We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Holiday - second visit. Highly Recommend it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mitsis Summer Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mitsis Summer Palace to your Saves list
Mitsis Summer Palace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardamena, Kardamena 85 302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Kardamena
Kingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Holiday - second visit. Highly Recommend it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Our second visit to this great hotel, in May 2012, was even better than the first time, 18 months ago. Walking up & down the steps to the beach can be a bit of a struggle but can't be helped. It is quite a walk to the town of Kardamena along the beach road, but is very do able if you want a flat walk. There are also buses to town if you don't want to walk.
The hotel is really very nice, with all low level 2 storey buildings. Lots of swimming pools around the hotel complex and not difficult to find some peace & quiet, if that's what you want. If you want things a bit more lively, the beach is busy, with the Animations Team rounding people up for fun activities during the day & entertaining at night. New Team this year and doing a good job. We changed our room after the first day as we were initially in a big double room, but along a corridor that echoed when people passed by. It didn't help when some people returned from the nightclub at 4 am in the morning, with no consideration for others. However, reception immediately sorted a fresh room for us, near to one of the small pools & the rest of the week was a dream.
We must compliment all of the staff, from the cleaners, reception, bar staff, restaurant staff (including the restaurant manager, who was a real charmer, Really!!), the Animations team and the Hotel manager, who was ever present & took time to chat with the guests. Special mentions to Andreas in the main restaurant, a gentleman, Christos & Gent from the bar (and others whose names we cannot recall) & Elina at the Pool bar.
Food in the restaurants is very good & varied to suit all tastes. The Greek Taverna on the beach is excellent & the cheese stuffed squid was superb. All in All we would highly recommend this hotel for a Fab holiday.
Barbara & John

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerSP_11, General Manager at Mitsis Summer Palace, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for you nice words about our hotel, staff and animation. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel. We would deeply appreciate it if your stay here would also prompt you to recommend our resort to your family and friends. Look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    225
    112
    41
    43
See reviews for
295
235
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Mitsis summer palace hotel, Kardamena, Kos. We have an amazing holiday! The hotel is definitely worth the 5* rating. The rooms were spotless and maids came in every morning and literally spring cleaned down to dusting and mopping all floors. The beds were so comfortable and the free mini bar was restocked every other day.
The hotel itself is beautiful and is situated in a resort of 4 Mitsis hotels. The food buffet was superb even making you a choice on fresh omelette every morning to any request that you have for any fussy eaters you may have in your group. The selection was vast and everyone would be able to find more that one dish they liked, esp the soup (lovely)!! The outside pools were salt water and maintained superbly. There are also Italian and Greek restaurants that you can book for free for lunch and dinner, but on a first come first served basis. The beach has its own bar also and they make wonderful alcoholic slush puppies every day to help quench your first and cool you down. The animation team were superb, although we did not have any children there was plenty of entertainment for adults throughout the day and evening and would have to say they all really helped make the holiday. So a thank you to Mimi, Kiki, Tito, Zizo, Rico and of course Angelo!!!!
The staff in the hotel were really friendly and very rarely were you able to put an empty glass down without them bringing you another drink. The assistant manager Demetrius was great and would also talk to you and ensure you were happy, he is very hands on and has a great rapour with all the staff. All in all, it was a great holiday and I would certainly recommend this hotel.
The location is okay its not in a popular area, but you can travel out if you wish, but that shouldn’t deter you from visiting this amazing hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerSP_11, General Manager at Mitsis Summer Palace, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Guests, We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Mitsis Summer Palace Hotel. Please be assured that we rate customer satisfaction as our highest priority. This is why positive and so detailed feedback like we received from you is most valuable to us. It proves us that we are progressing in the right direction.
Looking forward to welcome you again at our resort.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Well, just came back today from th Summer Palace which is as my title suggests, gorgeous...but is in the middle of nowhere! My hubby and I had a lovely family room with pool right outside, the views, scenery, beaches all fab. The food in my opinion was repetitive, however I always found something to eat in the main restaurant and the Greek and Italian (also included in the AI) were good too. The weather was amazing, the only downside was th the bar e place is in the middle of nowhere! There is not anywhere to walk to, as it is built into a mountainside. I got stir crazy after 4 days, there were trips, but quite expensive, and a bus to town, which I did a few times. We tried to walk to the other hotels in th complex, also Mitsis, but they wouldn't serve us a drink there so we returned to the Summer Palace. Quiet when we went, but think once full in the summer it would be a different place...queues at the bar, hard to get a sunbed etc, I heard this from members of staff who said it is best to go in May and October but to avoid other months. The staff were very good, no entertainment though, apart from a kids disco. Lovely for a chill out week, but wouldnt want to stay a fortnight!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerSP_11, General Manager at Mitsis Summer Palace, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for you nice words about our hotel and the staff. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel. We have 3 restaurants at the hotel, main resaturant with a 14 days rolling program and Our Taverna which provide traditional greek food, that the guest can't find in the main restaurant as well and our Italian Restaurant with a wide variety of italian pizza and pasta. Also traditional greek atmosphere (music, design) and unique sea views. We provide free shutle to the village in order to explore it and for getting the ferry to nissiros island which is costing 20€ per person (ferry and bus at the volcano) which I consider reasonable. At the town you could visit our sister hotel Ramira Beach and use the facilities of the hotel for your break after exploring the town and the historical sightseeing. Also from the port of kos is very easy and at no high cost the visits at other neighbor islands as well (Kalymnos, rodos,etc.) even a 30 minutes visit at Turkey and Bodrum. Kos is a small island with a lot of beauties and sometimes is better to ask also the local people what to visit and what is a must as a lot of times even the office representatives dont know the Island.
As for getting the drinks and to be served at other hotels of Mitsis complex, you will have to ask for the black wrist bracelet from the front office desk for an extra charge of 15 euros.
I really wish that me Ihad meet you personaly and chat with you while you were with us for all the above.
As for the sunbeds, I ensure you that are plenty at the beach and upon increase of the number of guests more of them are spread accross. We have 2 main bars which serving drinks and with the waiter stations that we have on the High season we eliminate the waiting time for a drink at maximum 4 minutes which i think is reasonable.

