We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So happy with my choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Origin Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Origin Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Origin Hotel & Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardamena Kos | Kardamena Kos, Kardamena 85302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Kardamena
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So happy with my choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My teenage daughter and I stayed at the origin hotel in May and absolutely loved it. Very convenient, just a few minutes away from the beach, a supermarket, all the shops and restaurants, and the staff was fantastic.... George, costas, Eva have made us feel so welcome, and were very helpful. Our studio's bathroom had just been refurbished and was very clean, we even got wifi access. The Origin is evidently not a luxurious 5 star hotel but if you're looking for value, convenience and a convivial atmosphere, then it is perfect. If I was to go back to kardamena I would not go anywhere else than the Origin.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    18
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great base 2 minute walk from shops, bars, restaurants, and clubs during high season.
All the staff were chatty and happy to help, including George, Kostas and Marcos who make you feel very welcome. The cleaner was also very friendly and came in regularly, whilst providing clean sheets and towels about twice a week (however only one toilet roll is provided.)

The room itself was a bit on the small side however newly refurbished self catering facilities and bathroom. Beds were comfortable and a good shower, any problems were quickly resolved. Ideal for two girls on a sunny holiday. (Do not lose your room key as it is costly to replace.)

A little bit noisy in the mornings sometimes as there were some renovations on going however was no issue really and will be finished for future guests I would expect. Half way through our holiday we got access to free wifi in the room which was a good bonus! (Not sure if it will remain free.)

Went last 2 weeks of May so the resort and hotel was fairly quiet, however still had an excellent holiday and met some great people. We usually had the pool to ourselves and it was still very hot for those unsure about may, in the second week we would have benefited from air con which was around 40 euro/week - standard pricing for Greece I would say. TAKE SOME MOSQUITO REPELLENT or you will get eaten.

Overall excellent stay and would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

I'm at an absolute loss to know how this place gets the rave reviews it does! Yes, it's a value budget accommodation in a good location. The staff are indeed very friendly and helpful (with the exception of the cleaner - if that's what you can call her). George the barman is what everyone says - a great bloke and a lot of fun. Everyone goes out their way to make you feel welcome, which is great. But when I read reviews about cleanliness and rooms being done daily, I'm gobsmacked. The room clearly hadn't been cleaned before we arrived. It was covered in dust, the floors were dirty and gritty underfoot - you couldn't walk barefoot as it was filthy and remained so for the duration of our week long stay. The only sign that anyone had been in our room was that the bathroom bin was emptied occasionally. The beds were as we left them each day - never made up apart from one day midweek. The towels were changed once and when we asked for fresh ones as they were dirty we were told this wasn't part of an "apartment stay". (We stay in apartments all the time and this was a first). In fairness, they did then change them as we had asked. We had to ask also for the bathroom bin to be emptied - an absolute must in Greece as you can't put paper in the loo! The 'cleaner' on the day we had to ask this, was sat on the first floor landing puffing on a cigarette, which was the reason everywhere stunk of cigarette smoke, the beds included. When she did eventually come to change the bins, she spent 10 minutes ranting outside our door, clearly not happy at being asked to do any work. When we booked, part of the service was free wifi throughout and this was the case for 4 days. Then, we were suddenly directed to reception to get a code, which was chargeable @ €2 per hour in the rooms! This wasn't part of our booking and as existing guests, I think it should have continued free for our stay. I can fully understand them putting extra costs into place for this and other things such as air con and safes, but this was not part of the deal when we booked. They do have to make money on extras, being a budget hotel and I appreciate that. The other thing we paid extra for when we booked, was daily breakfast. We went down on the first morning, got our tea/coffee and one glass of juice. Then, no choice, we were given a plate with white toast, 2 very small supermarket cold croissants, butter and jam. That was it!!! No choice of bread, no ham, no cheese, no pastries, no fruit - nothing that could have been remotely described as a 'continental breakfast'! We paid extra for this and for what we paid, there were places all around where you could get a full cooked breakfast of your choice with drinks included. We ended up going to the supermarket and stocking up the fridge to make our own. One morning mid week though, we did go down to sit by the pool and decided to have 'breakfast'. We were given our drinks and the food never even came! By this point, we just gave up!
This place is what it is - basic budget! The staff are friendly, the rooms are basic. We don't mind basic but we do expect 'clean basic'. They should either not offer breakfast or provide a decent one. Charging what others do and giving toast and jam is wrong. They are let out as apartments and studios, so putting decent crockery in the cupboards should be a basic! One proper mug provided was dirty and chipped, the only other one was a cheap plastic one. The wardrobes were filthy and very dusty, the balcony was dirty and hadn't been mopped in a long time, but neither had the inside! Oh and on a final note, don't forget toiletries including loo roll as nothing is provided other than 1 loo roll when you first arrive. Again, I do understand this as they need to make money but cleanliness costs nothing. If you're paying a cleaner, perhaps you should make sure she actually cleans and doesn't sit around smoking when she should be working!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Well what can I say. I have travelled to Kos many times and worked there also. I would have to say hand on heart this has to be the best Apartment complex in Kardamena.

