We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardamena 85302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 44 hotels in Kardamena
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What an amazing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Blue Domes and our experience has been amazing. Could not fault any aspect of it. All the staff are very friendly and willing to help. The choice of food is fantastic. If you did not want to go to the main restaurant every night then there was the option to book either the Mexican, Greek, Asian or Italian restaurants down near the beach. You have to book a table two nights before at the online booking system next to the main restaurant starting at 10.00pm but as we were Thomas Cook customers we were allowed to go straight to guest relations and book there without queuing which was excellent. There was also the other bars around the pool bar which did Sushi, Pita, Burger, Beeraria, Ouzerie and the Pastry corner, these were all open from 12.30 to 7.30 but the Pastry corner alwasy stayed open till midnight in case you wanted that crepe or ice cream after the entertainment.

The entertainment was excellent could not fault the animation team they were really friendly.

The resort is on a bit of a hill which we did not find too difficult being a young family but if you did struggle there were golf type buggies which you could call to take you wherever you wanted to go.

The grounds are stunning and are kept clean and tidy and there were always gardeners and maintenance people keeping it looking in top condition.

The rooms are well equipped and lovely and clean and you are provided with a mini bar which is stocked up every day which contains bottled water, beer, bottled fizzy drinks etc.

The weather was amazing 37 degrees every day. It got quite windy a couple of days but because it was so hot you were glad of the breeze.

Overall I could not fault the holiday one bit and cannot wait to go again - will definitely be going again soon.

Room Tip: Ideally a room in the centre of the complex as you will not have to walk too far to any of the amena...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    892
    411
    175
    70
    37
See reviews for
731
521
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We were staying for two weeks and left more than satisfied! Every day was special and awesome! Best animation team from ever existed,we made a lot of friends and spent a lot of beautiful time with teenage club. Every animator is friendly and sociable. There were also a lot of nice activities like "Olimpic games day",unforgettable evening shows interesting for both children and adult. A lot of entertainment for the smallest,such as every-evening mini discos with smiling animators. To be honest it was a huge sorrow to return home.. But it was incredibly great time,I'm still missing,but that memories I have are some of the best in my life!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Overall great family resort.
Great restaurant choices: Italian/Greek/ Asian/Mexican/ Burgers/Crepes / Mezes / Sushi & Main restaurant is a buffet of all varieties
The main restaurant manager Antony was very hospitable & friendly and always assured the best food service and waiting staff who are over & above friendly.
My 5 year old son had an egg & nut allergy & was catered for very well.

Clean bedrooms which were serviced everyday & free mini bar restocked daily.
Mitsis Wonderland: the kids play area is great, kids have plenty of activities to keep them occupied whilst parents either relax poolside or can go off into town.

Small Criticisms:

Wifi is really only available in the main hotel, although its very intermittent at times.

No lifeguards by any pools.

Gym is non existent (dumbells & rack).

Very steep walk to main hotel for restaurant every day especially for young children.

Restaurant Booking system is not thought about for families with young children who can't stand in a queue after 10pm to book for 48 hours in advance.

Kids disco starts at 8.45pm with the kids show following at 9.45....that's just too late!

The worst part of our holiday was a receptionist called Anna Maria who was extremely rude. We were offered a shower room as we had to check out at 12noon & flight was at 10pm. The room was given to us immediately after another guest had used it. When we expressed our concern & asked for it to be cleaned before we showered ourselves & our children she was very rude & condescendingly told us that's not what they do!
Overall great resort & we will definitely be going back.


  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely and clean hotel looks amazing at night with all the lights with a nice sea view which will only take a few minutes to walk too unfortunately the walk back can be demanding as the hotel is on a hill. Lots of pools doted around the hotel shame a lot of them are salt water although the kids pool is fresh water and has 2 water slides and a park. Food really good spent slot of time the in the burger in as they were really nice. The Animation team really do work hard, they done a great job always with a smile and so friendly, my lilttle girl loved them especially Ciulea who i think she had a crush on thanks guys

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family and I have jst returned from 2 weeks at the blue domes hotel. We are frequent travellers to this standard of hotel so would rate this high up the scale even though we are very fussy! The hotel is beautiful and cannot be faulted except for few things..... Drinks were not great ...cocktails tasted very sweet ,No Rose wine which is standard everywhere nowadays as well as a sparkly option again normally standard in a 5star hotel!. The food was good except for the booking system to visit the a la carte restaurants which is not acceptable as most of your evening could be spent in a queue to book via one screen! ..another point which we did not agree with is the brochure states men must wear long trousers in the restaurants in the evening which should be the case in a 5star ,this didn't seem to happen as the management allowed shorts to be worn a mistake if they want to keep it a 5star! We have been to many hotels who turn guests away if they have shorts on and quite rightly so. The staff were polite at all times especially at the pool bar where the staff numbers are limited and having to deal with a very busy bar. There was one female member of staff who works in the Mexican restaurant that we found to be quite unfriendly but she was the only one during our stay. Asfar as the overbooking ,that seems to be an ongoing problem which thank goodness didn't affect us and is totally unacceptable. Overall great holiday .