I would like to thank you one more time for your nice words and looking forward to welcome you again at our Hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom bristol
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We recently been for 7 nights, we spent really good time there, we enjoyed everything,
Room was really clean and nice, Food was excellent, good choise of fish, meat and veg salads( good varienty of food for vegetarians), we really enjoyed Greek Tavern food, stricly recommend!
Service was fantastic, staff was great, polite, and helpfull. Big thank you to restaurant manager ( cant remember his name)! Hotel provide diferent types of activitys, you can use catamaran and water bikes free of charge, all day long animation team working.
It was our first beach holidays, and we spend fantastic time. hotel is really 5 stars, and dont be greedy to give a tips!
Ed and Sasha!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerSP_11, General Manager at Mitsis Summer Palace, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for you nice words about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel.
We would deeply appreciate it if your stay here would also prompt you to recommend our resort to your family and friends.
Look forward to welcome you again in our hotel Mitsis Summer Palace.

Best regards.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Just got back from a 7 night holiday at the all inclusive Mitsis Summer Palace in Kardemena and absolutly loved the week. My girlfriend and I went thinking "oh this sounds too good to be true" and to be honest it was everything and more that we wanted. The hotel staff were warm and friendly, always greated you with a smile and were at hand to help whenever you need it. The barman Christos would remember our orders from the previous nights and was always happy too chat.
The views from both the bedroom and the dining room were absolutly amazing. We were lucky to have blue skies and 30 degree heat all week but even without that the stay would have been a memorable one.
We cannot fault the hotel for the service it provided. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis, complimentary minibar was regularly topped up and fresh beach towels every other day. The food available was amazing, we had a different meal every evening and it was all made to perfection. The drinks were made to order and anything we asked for we got, even off menu.

