We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mitsis Summer Palace

Save Saved
You added Mitsis Summer Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mitsis Summer Palace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardamena, Kardamena 85 302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 44 hotels in Kardamena
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed in this hotel 1st to 8th September 2013 had an absolutely fabulous holiday. The room was spacious and cleaned daily. On our first evening had fruit baclava and wine delivered courtesy of the manager which was a lovely touch. The staff could not have been more helpful the waiter and waitress in the Italian restaurant were delightful the reception staff went above and beyond to be helpful the bar staff were polite and obliging restaurant staff great my only down side was the waiter in the Greek taverna a little abrupt when we arrived 2 minutes early but all surpassed by the restaurant manager who made every effort to talk to guests.
Yes there are lots of stairs and the hotel is at the top of a hill we are 54 and 58 and did not struggle.
This was our fifth stay at mitsis hotel and we have not been disappointed with any of their hotels looking forward to our next stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerSP_11, Διευθυντής at Mitsis Summer Palace, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for you nice words about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel.
We would deeply appreciate it if your stay here would also prompt you to recommend our resort to your family and friends.
Look forward to welcome you again in our hotel Mitsis Summer Palace.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    202
    99
    34
    42
See reviews for
264
205
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers visited the Summer Palace from 25 July - 9 August this year, For what we paid it was good value for money. A word of caution though if you book with Monarch and you want separate bedrooms make sure you request this as the description on-line was misleading. The room had a fantastic sea view and was very clean with the room being cleaned every day and a mini bar with a variety of drinks filled every other day. This was our first all inclusive holiday and the food was very good with a wide selection of food however it was a bit repetitive however there are also Greek and Italian restaurant's which were really good and excellent service however you do need to book these the day at reception by 8,00am. All the staff are pleasant and hard working in particular the Animation Team and Marc was the most happy and friendly person you will ever meet. the only negatives about the Hotel are the lack of sunbeds around the complex and having to get up at the crack of dawn however this is probably the same for any hotel in the school holidays, Also the evening entertainment for teenagers and adults is non existent and the lack of seats in the bar area could be frustrating. if this can be improved then it would great, Overall I would recommend the Summer Palace as we had a great time. I would also suggest hiring a car as Kos has some fantastic places to visit such as Zia and also make sure you visit Paradise Beach which is a lovely sandy beach with comfy sun beds which cost 8 euros for 2 with a parasol.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel during the last ten days of August. We had a great family holiday here. The Rooms are not UK 5 Star but are spotless, cleaned daily and are very spacious. The beds are a little hard but comfortable. We had stunning views from our balcony but think this may be more luck than judgement as some of the rooms are not so fortunate!
Our dining experience was good with a great variety of food offered each day. The Italian restaurant is recommended although you do need to book this 24 hours in advance.
The Staff are all very pleasant and friendly particularly Daria who greets you in to the dining room for breakfast, lunch and evening meal every day. She was a lovely person who was fantastic with our two children and taught them how to count to ten in Greek. They were very sad to leave her! Thank you Daria. Thanks also goes to the waiter Claudio who also was very friendly and helpful towards us.
Mark (Dr Happy) gets top marks for daily entertainment particularly his water aerobics. The water sports are good too although jet skis were expensive, The beach is shingly but sea is great for snorkelling in - very clear water.
Poor entertainment in the evening although this did not spoil our holiday as children younger and the disco was enough for them. A Greek Night would be nice maybe?? Kardamena is a 10 euro taxi away if you wanted more lively entertainment.
The pools are plentiful but are salt water and at times can be very salty.
If we had to pick a fault with this holiday it would have to be the rudeness and arrogance of the Russian people that were holidaying also. They obviously don't know the meaning of queuing and think nothing of pushing you out of the way! No fault of the hotel though.
Also the smell of sewage at times can be very off putting particularly when you are about to eat a meal although this only happened a couple of times during the 10 days we were there.
Overall we had a very enjoyable family holiday and given what we paid for it we were more than happy. Would definitely book again if we could be guaranteed the room we had this time.

Room Tip: In all honesty I think it might be down to pot luck. We were very lucky - great room with superb vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Me and my husband and 2 children (ages 10 and 7) spent 2 weeks from 15th to 29th August in the Mitsis Summer Palace Hotel.
For the last 7 years we have visited Greece and always stay in Mitsis Hotels due to the high standards and variety offered.
This was our first visit to the Summer Palace and whilst I agree there are some improvements that could be made, on the whole the Hotel was fantastic and we had a wonderful time.
It didn't start off very well as on arrival (Midnight on 15th August) we were told by Reception that we didn't have a room as all rooms near the pools had been flooded!! This was obviously an excuse and basically the Hotel had overbooked and rooms were not available until 12 the next day.Other families were told the same thing and everyone was allocated other rooms within either the Family Village or Norida Beach (hotels on the same complex). We weren't so lucky and were sent to a completely different hotel 15 minutes away - the Akti Beach Hotel. We expressed our annoyance but there wasn't much we could do so off we were taken to the Akti Beach.
Next day we were collected and taken back to the Summer Palace where we were issued with Black Bands as compensation allowing us to use the facilities of all 3 hotels on the complex. We were also given a free Safety Deposit Box and the Minibar every day instead of every other day. The first room we were given wasn't a Family Room with a pool but a double room in the main hotel. We argued that the reason we couldn't have our room was that it had supposedly been flooded and we wanted a similar room with a pool. ANgela on reception was very apologetic and issued us with another room. This was a fantastic Family Room (No 437) with 2 bedrooms and bathroom and right outside was a swimming pool.

