We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essence Restaurant

Essence Restaurant
Main Road | Kalamaki, Kalamaki, Greece
69 78 56 52 32
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 54 Restaurants in Kalamaki
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Calne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The food and service were exquisite and all beautifully presented by a husband and wife team, he being an ex QE2 chef and she the hostess. The restaurant has a special uniqueness and is warm, friendly and very different to any restaurant on Zante. Highly recommended for a fantastic mouth watering experience and ambiance. Thank you x

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    26
    5
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Eat here twice during our two week stay on the recommendation of our Thomson rep, Jordan. Absolutely amazing food and service. The first visit, we eat outside but for our second visit, the rain forced us inside - both experiences were lovely. Cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough. First visit, starter of baked Feta (didn't know you could baker Feta), second visit, started with Haloumi - both we're amazing. Had sword fish for main each time but both were totally different. If ever I go back to Kalamaki, my first stop will be here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbrian in cumbria
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Asked owner recomendations had baked halunie wit cottage sausage to accompany. Main course sword fish with veg. Pudding, nuts creme, ice creme, brandy soaked sponge with expresso coffee served in tall glass all 10/10 served in a wonderfull location

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best by far in Kalamaki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just returned from a trip in Kalamaki. This restaurant is first class, food and service is Michelin Star quality. It is run by a couple who are truly passionate about excellent food and superb service. We went there twice during our stay. This restaurant would make my husband and I consider going back to Kalamaki, if we could only transport it back to London! So if you are visiting any where on the Island be sure to book at least one dinner here.
Well done guys and continued success to you both.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to us by the holiday reps and it is fantastic. We have just returned from a week in Zante for my 21st birthday. Lovely surroundings and the service and food were brilliant. Could not fault it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essence Restaurant also viewed

Kalamaki, Zakynthos
Kalamaki, Zakynthos
 
Kalamaki, Zakynthos
 

Been to Essence Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essence Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.