Thank you Mitsis summer palace for an amazing week. We have already suggested you to our friends who are looking too book.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main building as the views are amazing and the balconys are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerSP_11, General Manager at Mitsis Summer Palace, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for you nice words about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel.
We deeply appreciate that you recommend already our resort to your family and friends.
Look forward to welcome you again in our hotel Mitsis Summer Palace.

Best regards & greetings from your barman as well ;-))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Simply amazing! We spent a week here, and are already looking into going back this year! The food is amazing, something for everyone and the staff are really friendly. We where greeted every night, and escorted to a table either indoor or outdoors (of your choice), most nights the manager took us to our table. The rooms where really clean! Most defiantly the BEST hotel I have stayed in, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerSP_11, General Manager at Mitsis Summer Palace, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for you nice words about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel & for saying the BEST hotel I have stayed in...and for willing to be back.
We deeply appreciate that you recommend already our resort to your family and friends.
Look forward to welcome you again in our hotel Mitsis Summer Palace.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

All All All advise this hotel to those who have kids .. This hotel is excellent, quality service, food, Location))) All. But I would like to mention the wonderful animator Totti, who loves people, especially kids and the kids really love it .. Very sociable and friendly ... So the mood is all)))

Room Tip: with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerSP_11, General Manager at Mitsis Summer Palace, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for you nice words about our hotel, staff and Its location with breathtaking surroundings areas and clear sea water. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel. And thank you to recommend our resort to your family and friends. Look forward to welcome you again in our hotel Mitsis Summer Palace.

Best regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitsis Summer Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Summer Palace

Address: Kardamena, Kardamena 85 302, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#21 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mitsis Summer Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation: Standard rooms (52), Bungalows (104), Family Suites (96). Every 15 rooms a sharing pools is available. Room Facilities: Fully air-conditioned with individual control Heating, Bathroom with bathtubs / Hair dryer, Direct dial telephone, Mini fridge, Satellite TV with international channels / Music channel, Balcony or terrace with a fantastic view, Safe deposit box (with charge). Floor covering: Tiles. Meals in Main Restaurant. Breakfast: American buffet Lunch: Complete buffet Dinner: Complete buffet (all meals are with show cooking). Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant specializing in Greek and International cuisine with terrace and a fantastic view to the Aegean Sea. Italian à la carte restaurant «La Bella Vista»Greek à la carte restaurant (Tavern) at the beach. Main lounge Bar (In & outdoor), Interior Swimming pool, Bar, Beach Bar, Pool Bar, Room Service (07:30 – 21:30h). Sport & Leisure: 1 outdoor swimming pool with salt water, sun terrace, 1 Indoor pool with fresh water (for adults only), 6 sharing pools with fresh water for the family suites, 1 outdoor swimming pool fresh water with water slides, Sun beds and umbrellas at the pools and the beach, 2 tennis courts (hard) with floodlight, equipments. Water sport centre with water skiing, jet skiing, banana boat, parachuting, pedals, wind surfing (certificate), catamaran, row boots, pedals, canoes, rings, Scuba diving, lessons, Boat trips, Beach volley, Beach football, Table tennis, Bicycling, Horse riding & pony riding (on request), Bridge room, Billiard, Entertainment such as sketches, competition games, aerobics. Children’s play ground (4-12 years), Disco, Fitness, sauna and massage. Other Facilities: Reception with lobby, TV corner, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop and jewelry, Hair dresser, Laundry & dry-cleaning service, Concierge / Cashier / Porters, Guest Parking, Rent a car / motorbike / bike, Doctor’s visit, Lifts from the reception area to the beach. For Children: Integrated children pool with salt water, Children playground – Mini Club, Children disco, Baby cot, Baby chairs in restaurant, Kid’s water slide with kid’s pool. Business Accommodations and Services: Telephone and fax services, Internet and mail services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi access at the main lobby area (free). Distance From: Kardamena Town 5 Km, Airport 14 Km, Port 32 Km, Beach on the beach, Public bus: Front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mitsis Summer Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Summer Palace Kardamena
Summer Palace Hotel Kos
Mitsis Summer Palace Kos/Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitsis Summer Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.