We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality food, lovely setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avli Restaurant

Avli Restaurant
Central square, Kardamena 85302, Greece
30 22420 92100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 54 Restaurants in Kardamena
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Family run Traditional Restaurant based on homemade recipes made with freshly grow produce.• A large selection of mezedes and other local starters.• Variety of over 65 Greek and International wine• Choose your wine from our extensive wine cellar• Enjoy your meal in the garden of one of the original houses to have been built in KardamenaA Family run restaurant in the center of Kardamena.The ambiance of the quartyard and the fresh homemade food are the reason that it was award as one of the Top 300 restaurants in all Greece for the last 7 years.Only a visit can give you the feeling and the taste of Greece, in a purely Greek traditional restaurant.
London
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Good quality food, lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The only place we chose to eat at whilst staying in Kardamena. The setting in an inner courtyard is lovely, the service was just right (good wine recommendations) and the food was of very good quality. We ate some Greek traditional dishes - lamb and beef stews and dolmades which were very tasty and very sensibly priced. We'd definitely go back if we were ever in Kardemena again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    163
    54
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
“Delicious food, wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We ate at this restaurant twice during our week's holiday in Kardamena. The food was some of the best we ate while on holiday (and was also surprisingly good value), and the service was excellent. Beautiful setting in a peaceful little courtyard. Huge portions for some dishes - try the pork shin if you fancy a challenge!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A cut above the rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Top quality food for a reasonable price, mind your tongue though cos the food comes piping hot, wonderful setting and great staff

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great authentic Greek restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great food, great atmosphere and excellent value. Cannot recommend too highly. Staff extremely friendly and made excellent recommendations where we were unsure. All spoke good english.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Kos.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A group of eight of us visited Kardamena for a week and after finding this restaurant on the first night ended up going four times (it would've been five if it wasn't closed for a private wedding function one night). The food is some of the best I've ever eaten and the service is fantastic. It is family run and after visiting the first time and getting to know the owner/manager, the next three times we visted he recommended what wine we should drink, picked a meze of starters for us to share and recommended what mains we should have (the fillet steak is the best I've ever had). He also sat and drank and shared stories with us on the last night. He is a very passionate man, both about food and life and the standards he sets for his resaurant are very high. If you go to Kardamena GO TO THIS RESAURANT.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avli Restaurant also viewed

Kardamena, Kos
Kardamena, Kos
 

Been to Avli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avli Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.