The rooms are cleaned on a regular basis, Air conditioning and fans are at an extra charge but that's all over Greece to be honest. In the rooms you will find your basics you would expect to find in a self catering accommodation.

Kosta, Markos are without doubt the best part of the apartments they are happy to help with what ever problems you have although I didn't encounter any.

The Apartments have a lovely pool area and is crystal clear although a tad cold. Ava makes sure that you are made to feel at home as she is in charge of the Pool and Bar with Markos in the day!

The Complex also has a bar so if you fancy the odd cocktail which myself and mom enjoyed most nights you wont be disappointed good old George is the bar man and again made my holiday.

The Bar itself really opens until quite late, well until the last person staggers out but the DJ Actually plays the songs that you want and not the songs he wants to play.

These Apartments are within a 4 minute stroll to "Bar Street" the nightlife part of Kardamena so the location is excellent. although the Bar it self in the apartments always gets busy.

All in all these apartment are perfect, and with the added advantage of all the staff, Kostas, Markos, George, and Ava my holiday was perfect so thank you to all of you.

I was that impressed I booked another week while I was there

Room Tip: All rooms have fantastic Showers believe me in Greece that's hard to find. and you don't eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for a week at a fairly good price. The rooms were clean but basic and very dated and our shower was handheld which was a nightmare, so combined with this and a lack of hot water our showers were short and sweet.

The apartments are in a great location and all the staff are really nice and really make this place what it is. The bar is huge and has a good atmosphere.

Please note if you need to access reception before 9am it is closed, we didnt know this and were going to a trip to Kos town and ended up with only the money that we had left from the night before!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just spent the most amazing week at Origin. From the moment we arrived to the minute we left we had THE best time. Upon arrival we were greeted by the lovely Kim who showed us to our rooms which were basic, but very very clean as were the rest of the facilities. Origin is in a great central location. Just a stroll away from the beach, local restaurants and shops which suited us. We are not into the all inclusives as we like to like to make the most the different places to eat, and there are loads to have a go at. We didn't have enough time to sample them all!......Anyway I digress. Back to the Origin. We were there at the end of the season, and it was getting quieter but still had an amazing time thanks to Kim, Costas and Marco. Nothing was too much trouble and they know how to entertain.There was a mixture of age groups, and all the other guests we spoke to agreed that these guys at Origin had made their holiday a memorable one for all the right reasons. We will certainly be going back to stay at the Origin again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

After working out in kos I know a few hotels but this is the best hotel to stay for a holiday.. always stay here when visit very reccommend this hotel....clean (kims ocd) ... maids everyday...location perfect, staff excellent especially kim this year.. made my holiday ( kiss me clinkers ya bleeding donkey) ha ha miss u kim xxxx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Origin Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Origin Hotel & Apartments

Address: Kardamena Kos | Kardamena Kos, Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Origin Hotel & Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located in the center of Kardamena,the most popular destination in Kos.Just 100 meters from the beach and 5 km from the airport.The hotel has 20 comfortable rooms (studios & apartments) with all necessary facilities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Origin Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Origin Hotel And Apartments
Origin Hotel & Apartments Kos/Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Origin Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.