach
Porto Bella Beach
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Hotel
Atlantica Porto Bello Royal Kos/Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Porto Bello Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.