We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venus Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Venus Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Venus Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
10% discount for 2015!
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Kalamaki
shrewsbury
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Gem of a Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Just returned from our 4th visit and have to say, it just gets better and better each time we go to this lovely hotel!

Yet again we met so many friendly people of all ages and cannot comprehend how anyone can rate this as anything but Excellent, based on the categories cleanliness, service, rooms etc. After all, it must be remembered this is still only classed as a 3 star hotel, but it certainly has a 5 star heart!!!!!

I know this may set high expectations for some who have not yet discovered this gem of a place, but you've really got to experience it
to believe it!
So it goes without saying that we have already booked to return again next year. We just can't keep away!

It has to be said though, that we are still fortunate enough to also discover 'new' holiday experiences around other Greek islands (all of which we love for their own reasons), but Zakynthos and the Hotel Venus is a special place for us.

Many sincere thanks again to Nick and EVERYONE for another fabulous holiday.
Yamas till next time!!

Our very best regards
Chrissy & John Cubbin x

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    87
    28
    3
    1
See reviews for
201
433
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Returned back home from our second stay at this wonderful hotel after a two year break.The place was just as nice as before and everything was spot on. The rooms were always spotless and the maid was always so friendly whilst doing her daily chores.All the staff were always attentive to your every need and nothing seemed too much for them. Donna and Spiros on the bar were great in mixing the cocktails and at only €3 for a huge glass, the value was great. Even better on Pool nights when the cocktails were 2 for the price of 1. This bar incidentally, serves proper cocktails and not watered down versions that some bars seem to sell. You always know the difference when you are on the 3rd !!. Barbara, Louisa and Mary on reception were always so friendly. Even when we encountered a little problem with a couple of owls that had formed a nest in the balcony roof, Nick was on his phone straight away to get it sorted and the next day the hole was boarded up and we were even given a lovely bottle of wine for our "troubles".Being picked up at the airport and taken back in the transit van for club members is also very useful. Even though it is only 3 kilometres from the airport, it saves waiting around for either a coach or arranging a taxi. The weather as before was extremely hot with temperatures some days into the 40's even in early June.All in all, a wonderful holiday, and just maybe, we may be back in time to come

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Read loads of reviews before booking and was not disappointed in ANY way. All the staff are lovely and make you feel very comfortable and at home and very welcome.
The hotel is very clean and kept in lovely condition.
Breakfast is superb by any standard not just by greek standards.
Our room was a nice size and very clean (cleaning ladies are lovely).
My only gripe (and it is only a tiny tiny one) is pool area can get a little crowded however I believe extending the area may be in the pipeline. Non the less my husband & I can't wait to go back and are hoping to take some family and friends with us.

Nick and all the staff should be very proud!!
J & T, Leicester.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

Got back yesterday and feeling extremely depressed!

Missing the fantastic staff, amazing location and sunny weather.

Me, my girlfriend and another couple went to the Venus Hotel and we loved every second.

The staff couldnt be anymore pleasant and helpful if they tried, nick the mangaer was so professional and kepy everything running like clockwork which really showed. Barbara on reception was a massive pillar of the hotel supplying knowledge of the island and her fantastic recomendations on places to see. Donna was a slice on England supplying us with Zorbas, Mythos and the islands best cocktails all night long! I didnt catch her name but even our cleaner was a little legend, constantly smiling and always supplying a warm welcome in the mornings from a pounding hangover!

The food at the hotel is great with enough options to cater for any tastes! The cleanliness of the hotel was second to none with a really nice airconditioned reception area perfect for relaxing in before exploration of Kalamaki!

The rooms were spacious, well decorated and enough for a 2 week break - always kept super clean!

Cannot recommend this hotel enough as it provided us all with 2 fantastic, unforgettable weeks of relaxation and home comforts.

Get it booooooked!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

The Venus hotel had LOTS of "fantastic" reviews, and yes it is a lovely hotel and it is clean and the staff are pleasant but its no different to any other 3star hotels i have stayed at before.

The pool was nice, if a little cold in May!! Food was nice and reasonably priced at the hotel snack bar. There was always plenty of sunbeds, annoyingly though you have to pay a euro for each "sunbed mattress" that are quite clearly not new anymore!

The breakfast food and room were both very nice. Lots of food available and always being topped up.

