We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amaryllis Apart Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amaryllis Apart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amaryllis Apart Hotel to your Saves list
Amaryllis Apart Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalamaki 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Kalamaki
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amaryllis Apart Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just got back from a fantastic holiday at the Amaryllis, this is the 14th year we have been back there. This year they have a buffet breakfast, which includes continental breakfast, Full English Breakfast, Cereal, Salad, Tea, Coffee, orange Juice, They also do a Buffet in the evening, there are about 10 different menu's to choose from typical Greek food, the food is excellent, and great value for money. The Staff are great, the hotel is spotless. Looking forward to going back next year, it is our second home we love it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    57
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
96
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I have just returned to the UK after a one week stay at this fanatstic accommodation. This is our fifth stay and found it to be equally as good as the first, if not better. The accommodation is situated a short 10 minute walk to the beach which boasts miles of gorgeous sand and clear blue sea. You can also walk 10 minutes to the main street of Kalamaki where you will find a selection of local restaurants all serving a good selection of food. At Amaryllis, you can also find a great breakfast buffet and dinner buffet. The price is excellent value for money and the food is of a very high quality. There is a pool bar serving lots of snacks and drinks all day. The pool is a great size for bathers and the water is of an exceptional quality. There is also a baby pool for families staying at this complex. The bar is a great place to enjoy the entertainments offered in the evening from Quizzes to Greek dancing or Karaoke. The apartments are all immaculately presented and maintained to this standard throughout the duration of your stay. The balcony offers a table to relax and unwind and cool off after days in the gorgeous sunshine. The sound of the birds singing is also very relaxing. Would definitely recommend this accommodation for all couples/families looking for somewhere relaxing to stay. We shall certainly be returning without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is great accommodation for a lazy week in the sunshine. Perfectly situated for a 10 minute stroll to the beach in one direction and a 15 minute stroll on the opposite direction to the main street where you will find all the restaurants. We returned this year after two holidays to this place last year and one improvement was that you can now have dinner, buffet style and made up of all authentic Greek dishes. The food was delicious and plentiful, a great service after a long day on the beach, quick shower and within 5 minutes you are sitting eating some of the tastiest food we have eaten in this resort. Lovely friendly staff, all facilities are very good. We will be returning next year for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed her about 4 years ago and always wanted to go back. Why we waited so long i do not know. This place is fantastic, if you are the type of person who relies on tripadvisor ratings, why this place is not in the top 5 i dont know, please dont let the ranking put you off. As mentioned in other reviews they now do a buffet breakfast and evening meal which are great value and be booked on a daily basis. The staff are friendly and work really hard to make your stay a good one. Panios behind the bar is a true gentleman, always asking if you've had a good day and he can prepare a mean cocktail. There are plenty of resturants on the main strip and many good greek tavernas down the side roads. We ate at Buon Amici (italian) the food was great until we had to send something back and then the service and smiles just went out the window. After that we decided to stick with just Greek tavernas as the staff always seem so friendly there. The first we tried was Ambrosini. food excellent and at 9pm out come the waiters doing greek dancing over fire and smashing plates everywhere. After that we tried a resturant called Michaelos, its a bit of a walk from the apartments as it is at the other end of the strip and then turn left or 6 euros in a taxi. I dont really know what to say about this place but we ate there 5 times, it is fantastic, authentic greek food cooked by Dennis the owner. It is probably the only resturant ive been in where they are happy for you to try their local dishes and if you dont like them you can send it back and choose something else at no extra charge. ( but i bet you wont). As for bars we drank mainly at the apartments, but we did try the cave bar which is worth a visit for the views and the ride in the buggy and also Red Tail which has to be one off the most relaxing bars to have a early evening drink. One last thing, we all know that Greece as a country is struggling economically, if you can spare it leave a tip as their service and friendliness is second to none.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here last September and had such a great time we promised to return.When we checked in the staff remembered us and were greeted like long lost friends! A few things have changed ,you can now have an all you can eat breakfast for 4 euros which is brilliant value, plus evening buffet for 8 euros,all the food is freshly cooked and very tasty.The bar seating area has been extended so plenty of room to have those evening cocktails. The rooms are kept spotless with clean towels and a change of bedding twice a week by very friendly maids. As we had stayed here before we didn't book the coach transfer a taxi from outside the airport had us there in 10 mins for 13 euros.Thank you to all the staff for giving us such a great time again especially Maggie and Lola,see you next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here in Aug 2012 and will be staying again Aug 2013!!
Freindly staff who even remembered how my brother wanted his ham and cheese toasty nearly every lunch time!! The music even on nights that had events going on was quiet but still could be heard at the back in block C.

The only sad points we had was to see the fires spread through the woods between the 2 resorts in the bay a few nights before coming home (sadly some people set soem dry grasses alight over the orad by the runway and the flames jumped the road as it was so dry last year). the second sad point was when we had to come home!!!

Looking forword to staying there again and seeing many friends in Kalamaki. Only 21 weeks left!!

Room Tip: Rooms lovely just be careful on the stone floors as some edges can be sharp if taken at the wrong an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed in the Amaryllis in May last year for 1 week and in short enjoyed every day.. Zakynthos is already one of favourite destinations for scenery and sun and the Amaryllis topped it off.

Having stayed in several locations across the island from Laganas, Agio sostis, Kalamaki and Tsilivi we have a good idea as to the range of accommodation available, some good, some not so good. The Amaryllis is a safe choice for anyone, especially those who never travelled before to Greece and would like to ensure their first trip wont be a disappointed, where you stay can make or break a holiday.

The hotel is very clean with a large range of room sizes, we stayed in a one bed apartment as we have an 11 year old. Furniture was in good condition as was the kitchen, stocked with plenty of utensils necessary for self catering. Beds also comfortable and linen looked like new.

The manager is also very accommodating, we emailed the hotel a couple of weeks before hand to try and book a top floor room over looking the entire grounds and pool, we got both so very pleased (please note requests are not guaranteed).

Pool is a good size and clean, plenty of sun beds to go around. The pool bar does most 'English' food, but I do recommend going further a field and trying local cuisine, we are vegies and still find a plentiful array of dishes.

The hotel is situated on the edge of Kalamaki away from the noise of the main strip and a 5 min drive to the bustling Laganas for the young at heart.

I highly recommend a car for several reasons, first the resort is about 10mins from the airport so don't pay extra for the transfer put the £50 you'll get charged for the privilege into the car. We got a Fiat Punto for £130 for a week with Thomsons, minus off the transfer and that's just £80, The main resort strips are just noise, bright lights and tar-mac, there is so much more to see and a car enables you to take the routes that the buses don't go. There are plenty of small bays tucked away in the corners that many holiday makers never see and inland there is still signs of old Greece before tourism took over and blemished the land forever.

There are various trips you can book that take you on boat rides around the Island, most do the same sights such as the Blue Caves, Ship Wreck Cove and Turtle spotting all in all much the same but nether-the-less still enjoyable.

To wrap things up Zante is lovely, May through to September weather is great, our May trip hit 32 degrees, we have had it at 45 in August, now that is toasty! Go book a week at the Amaryllis, book a car and have a perfect Greece holiday... Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amaryllis Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaryllis Apart Hotel

Address: Kalamaki 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalamaki
#6 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaryllis Apart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Amaryllis Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amaryllis Apart
Amaryllis Apart Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaryllis Apart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.