We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amaryllis Apart Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalamaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amaryllis Apart Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalamaki Zakynthos, Kalamaki 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 32 hotels in Kalamaki
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Kalamaki in June 2011 after a last minute booking and didnt regret it!
We are do glad we did not go up the road to Laganas where all the bars/clubs/18 year olds are!! This hotel was off the main Kalamaki strip do much less noise but only a 2/3min walk to get there! Loads of restaurants, friendly bars and pubs all within a 20minute walk up the main strip! Reasonable priced food&drink too!
The room: it's basic, tiled floors, standard 2 single beds pushed together, shower not great-tiny not top powerful due to soft water and the curtain was a nightmare so very Wet floor! Also remember to toilet paper can be flushed!!!! Nice sized balcony too.
The hotel: friendly staff, cleaned every day with new towels, kitchenette basic but better than nothing! Disappointed they had no half board options or dining service, only poolside snacks but this is only real negative! Apx 5 mins (slow in heat) down back of hotel to beautiful beach where they look out for their special careta careta turtles! Def take a boat trip to see them! Great time in kalamaki would def come back here!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    50
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
80
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Went on a family hotel to Kalamaki and found this family run hotel through Tripadvisor. The room was clean and had the basics you'd expect from a Greek holiday. You could get a sunlounger anytime of day (which is something I looked for), and the location is great both for the beach and the nightlife. The pool bar had good value food and the nearest supermarket was only 5 mins away. Only problem I had was the loud kids shouting all the time (and the parents shouting even louder!) I know I was on a family holiday with kids but I like to read and relax, therefore make sure the kids respect other people. Shame some other families don't. but then again, this could happen at any hotel. Be warned though. You are on the flight path to the nearby airport so expect planes and you can hear the people leaving the hotel for the early morning flights, (so take earplugs). But overall, great value for money and not a cloud in the sky!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just returned from our second year at Amaryllis hotel a very warm welcome from manager on our return and from restaurant staff along the strip in kalamaki, came back and have rebooked for next year highly recommend this for any family i am so looking forward to my return next year for another great relaxing holida.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have just returned from a one week stay at the Amaryllis. From start to finish the staff were very friendly and attentive especially the ones who worked at the snack bar. Accommodation is basic but is clean and linen/towels regularly changed. We opted to pay extra for AC and we are glad that we did as one night at 11.30pm the temperature was still 28 degrees! Can't really say anymore that most previous reviews have said. We would definitely be happy to return and hope to in he future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My fifth visit to this great hotel set in beautifully kept grounds 5 mins from the main road of Kalamaki, full of shops, tourist shops, leather shops, restaurants, bars and hotels. A water park is within 5 minutes drive, Laganas which is great during the day for lightweights like myself (!) is only 5 mins away by taxi and Zante Town is about 15 mins away in a taxi. All well worth a visit. Beautiful island, lovely hotel and great friendly welcoming staff. Good value for money although be aware that you do have to pay for the air conditioning unit and safety deposit box but even in high season it's under 90 euros for both for a week. Just been with my daughter for a week and had a great time. Made use of the snack bar and evening bar, witnessed the greek dancing, had some virgin cocktails (!), did a few trips around the island and did a fab trip with Thomson to Kefalonia - a great day out. Our rep, kay, was absolutely superb - a real font of knowledge and a lovely lady. shame the food ran out on the return flight though - not so good. Would definitely return - the only down side, well if you go out in the morning don't expect to get a sun bed in the afternoon when you get back - you will have to lie on the grass until around 5 when people start to go upstairs and get ready for dinner. This is the only thing at Amaryllis - not enough beds. People put towels out at 9am when the pool area opens then sit in the cafe bar for a couple of hours, same again at lunchtime and mid afternoon while others don't get a look in. Shame realy as this is the only blot on this particularly great place's copy book ! Will be sure to visit again in the next couple of years.

Room Tip: All rooms are good - stone floors, single beds which to be fair are a bit hard. Take some hangers a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic holiday. We was there for my brothers 50th birthday. The staff was amazing every single one ov them including the cleaner. The prices ov food n drinks was good we stayed in block b and was not interrupted by music etc from the all inc hotel next door. The hotel was lovely and clean and the pool area was to. The toilets was clean. There was a bouncy castle and a swing for kids which all 3 ov my kids loved. The pool was sooo warm I've never been in a pool so warm like it. We had food in a place called sizzle n grill on the main strip which is lovely food it's about 5mins walk from hotel. My kids loved the black pearl bar well they called it the pirate bar as there is a pirate standing out side ov it and is really friendly with kids. All in all we loved the hotel,staff and resort. The beach is lovely 2 nice n clean. So we will defo be going back n I can't wait B-) thanks amaryllis hotel xxx

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Amaryllis. We had a pleasant stay and the staff were friendly enough. Rooms were basic but well looked after by the cleaners who were in everyday except their day off on Tuesday. They were worthy of the generous tip my wife left them. Air con is a must. I managed to get it for 110 euros for the whole stay so worth a wee haggle. The hotel sells cocktails for 2.50 but dont be fooled by this appealing looking price as the alcohol content is next to nothing with just a small dash mixed in with a glass full of ice and filled up with soft drinks.
The pool bar staff work their socks off and are really friendly but the breakfast we had on our first day was not very nice, swimming with grease. Best value for breakfast is Vanessas which is on the strip. 3.95 gets you the full works including toast, orange juice and tea.
The standard of food in all the restuarants was excellent but be preapared to be majorly hassled by someone standing at the door trying to lure you in. Most give you discounts/free drinks. Best we preferred was the Olive tree and Merlis but as I say cant fault any restuarant we were in.
The 'Why Not' bar shows all the football and sports action and also provides good entertainment 3 times a week.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amaryllis Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaryllis Apart Hotel

Address: Kalamaki Zakynthos, Kalamaki 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kalamaki
#5 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaryllis Apart Hotel 4*
Also Known As:
Hotel Amaryllis Apart
Amaryllis Apart Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaryllis Apart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amaryllis Apart Hotel to your Saves list