The rooms in the hotel were very small and cramped and the balcony was also very small.

As a young(ish) couple i'd say we were a bit out of place here, the other people staying at the Venus were either older couples or families.

Wouldn't return for any special reason other than a cracking deal in price if there ever was one. Lots of hotels in Kalamaki appeared to be just as nice as the Venus.

Pleasent enough stay though.

Kalamaki is a nice resort, there are lots of hotels/apartments and lots of restaurants, bars and places to eat/drink.

The beach isn't spectacular. You are much better off walking the 2mile or so walk along the beach to Laganas where there are plenty more places to sunbathe, eat, drink, hire pedaloes and go on boat trips to see the turtles etc.

As Kalamaki is so close to the airport its actually quite a nice sight watching the planes land or take off.

We went to Kalamaki in May so the resort was VERY quiet, especially after 10pm. Most of the bars were almost empty except the most popular ones (eg. the cronulla, the rose and crown, the fire club and the iguana bar).

I would return, but only if i got a cheap deal!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Well thats us back to reality after another wonderful week at the majestic Venus Hotel(our 8th visit), many many thanks to everyone at the hotel, as always the wonderful helpful staff from top to bottom can never do enough to ensure that our holiday is lovely.

Great to see everyone again, especially all of the fantastic Palaiothodoros family, as always greeting us with a warm hugs and smiles. Our first visit to the Venus was in 2004 with Thomson, we quickly became friends with many of the staff and this friendship has grown over the years.

Ever since 2004, we have booked direct with Nick( manager of the Venus), and in doing so, saving great deal, as the price included, fridge, safety deposit box, air-con and transport from and to the airport. We also have appreciated the discounts in being Venus club members, 12% discount on meals and drinks. one of the many things we value and treasure in booking direct with Nick is that if you get a free weeks holiday either start or end of the season, we have manged to get this wonderful offer for the last 3 years. fantastic!!!

Usually in May we just spend time relaxing by the pool, long and enjoyable walks along the beach and through the shops, at night we ate out ate few places, Mermaids, heaven kitchen which we really enjoyed. However the week we were there, the hotel started doing evening meals by the pool tarrace, it is a beautiful seeting for a meal and i have to say the meals are fantastic, i tried different meals each night and also enjoyed the first Saganaki of the season served by a very proud George ( Nick's dad).

Breakfast was enjoyed a few times over the week, some mornings i didnt make it out of my bed due to some late nights chilling by the bar with many of the old and new friends we met on our holiday. My opinion on breakfast is that i just want something light, and what is on offer meets my needs, what was on offer most mornings, cereal, toast, cold meat, cheese, eggs, bacon, beans, hash browns, sausage, and plenty of juice, milk, tea and coffee.

over the week we enjoyed some of the nights in the hotel, quiz night, bingo, bbq( and singer), a guy playing the guitar, ( a very lovely chilled evening was had to that)

We have booked up again to go in September and are already counting the days, if you are going to try the venus, DO IT, you will not regret it, it is a beautiful hotel, staffed by polite warm and friendly people, in a nice and quiet resort, 5-10 minutes from the beach, a couple of minutes from the main shopping strip in Kalamaki.

happy holidays...

andy & chelly

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sully
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

An excellent holiday from start to finish. The hotel was excellent in all aspects, clean,
comfortable and staff very friendly and helpful. We only booked bed and continental breakfast and impressed by choice of hot breakfast as well. We booked direct with hotel, therefore, had all the advantages of being a Venus club member. Would recommend it to anyone.

Jan and Tom Crandon Sully

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Venus Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel & Suites

Address: Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 29100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Venus Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Venus is dedicated to perfecting the travel experience through continuous innovation and true Greek hospitality. Hotel Venus embodies a true home away from home experience for those who know and appreciate a small and friendly hotel. Named after the ancient Greek goddess Aphrodite, who in roman is Venus, and symbolized "Love and Beauty." Whether you get married at home or in Zakynthos, the Venus Hotel caters for the newlywed couple. Enjoy our special honeymoon room with its elegant decor and service. We can even host your reception on our premises and provide you an excellent banquet meal. Every year, families and couples, who come back year after year, appreciate the hotel's fine service and truly experience a joyful holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Venus Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel And Suites
Venus Hotel Kalamaki
Venus Hotel & Suites Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venus Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.