We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant mediterranean hotel in beautiful landscape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helona Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Helona Resort to your Saves list
Helona Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Akti Helona S.A | Gourniatis, Kardamena 85302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant mediterranean hotel in beautiful landscape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel consists of many nice bungalows. A lot of them have swimmingspools with direct access from the terrasse of their rooms. The rooms are well equipped and maintained. The stuff is very friendly. The huge buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner have choices for every taste, also for vegetarians. You get a lot for not too much money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, General Manager at Helona Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Kos-Helona. We are very pleased to read that your stay with us was a very pleasant experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    163
    62
    16
    11
See reviews for
118
295
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the hotel May 28th to 8th June. Check in was very welcoming, and thank you to Maria for helping. The hotel is modern and very clean. The infinity pools are lit up with changing colour lights at night and the resort is very quiet and relaxing. I would recommend hiring a car about 40 euros, driving very easy and Kos town really worth seeing.
The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful, Tommy and Andy in Concierge, Andreas and Zoey in the bar, Sarah on hand helping to seat everyone in the lovely resturant, and lovely Katerina always smiling at the poolside bar, lovely staff. The resturant meals are varied and chefs on the hotplate cooking delicious local fish. The waiters were busy but took the time to speak and make you feel welcome. On the last evening, my birthday, my husband booked a table at the Thalassa Resturant overlooking the Agean...the staff had cut flowers and placed a garland on the table,a lovely romantic evening...All too soon the holiday was over...I would definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, General Manager at Helona Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are represented by all our team members.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Kos-Helona in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We´ve stayed in this hotel the first time and were really happy with the whole design of the hotel. There are a lot of private pools in front of the bungalow-style rooms and we were lucky enough to have our own pool, only had to share it with 3 other rooms. In fact, the whole resort is really nice and the view from the restaurant is just superb. I also really liked the sandy beach and the sea, it was perfect - that results from the great, more or less private location of the hotel.

BUT when it comes to the service, I was really disappointed up to a point where I became really frustrated with all the staff (not the reception, the check in/check out was excellent!!!). I work in a management position of a hotel myself and trust me when I say - there is room for improvement.

The whole F+B section should be overthought, food is placed in the wrong positions, the taste is boring, everyday the same meals are being offered and the staff is just lazy. I also had some thoughts about the hygienic standard of the milk cans that were being placed on the tables, they looked like they had been cleaned the last time like two years ago.
I was also really put off by the long waiting lines in the morning and especially in the evening, where a line of people is waiting like sheep to be let in the restaurant - one could easily change that by amending the opening hours of the restaurant.

Also, the housekeeping was really just superficial cleaning of the room and changing of the sheets - we had no tissue paper in our bathroom for 5 days, an empty bottle of water was standing in the room from the first till the last day and on top of that, nobody ever thought of cleaning the terrace where we had a bird´s nest (which was really cute) and logically as a result of that, the floor was full of bird droppings.

We booked our stay back in January, which made it really cheap for us, but I know that a lot of people paid a lot more in the same week than we did and I would be very unhappy if I had to pay a single Euro more than we did. I think the value for money was more than OK in our case, but it´s really not OK to think of the service, cleaning and food of this hotel as a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, General Manager at Helona Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Τhank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Kos-Helona. We value all our Guests' comments and we take them under serious consideration in order to improve the services we provide and achieve our 100% Guest Satisfaction goal.

With kind regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I will start with the negatives which are not even really related to the hotel....the location. This hotel is pretty remote which is not exactly a negative for a lot of people anyway but those who want easy access to some nice areas with things to do will face a little bit of a drive.

Ok, now the hotel. Exceptionally clean, very friendly staff especially in the spa area. Room was spacious and had a good view of the sea. The restaurant was lovely and spacious with a great range of self service food. The pool facilities were excellent and it is a 30 second walk to a large beach.

My only other slight critism is the spa area is not very big and there are no jacuzzi, steam and sauna facilities at the time of us going (Sep 2012).

