We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for beach and sailing club.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helona Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Helona Resort to your Saves list
Helona Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Akti Helona S.A | Gourniatis, Kardamena 85302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Kardamena
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for beach and sailing club.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel and one of the best in kos. Front staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms large well furnished although I would not say 5*. Wi fi only works in reception so evenings would be packed with people on devices trying for signal. Food is ok but nothing special - quite a long queue at opening time. Also whilst lovely having the restaurant opening out onto the terrace it meant the food was soon covered in flies which was most off putting :( that said the food was on the whole of good quality and variety although I would have struggled if staying for longer than a week. Location great for beach but not much else and you will have to bus or taxi it to anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Τhank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Kos-Helona. We value all our Guests' comments and we take them under serious consideration in order to improve the services we provide and achieve our 100% Guest Satisfaction goal.

With kind regards,

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    152
    61
    16
    10
See reviews for
114
273
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had 3 days in the Doubletree in Kos as part of a 3 week trip round Greece. We hired a car from the airport and it's only about 15 minutes drive away. We did get a bit lost as some of the signs seem to point in the wrong direction but the locals soon pointed us in the right direction. The hotel and the staff were fantastic. Our room had as lovely sea view (no private pool but we didn't want that as we love the sea). The private beach is lovely, golden sand and clear water and plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. For people that like pools that's a feature of the doubletree. Breakfast was amazing, I've stayed in loads of hotels and never seen such an amazing variety and the quality was great - really delicious. Patrick does twice daily exercise classes (afternoon one is in the pool) - I did the morning class and he really does his best to get rid of whatever calories you've consumed at breakfast. Hard work but very effective. There's also a gym which is better to visit in the morning (quieter). I had a lovely and reasonably priced massage in the spa as well. It's very quiet in the evening which is nice and relaxing (if that's what you enjoy) but on one of the evenings we were there there was some rather questionable entertainment. The local town of Kardemena is nothing special and a bit run down but Kos town is worth a trip. We had a lovely few days in the Doubletree and were amazed that we had such a lovely resort entirely paid for by Hilton honors pointsw

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is encouraging to read positive comments about our Resort. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Kos-Helona with other travelers. We are very glad you enjoyed the hotel and the area and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice hotel, very spacious guestrooms, many of them with beautiful see view and some of the rooms have own swimming pool with private access! Good food in the restaurants, perfect service. The only minus were the sun umbrellas on the beach. First of all they were quite small, but the worst thing was that you have to keep umbrella closed when it is too windy. Unfortunately it is not possible to lay on the beach in July during the day with closed umbrella and there is no other chance to find a shadow place. I would suggest to consider buying some more stable umbrellas for the next season. Ptherwise everything was excellent! We enjoyed the hotel and the whole area very much and would definitely recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Kos-Helona. We are very pleased to read that your stay with us was a very pleasant experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A strangely deigned Hotel on various individual levels, many rooms having a swimming pool outside. The overall appearance is somewhat bland on the outside. Much too square and rectangular to everything and not very pleasing to the eye. The rooms are all very well appointed, as they should be for 5*. Excellent food and staff, especially Katriana and Petra who work so very hard in the pool bar. Close to beach also. Access to Kardamena mainly via taxi.. 10 Euros one way for 3Km If you can get one and can afford it, then upgrade to a Villa, they are lovely. We had Villa 803...Great! DC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are represented by all our team members.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Kos-Helona in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just got back from a week in this hotel.
The room was great. Spacious, clean and nice decor.
Food was pretty good.
When we booked the vacation we were told that the hotel has internet! Well that is partially true. The hotel has internet..... Sometimes. If you need to work and need internet, this is not the hotel for you.
We were told by the staff that it is a problem that occurred recently, but as we found out later from other guests- this is an ongoing issue of this hotel and they know it.
Our room had a shared pool which was beautiful but after the second day, all of our white swimming suits bleached and turned yellow. Again the staff told us that we are the only guests that encountered this problem. Again prooved wrong after speaking to other guests.
One more thing is that if you come to this hotel with kids and want some excitement and animation, you should know that all the action happens in the next by hotel. It's a ten minute walk downhill (and uphill on the way back) and the kids can not go alone. On the other hand, this leaves the hotel very quiet and peaceful.
Breakfast (nice), is served from seven to ten thirty AM. As we are late sleepers, we came to eat at 9:45. By 10:15 everyday the AC would shut down as if to signal that we should get out so they can clean up....... Not too friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Τhank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Kos-Helona. We value all our Guests' comments and we take them under serious consideration in order to improve the services we provide and achieve our 100% Guest Satisfaction goal.

With kind regards,

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We would like to record our thanks and appreciation to your terrific staff....

We have travelled extensively around the world and there are always two parts to an hotel - the physical attributes i.e the building.... and the team of people.

The attention, kindness and friendship we received was truly impressive, the F+B, housekeeping and general hotel efficiency was faultless even though you were running at full capacity, the accommodation was spot on -

We did not have any bad experiences during our stay even though you were at times running at 100%...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are represented by all our team members.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Kos-Helona in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

After a very rocky start, our vacation became fun and relaxing. The hotel staff is very good and they go out of their way to make you feel at home. The hotel is beautiful, but far away from everything. The breakfast buffet is fresh, tasty and plentiful. Dinner buffet not so good. Very spotty wifi service. Worth the trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Helona Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our DoubleTree by Hilton Kos Helona resort. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel despite the difficult start.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helona Resort

Address: Akti Helona S.A | Gourniatis, Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kardamena
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#15 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Helona Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helona Resort is a beautiful establishment with an impressive architecture. Small buildings scattered in beautiful gardens, elegant domes, cobbled alleys and natural materials such as stone, wood and marble, allow the entire complex to blend harmoniously with the surrounding, peaceful landscape. Large windows and openings offer a fantastic view to the sunny Aegean Sea and lighten up all interior spaces. Twenty-one infinity pools enable water to flow from one to the other, inviting guests to dive into summer happiness. The resort sits on a gentle hill that overlooks the beautiful Helona beach, on the southern coast of Kos island, at a peaceful area called Gourniatis, only 11 km from Kos international airport (KGS) and 4 km off the lively village Kardamena. Kos town is about 35 km away.Helona Resort has a delightful collection of spacious guest rooms, cosy family rooms, luxurious suites and private villas. Many of the rooms enjoy the extra privilege of a shared swimming pool in front of their terrace whilst others have lovely gardens spreading in front of them. Each one of the suites and villas has its own private pool. The resort has two restaurants, three bars, a spa and a conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Helona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helona Resort (Aka Doubletree By Hilton Resort Kos-Helona) Hotel Kardamena
Helona Hotel Kardamena
Helona Resort Kos/Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helona Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.