After that our holiday was brilliant and we enjoyed using the Main Pool which the kids preferred as well as the other pool. Drinks were self service from the Italian Restaurant mainly Beer/Wine and soft drinks. There were no snacks available however other than cake, ice creams and sandwiches. As it was the Italian restaurant I'd hoped pizzas may be offered but No.
Elena who runs the Nautilus Bar near the small pools deserves a special mention as she was lovely and cheerful and gave us lots of advice about Car Hire and places to visit on Kos. This bar is hidden away and not a lot of people knew about it. She serves Hot Dogs and the usual sandwiches. This Bar closes at 5pm but we wished it could have stayed open at night as an alternative place to get a drink.
The Beach is great and the sea is fantastic - very clear with lots of fish who eat the bread from your hands. The Beach Bar serves Frozen Cocktails which were brilliant and the staff were very friendly.
We visited the Greek and the Italian Restaurant and both were fantastic. You have to book early (7am) to get a table in the evening which we did twice but after that we were happy to visit at lunchtime and this could be booked on the way to breakfast at 9am.
The food in the main restaurant was good with lots of choice. The staff were excellent and cleared tables as fast as they could. Usually there was a queue to sit outside, however this soon went down and we never waited longer than 10-15 minutes. We always ordered 2 drinks each and 1/2 carafe of wine which meant we had enough to last the whole meal.
My only niggles about this hotel in comparison to otherMitsis Hotels were the Entertainment and the main Bar.
The main Bar area wasn't very big so it was always difficult/impossible to get a seat outside on the terrace. We sat outside the front of the hotel on a bench some nights which wasn't ideal.
The entertainment at night was very poor and always ended by 10.30pm. There was a kids disco at 9pm and then some sort of "show" but then the Entertainment Staff disappeared, music was turned off and that was that. Usually the entertainment staff stay till 12pm and organise a Disco and dance with guests. This was carried out by the Pool Bar where again there wasn't enough seating.
There was an open air theatre near the Norida Beach which we knew about and visited. All 3 hotels can use this theatre but it was never advertised in our hotel and lots of guests didn't know about it. We had stayed in the Norida Beach 6 years ago and so had visited the theatre, however the entertainment shown then was far superior. The Management need to address the Entertainment issues as this is what lets the Hotel down.
Mark was very good who ran the daytime entertainment but we found we missed most of it as it is always done on the beach. Thereare no activities round the main pool which we found strange.
We got the bus to Kardamena from outside the hotel and we also hired a car for 2 days. Car Hire was much cheaper in Kardamena than in the Hotel.
The Hotel and outside areas are kept very clean and the views are amazing.
There were lots of Russian Guests who can be rude and not wait their turn etc but we never had any issues.
In summary a five star hotel in Greece is not like a UK or even other 5 star Hotels. The hotel gets 5 stars for the variety of restaurants/ variety of pools/Beach included. Once you understand this you will not expect 5 star standards. For Greece this Hotel is a wonderful standard with lots going on and excellent staff and services. Personally we can't understand how people can complain about the Hotel etc as we thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely time in the hotel. Staff are great and can't do enough for you. Very very clean and views at breathtaking. Few small issues one being salt water pools and another the repetition of food in the buffet restaurant but overall these were small factors that didn't effect our good holiday. Dunno if I would recommend this hotel but defiantly would the blue domes next door. Just that little bit more luxury on offer. But for that extra cost. Really enjoyed our time in kos... And was good value for money..

Just avoid the Russians as the majority are very rude and have no manners

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I enjoyed the first week of September at summer palace. The holiday was lovely, however we did have a few problems.

We arrived about 9.30pm to be greeted by reception staff who told us we had to get into the restaurant to catch dinner before it closed. We were really rushed and her instructions were not very clear which was not appreciated after a long journey. We were pointed through to the emptt restaurant where staff clearly weren't expecting us and were desperate to close up. There was very limited food left and due to the rush we weren't feeling very welcome eating there. Not a good start. The hotel needs to cater for people who are arriving later. Our first impression of staff, particularly reception staff was awful.