Would definately return if only to say hello to the spa staff :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, General Manager at Helona Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Kos Helona. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed 7 nights from May 25th until June 1st with 2 families .
The property still looks brand new and super clean. The check in was very warm and in a friendly greek manner (they love kids!!) The bellboy Andy helped us with his golf car to bring all our luggage to the room which was a bit up the hill and he offered us a lift every time he saw us on property what we think was very attentive and much appreciated.
Our rooms where big and comfy and we got very lucky to be far away from any pool where we had to watch our little kids all the time instead. we never left the property during our stay because there was everythig we needed to relax and enjoy ourseleves. The breakfast restaurant has indoor and outdoor seatings and is like other Hiltons very good. We never tried the buffet restaurant for dinner but can highly recommend the Thalassa Restaurant for a la carte lunch & dinner with a very romantic terrace and amazing ocean view. The service there is outstanding and this is just because of Michaelis and Despina the two waiters who offered PERFECT GUEST SERVICE all the time. anyone should try the cocktails from christina at the pool bar and the burgers from georgis and his beach bistro crew.... very delicious!!
We had to call a doctor for one of the kids after she got hurt at the playground and the Rooms Division Manager arranged everything and was even able to get a pediatrician to come.

We always stay with hilton and this place is perfect for us!! we will be back for sure and want to say thank you to every staff member again!!

Room Tip: if you have smaller kids you better try to stay away from the pools. if not you should definately as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, General Manager at Helona Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are represented by all our team members.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Kos-Helona in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Recently stayed at the beginning of June which was my second visit to this hotel.. As has been testified by others the design, layout and staff are exceptional at this hotel and I don't have any complaints. If I'm being picky I too would like to see an improvement in the English speaking TV choices and WIFI is poor and not available in the rooms. The hotel is well located if you want peaceful tranquility but if a bit more stimulation is required a hire car is advisable or I'm told the bus is quiet reliable.

What can't be improved upon is the attentive staff team who are second to none. Of notable mention Dimitris on reception and Tommy are stars.

Book with confidence you will be well looked after.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, General Manager at Helona Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to see Guests returning to our Resort. Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Kos Helona. We really appreciate your positive attitude and great comments.

We will be looking forward to seeing you again!

With kind regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Until fairly recently I was a diamond level card holder with Hilton which means I have stayed in a lot of Hiltons.
I booked the Double Tree Hilton in KOS because I wanted a certain standard of accommodation
We arrived late at night and as usual I was tired and kranky.
We checked in and were driven to our room by Tommy the very friendly bell boy.
He showed us in to the room and proceeded to show us how everything worked.
This made an immense difference and right away I felt relaxed.
I then went to the bar and had an ice cold Mythos beer served by a very friendly bar man.
The room was of a very high standard as was the whole hotel, it was absolutely fab.
Now normally you would expect this from a Double Tree Hilton however this is a holiday island and sometimes standards can slip.
This is not the case here in fact quite the opposite, the hotel is actually run like a family owned hotel the staff are very friendly and everyone gives you the impression that nothing is too much trouble for them.
Tommy the bell boy and his colleague Andy were very helpful indeed every day they offered advice and assistance and couldn't do enough for you.
We had a fantastic stay and will be back at this hotel for sure.
Every thing was five star.
I can recommend it without hesitation
Les Gray (Scotland)

Room Tip: I booked a sea view room and it was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakitira-Hotels, General Manager at Helona Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are represented by all our team members.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Kos-Helona in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Helona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helona Resort

Address: Akti Helona S.A | Gourniatis, Kardamena 85302, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kardamena
#3 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
#18 Family Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Helona Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helona Resort is a beautiful establishment with an impressive architecture. Small buildings scattered in beautiful gardens, elegant domes, cobbled alleys and natural materials such as stone, wood and marble, allow the entire complex to blend harmoniously with the surrounding, peaceful landscape. Large windows and openings offer a fantastic view to the sunny Aegean Sea and lighten up all interior spaces. Twenty-one infinity pools enable water to flow from one to the other, inviting guests to dive into summer happiness. The resort sits on a gentle hill that overlooks the beautiful Helona beach, on the southern coast of Kos island, at a peaceful area called Gourniatis, only 11 km from Kos international airport (KGS) and 4 km off the lively village Kardamena. Kos town is about 35 km away.Helona Resort has a delightful collection of spacious guest rooms, cosy family rooms, luxurious suites and private villas. Many of the rooms enjoy the extra privilege of a shared swimming pool in front of their terrace whilst others have lovely gardens spreading in front of them. Each one of the suites and villas has its own private pool. The resort has two restaurants, three bars, a spa and a conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Helona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helona Resort (Aka Doubletree By Hilton Resort Kos-Helona) Hotel Kardamena
Helona Hotel Kardamena
Helona Resort Kos/Kardamena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helona Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.