We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel- But lovely pool+gardens” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Louros Beach Hotel Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Louros Beach Hotel Spa to your Saves list
Louros Beach Hotel Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box: 102, Kalamaki 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Kalamaki
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average Hotel- But lovely pool+gardens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Recently been on a 2 week stay at this hotel. Average overall.
Positives- Very close to the beach, couple of minutes walk. Pool is very nice, and so are the gardens. Majority of staff are friendly. Free computer and free wifi provided.

Negatives- The one main negative was the plane noise. The doors to the rooms are very poor and the plane noise is extremely loud. At 4am it is not what you want to hear.
We paid for a room upgrade, definitely did not match the picture. Bed was not comfy, and only one pillow each. Cleanliness of the room was not up to scratch. Our sheets were not changed once in 2 weeks. One of our main towels was not changed at all either!
If you are English, like us, I would not bother paying to go bed and breakfast. We gave up after the first week. The choices are- water melon- cheese- ham- bread- some strange sausages, odd eggs and then some cake, and also limited cereals and breads. There are plenty of restaurants open for breakfast which are really reasonable, and very nice food. Full English+ a drink no more than 5 euros.
Check out is a 10am, regardless of whether your flight isn't until 3am the next day! so be prepared.
Best places to eat = Pandesia, Parthenon, Yummy Grill , and The Olive Tree

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    55
    16
    13
    2
See reviews for
40
86
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

me and my girlfriend have just returned from a amazing holiday in Kalamaki. From arriving at the hotel we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly particularly the hotels dog Nico!!! We had a room on the second floor overlooking the gardens at the back, room was pretty clean if you didnt look too close like a mardy bum!!!
Had a great balcony with a view of the gardens, very private and plenty of sunshine. Also a great view of the planes landing, slightly noisy but only during the day and for a few seconds.
Gardens were incredible, check out the church, elephant bush and go take a look at the dead giant turtle and you may see his little (alive) friend. (Only turtle we saw)
Very relaxing bar and great service.
Breakfast had a good selection just avoid the "coffee". We would definately return.
Best restaurants: Heavens Kitchen, Olive Tree

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great Holiday - hotel is at best poor. The hotel's best qualities - it is in a very good resort and 2 to 300 yards from the beach.

Hotel facilities - bedroom: pay for fridge key (although on anyway); pay for safe (although no one else can use it); pay for air conditioning. Room was ostensibly clean - a cotton bud (we do not use) remained under the bed all holiday. Beds made each day. Towels (not to be removed from room) were changed four times on a fortnight stay. Shower - very poor. The island's airport is on the flight path with planes no more than 50 yards over the hotel and closer by path.
Food - breakfast is very poor. Nice bread and croissants and that would be about it. Only fruit available was water melon. OK if you want cake or biscuits I suppose. Only warm food was a bolied egg or something that resembled a sausage - breakfast times are 07.30 to 09.30 - but don't worry late risers can pay for a breakfast at 5E at the bar.
Entertainment - three efforts. The belly dancer was good. The other two nights left a lot to be desired - audience soon disappeared.

I regret to say I was irritated by some of this - this probably came across because I can not get over enthused as others have by the customer service. The difference from here and the resort was quite candidly - stark. I found people on the resort exceptionally helpful. Maybe the staff at Louros Beach need to win some custom - I suspect they have forgotten what customer care is.

Would definitely return to Kalamaki - I would never return to Louros Beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Both me and my husband have just returned from a 2 week stay at the hotel and we had a great time. On first arrival we were greeted by Rita, the receptionist, and throughout the holiday she was very friendly and welcoming until the day we left. Check in was simple and easy however one thing that I wasn't happy with was that the air con and fridge wasn't included and you had to pay for them. This is the first time I've ever had to pay for these amenities from the years i've been holidaying. You can understand the air con as it does use up a lot of electricity however the fridge is constantly switched on so its not like you will be using anymore that it already is. Plus after speaking to some fellow guests they said it doesn't really chill anything. The room overall is why we didn't give the hotel 5 as there were numerous issues. Firstly ants and lots of them. On the bed, on the dresser, on the floor. We reported it to reception and Ria (not Rita) came up and sprayed some ant spray but told us that is all they could do. We were on the top floor so we really didn't expect to have any and after speaking to some people on the ground floor they were ant free. The second issue was the shower, very small and on a number of occasions no water whatsoever. We again reported this and when they came up to the room is started working. It always seemed to be when they put the garden sprinklers on around 6pm which is strange as you would think they would turn these on during the evening.The last thing was the pillows, rock hard and very uncomfortable. If we didn't have any of these issues then the room would have been perfect. Room aside the rest of the amenities were great and very clean. Christina and Go-Go behind the bar were always very friendly and chatty. Dean the pool boy always saying hello. Nicos the owner and even Fanni (don't really know whether she worked there or not but always there for our first week.) And lastly Rico, the hotels adopted stray dog. He was my substitute for my dogs and always coming to sit with me at night. Breakfast very basic but served a purpose.

Recommended restaurants:

Paolo's - this was located at the top of the road and we ate here for 4 nights. George, the guy who entices people in, very friendly. I feel sorry for him as he stands across the road shouting over but because of where the restaurant is located he doesn't get the natural flow of people. But definitely recommend eating here and go for the Beef Stifado....delicious!!

Sizzle & Grill - this is below the Italian Buon Amici's. Doesn't look much from outisde but food is gorgeous. Try the Meze plate.

Michaelo's - Taxi drive away (or quad bike in our case). Very reasonable price and delicious food!!

Lastly what made our holiday was the people we met whilst there. Barbie & Rose, Cheryl & Charlotte and Jeanie and Pete. Lovely people and would love to see them all again, hopefully next year at the same time!

Room Tip: For the view of the Sea top rooms 301 - 305
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Second time here last year 1st time!! What a great place again all the staff are great and work so hard!! We met up with some people from last year and made lots of new friends too!!
This hotel is so central you can just relax and have a great time!! Mum said god willing again we shall be back in June next year!! Hope to see you all there old and new friends too!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

First visit to Zante stayed at louros hotel spa we were completely happy with hotel every one was very helpful Rita/ go-go/bar staff/cleaners/also the lovely lady from the spa could not fault any thing or any one.These ladies and gents work very very hard and long hours gardeners and pool attendant. Met some lovely people to we would return again also quiet and peaceful the aeroplanes going over are so exciting to watch

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Back to Zante after 20 years stayed in this hotel may 2012 returned this year in may after enjoying every minute of our holiday returning again in September 2013. Found all staff very helpful especially Rita on reception,aria go-go Christina and the lady in the spa which I do apologise forgot her name . All rooms were kept well cleaned and linen and towels changed frequently.
Choice of food at breakfast was variable I found there was always something there for everyone .Pool area was always clean and tidy and in general was a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Louros Beach Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louros Beach Hotel Spa

Address: P.O. Box: 102, Kalamaki 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Louros Beach Hotel Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Louros Beach Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louros Beach Hotel Kalamaki
Hotel Louros Beach
Louros Beach Hotel Spa Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louros Beach Hotel Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.