We were then advised that our room was not sea view as requested. The room was fine but the location was terrible, directly above reception with a view of the road. We asked to be moved and were told there was no possibility until Saturday as the hotel was full. We reluctantly accepted this only to have a night of no sleep at all due to banging around the corridors next to our room, people's voices and cars/trucks/motorbikes pulling up outside reception from approx 5am (deliveries etc). At 8am we went back to reception to complain (again). We were told to come back to meet with the reservations manager at 10.30am. The supposed manager was a sour faced woman with zero customer service skills. She simply could not be bothered and had a terrible attitude, responding to my complaint about the lack of sleep due to noise by telling me that other people don't complain. We eventually did move to a sea view room (they miraculously found one in the "full" hotel!) but at no point did we receive an apology for our inconvenience. When I told her this she just shrugged.

Anyway... Despite the bad start and poor customer service we had a lovely holiday. Resort is really nice. Food quite repetitive but fine. I would Recommend Italian restaurant. On the second to last night my boyfriend got a sickness bug which must have been from meat he ate off the grill in main restaurant (only thing that he ate that I didn't). The bug wiped him out for 24hours which was not good.

Bar set up was not accommodating for big groups and definitely not enough space for everyone to sit outside. Entertainment is none existent but we met lots of nice couples so we all made our own entertainment! Staff in restaurant and bars work hard and were always friendly.

As stated by lots of other people the Russian guests were incredibly rude and seemed totally miserable. This didn't bother us particularly, we commented that it must be awful to be that miserable all the time!!

Kos is a lovely island and mitsis complex is great with lovely beach/pools. The best selling point has to be the view which is outstanding.

Overall lovely holiday in a good hotel. Sort the reservations manager out and it would be a great hotel!!




  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

After staying at the hotel last year for a week and really having a great time, we decided to try two weeks this year, but we got off to a bad start when ourselves and and about half of our coach were told there was no rooms for us because of a flood, we were put into the Norida Beach, this must have have been the furthest room away from the hotel that they could find, they did manage to get us a room the next day after 2pm a total waste of a day and a great start to our holiday, they did try to compensate us with black bands for the other hotels and filling the mini bar every day, which is something you don't need staying in an all inclusive, anyway after all that the holiday itself was just ok, This year we noticed there was a lot more British which was not a bad thing as you had some people to talk to instead of the grunts from our Russian friends.
The staff all work really hard, the rooms are not bad but could be a lot better, it would help if you could turn the air conditioning off without taking the key fob out and all the lights going off.
I would like to mention Elina who work's at the nautalaus bar she never stops she seems to be able to speak every language, always has time to speak to everyone who comes to the bar and always has a smile on her face.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mitsis Summer Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Summer Palace

Address: Kardamena, Kardamena 85 302, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#10 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mitsis Summer Palace 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation: Standard rooms (52), Bungalows (104), Family Suites (96). Every 15 rooms a sharing pools is available. Room Facilities: Fully air-conditioned with individual control Heating, Bathroom with bathtubs / Hair dryer, Direct dial telephone, Mini fridge, Satellite TV with international channels / Music channel, Balcony or terrace with a fantastic view, Safe deposit box (with charge). Floor covering: Tiles. Meals in Main Restaurant. Breakfast: American buffet Lunch: Complete buffet Dinner: Complete buffet (all meals are with show cooking). Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant specializing in Greek and International cuisine with terrace and a fantastic view to the Aegean Sea. Italian à la carte restaurant «La Bella Vista»Greek à la carte restaurant (Tavern) at the beach. Main lounge Bar (In & outdoor), Interior Swimming pool, Bar, Beach Bar, Pool Bar, Room Service (07:30 – 21:30h). Sport & Leisure: 1 outdoor swimming pool with salt water, sun terrace, 1 Indoor pool with fresh water (for adults only), 6 sharing pools with fresh water for the family suites, 1 outdoor swimming pool fresh water with water slides, Sun beds and umbrellas at the pools and the beach, 2 tennis courts (hard) with floodlight, equipments. Water sport centre with water skiing, jet skiing, banana boat, parachuting, pedals, wind surfing (certificate), catamaran, row boots, pedals, canoes, rings, Scuba diving, lessons, Boat trips, Beach volley, Beach football, Table tennis, Bicycling, Horse riding & pony riding (on request), Bridge room, Billiard, Entertainment such as sketches, competition games, aerobics. Children’s play ground (4-12 years), Disco, Fitness, sauna and massage. Other Facilities: Reception with lobby, TV corner, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop and jewelry, Hair dresser, Laundry & dry-cleaning service, Concierge / Cashier / Porters, Guest Parking, Rent a car / motorbike / bike, Doctor’s visit, Lifts from the reception area to the beach. For Children: Integrated children pool with salt water, Children playground – Mini Club, Children disco, Baby cot, Baby chairs in restaurant, Kid’s water slide with kid’s pool. Business Accommodations and Services: Telephone and fax services, Internet and mail services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi access at the main lobby area (free). Distance From: Kardamena Town 5 Km, Airport 14 Km, Port 32 Km, Beach on the beach, Public bus: Front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mitsis Summer Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Summer Palace Kardamena
Summer Palace Hotel Kos
Mitsis Summer Palace Kos/Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitsis Summer Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.