We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs total refurb” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalamaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Apartments
Save
You added Rainbow Apartments to your Saves list
On the Zante Town Road, Kalamaki, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Kalamaki
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Needs total refurb”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The apartment was in a very bad state of repair. It needed a total refurbishment particularly the shower/bathroom area. The whole hotel is very dated and in need of some tlc.
The staff are lovely and cannot do enough for you and people go back year after year to meet up and have a great time which makes it very clickey. We felt uncomfortable but only used the hotel to sleep in.

Room Tip: Do not accept rooms 1-4, on the balcony you have no privacy whatsoever, people coming in from the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    33
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
35
62
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alva, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Rainbow, very nice accommodation run by a lovely Greek Family who appear to have many returning clients and although returning to the same venue year after year is something we would never consider (there are still too many places in the world we have not visited) I would not discount returning some time if we were looking to go back to Zante. Prior to going we had read the previous reviews referring to basic décor (remember this is Greece that is part of the attraction) the Dog barking and Cockerels and while this was indeed true when the balcony doors were shut this was very muted and did not in any way interfere with our enjoyment. Our only criticism was the fridge which, no matter what setting it was at only worked as a freezer, we had bought a couple of tomatoes and bananas at the little shop across the road on our second day and thankfully used some at Lunch time as by the time we were ready for them again they were solid. This also was not a big deal as we were eating either in the lovely restaurant in the complex (meals we had including breakfasts were delicious) or in many of the nice Restaurants and Taverna's close by. we hired a car for some of the week and got to see a bit of the island and as if we were to return to Zante some time would probably go to a different resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

just returned fron rainbow,well what can i say.a place of 2 halves we found,many people book driect with the family and they get a much warmer greeting than those who book with thomas cook.our room was very basic but clean,if you get rooms between 34 and 37 you have to but up with the nosie of the kitchen fan many times a day .and it is a noise .pool could be a little cleaner ,we had no hot water for 2 days and that was not down to solar power as the weather was fine when we where there,happy hour was great if you could get some one to serve you,very busy with there children at night time,never in a rush to come serve you.food on the whole was very good standard menu but you have to remember you are in greece ,we went self catering ,very basic kitchen things 2 of everything ,no toaster ask if we could have to be told to hie 10 euros per week which i thought was a bit steep.hired a safe deposit box 25 euros for 2 weeks again i thought that was a bit steep and 5 euros deposit ,when took key back sophie asked me did you but deposit down, yes i said so that tells me again not everybody does,we had a great bit vine right up on to our balcony so that was no veiw and full of wasps ,we had a very relaxing holiday but sorry would not rush back to the rainbow,not unless thomas cook take all the rooms.we go to greece 2 been to many. kalamkia is a great place but like many other greek inland it is feeling the pinch,so many empty shops and eating places.

Room Tip: anywhere that not near the kitchen fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I'm just back from this hotel and I'm sorry to totally disagree with most the good reviews. I think the hotel is very basic, and when I read all the excellent reviews I couldn't believe what we were getting when we arrived there. You have to workout from an A4 paper on the wall where your room is and I think the corridors smell of dump.
The room is very very basic and has got a very noisy fridge that we had to unplug every night in order to get some sleep. Mattresses are old and bad quality. we couldn't even have a bit of privacy as our toilet door was broken and wouldn’t even close.
Also because the room is so empty every door bangs ans you can here noise from the other rooms.
I was also very disappointed with breakfast, as you could only choose something from a menu with 8 options of British breakfast and the other 2 were Yogurt or toast. You're entitled to 1 item from the menu and a drink. If you want coffee and juice you pay extra.
The swimming pool is ok but because they only turn the pump on once or twice a day, the water gets greenish.
The best thing is really the staff. Sophia is such a friendly lady which is the soul of the place! Always smiling, even though she has to work 7 days a week, long shift for 5 months. Thank you Sophia! The owner was quite busy with her baby and there was another gentleman to whom we said one day we didn't have electricity in trhe room and he just answered tomorrow! You can see that this was an old hotel called Raina and the sheets still have that name and a very old radio system also has got it.
I am very sorry because they all seem very good and friendly people and I'm sure that Thomas Cook pays them a bargain so they probably don't have enough to invest in the hotel but it was a bit disappointing to me.
I guess that for someone who was spending all day in the hotel the experience may be different as they get to know the staff better but we really wanted to see Greece and only went to the hotel to sleep so we would like to have a better place to rest.

I'm quite sad because they seem very good people and it seems that the hotel is

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have to say this was a really,really brilliant place to stay.
It really is family run and the whole family make you so welcome-nothing is too much trouble.
Nickos even sympathised with my husband when West Ham lost!
The food in the Rainbow is very good-no need to go anywhere else.
The bar is well stocked lovely cocktails for only 2.50 Euros.
Our apartment was one of the new ones on the top (3rd) floor.-Very clean,sheets and towels changed very frequently.
The pool is lovely-plenty of sunbeds for everyone,which always helps!
We will definately be going back-can't wait already!!

Room Tip: The upper floor (3rd) is new so better equipped. We had room 33 which overlooked the pool and was q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just got back from 7 days at the rainbow
As most of the reviews have stated everyone works hard and so helpful to make your stay a happy one
The rooms are for sleeping in and maybe making a brew. You can spend your time round the pool or a 15 minute walk to the beach.
We did stay in both blocks really two separate hotels that have been knocked through block b I imagine was very plush in its day but that was some years ago now.
The food was good as was the bar and reasonably priced too.
Overall a lovely place and would recommend it please though it isn't a 5 star hotel but is clean and tidy, so much so that while there so many people arrived who have been so many times that they must be doing something right.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We were in a party of 9 and we all had a really great holiday here. Our room was spacious and clean and had everything we needed. The staff were so welcoming and helpful, they made us feel like old friends. We ate in the hotel on a few occasions and the food was always lovely. The swimming pool, table tennis and the pool table kept the boys entertained (our boys were aged between 35 and 62 haha) great big tv's to watch football etc. on in the evenings to. Was also the perfect place for lying by the pool and relaxing. Also loved hearing the Scottish pipes played by John who also served us our lovely breakfast in the morning. A great all rounder and will definately return the next time we visit Kalamaki again. Thank you to all the Mavrikos staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Apartments

Address: On the Zante Town Road, Kalamaki, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#17 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Rainbow Apartments Kalamaki
Rainbow Apartments Hotel Kalamaki
Rainbow Apartments Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.