Room Tip: Pool room view would appeal to us as lite up beautifully in the evening
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our first time at Blue Domes, and it did not disappoint. We've spent years at these family, all inclusive resorts, but this one certainly one of the best in its class.

Opened in 2010, the complex is fresh, clean and spacious. Many of the rooms share their own pools, which is great, and the large "public" pools are placed the entire length of the complex. There are 10 restaurants, some you need to book in advance and others specialise, with choices including Greek, Sushi, Burger, German, Italian, Aisian and Mexican. The large main dining room offers the usual fare, with a large and varied international buffet, and has seating inside and out, overlooking the sea and nearby islands.

There's a large animation team entertaining day and night, and a large private beach and beach bar.

The room was very good also, well appointed, though we only had BBC World News and the Fashion Channel in english. Free wifi helped make up for it. We had a terrace leading directly out onto a pool shared with other rooms in our block.

The local bus and tax service are good, running directly from the hotel to nearby Kardemena (€1.80pp single bus or €10 single taxt) or Kos town itself (€3.20pp single bus).

A couple of things to watch out for.

The service at the many bars is slow, and there is no pool-side waiter service, something you might expect from an hotel of this standard.

The site is on a steep hillside down to the sea, with lots of steep roads and paths and many, many steps. We didn't see any wheelchair users during our stay, and were not suprised given the terrain.

Two members of staff told us that the hotel does sometimes overbook, and guests are moved to other hotels! It did not happen to us, thankfully, but although the hotel was clearly full while we were there, the spacious pool, subathing, eating and other spaces means that the public areas never seem overcrowded.

All in all a hotel to recommend and one to revisit.

Room Tip: Try and get a terrace room with a swim up pool. Although your will share the pool with others, it of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is hopefully a short and sweet review. Hotel supposed to be 5*...it isn't !!!. However as its rated 5* I will do the short review as if it is. I won't sing the praises as you can read the good points in brochures, of which there are plenty..its the bad points which are important.
1. Depending on breeze direction there is often a stomach wrenching strong smell of sewage on one side if the hotel. Without doubt it would not be allowed to operate in the UK . I am not sure if it comes from the hotel itself, however common Blue Domes - sort it out !
2. Previously read about overbooking and witnessed it while there. 50 couples were bumped into the hotel next door for several days resulting in lost luggage and other complications. In my opinion this was because the hotel had a corporate event for about 100 Peugeot employees. They were treated like gods and some a LA carte restaurants were closed to normal guests to allow corporate dining. If Mr Joe public books the Blue Domes, that's what he should have.
3. General negatives...each comment on there own not a massive thing but clumped all together paints a picture of NOT 5* hotel/service.....paper napkins everywhere, even in a LA carte restaurants.....very small plastic galasses on beach and pool bar, and yes they have to be unbreakable but these were absolute rubbish' the type that if you hold them firmly they are so flexible the liquid squeezes over the top. We have been to many other hotels that use plastic but all 5* use very rigid plastic almost like normal glass. Mitsis use throw away plastic cheap rubbish. ...Food in main restaurant was of OK quality but hardly any variety and what i would call basic grub, nothing out the ordinary. There were no theme nights like Greek, fish etc which are the normal in all other 5* we have been to. ........Entertainment non existantant, apart from the site team who work very very hard but I would have expected the occasional professional act in the evenings, again which is the norm in other 5* ( top man from onsite team was Ninja, who kept us amused and entertained all week).....no top brand drinks that I was aware of....Grounds are very steep, making it difficult to get about for anyone with mobility issues, I think golf cars are available on demand however.

FAO manager ..if you spent less time answering trip advisor reviews and making excuses and more time managing it could be a very good hotel.

SUMMARY.....Would I go again - definitely not...there are much better hotels on Kos, try the Grecotel near Kos town.....leaves Mitsus Blue Domes standing

Like

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa

Address: Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#4 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort And Spa
Mitsis Blue Domes Hotel Kardamena
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa Kos/Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.