We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEANS at Crystal Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Crystal Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Crystal Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Yipsolithos, Kalamaki 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Kalamaki
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“THE BEANS at Crystal Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed at this hotel about 8 times ,,, never had a complaint,, clean , friendly, peaceful, fab beach and pool . The whole village is a feelgood safe place, the most amazing island as a whole package you cant go wrong . All 3 of my girls have grown up and had the bulk of their holidays here at this hotel , we have been to dom rep, portugal, tenerife, egypt, halkidiki ,crete and france nothing comes close to this hotel and the island..We are all booked for July this year and friends that came with us 7 years ago are coming back too xx

Room Tip: The rooms that face into the closed garden seem in my opinion warmer at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConstantineZante, Owner at Crystal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Ah... THE BEANS!
Always a pleasure having you guys around, you are practically part of the family by now!
Thank you for your kinds words, im sure i'll see you soon!

-Constantine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    22
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
21
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We only stayed one night here due to a delay at the airport. We had seen the hotel whilst on the beach in Kalamaki.

The room was average size with 2 single beds pushed together, the bathroom was typically Greek style wet room, with shower with small tray & curtain, toilet and basin.
The room had an open wardrobe and a large chest of drawers and dressing table.

We had air con in the room, but disappointingly no fridge (although there was an empty space for one) – on looking at the website I see that one is available, at extra cost!! The majority of the guests at the time we stayed seemed to be German, and we got the impression it was a packaged holiday hotel.

The location is faultless, and we had amazing views over the pool, beach & sea. The hotel frontage is fairly impressive with a fountain and sweeping double steps up to reception.

Breakfast was a disappointing affair. It was a buffet breakfast including scrambled egg, bacon & sausages, however the scrambled egg was inedible and the sausage had ran out and were very slow in being replenished. There were biscuits and cakes and a toast machine and some cheese and cold meats. All the food looked really unappetising and there was a real “chaotic scrum” to get the food. If we had stayed more than one night, my husband and I definitely agreed we would not repeat the breakfast experience again at this hotel.

There are a couple of restaurants very nearby offering breakfasts including, English, Scottish & continental for a very reasonable 4.50 euros.

When we got up in the morning, although it was only 8.45 am a few of the sunbeds by the pool already had towels on them, I imagine in the peak of summer you would have to be up very early to ensure you got a sun bed by the pool!

We enjoyed the beach bar for an evening drink, we paid 3 euros each for a large glass of chilled wine overlooking the beach.

All in all I wouldn’t stay at this hotel again unless it was for a very short stay and just wanted to make use of the beach. There are bars and restaurants nearby so everything you would need for a few days away is on your doorstep.

Room Tip: Great view of pool and sea, although balconies can be hot. If you want a cooler balcony go for fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConstantineZante, Owner at Crystal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We deeply apologize if you were not satisfied about some aspects of the hotel at the time of your visit, we were/are currently going under renovation taking the hotel from 2,5 stars (at the time of your visit) to 3+ stars and constantly trying to improve every aspect. You input is very valuable to us, Thank you.

Kind regards,

-Constantine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livadia, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

The area was good, the hotel was right next to the beach, and even though the pool was a little old, it served us right. Anything we needed was close.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Hi

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights ...the only friendly staff at the hotel are the cleaners and the blond lady on the reception ...
We went for a drink our first night around 1130pm and had a cocktail each ..approached the bar again at around midnight only to be told she would serve us but we would have to finish our drink either in our room or in the reception area (in our room it stated the bar closes at 1am ) but the rude girl behind the bar said that is wrong so if you venture out and think you may have a night cap make sure you take no notice of the times printed in your room...I also asked the girl behind the bar if there was entertainment or a BBQ this week she said I don't know I don't book it !!!!! a simple I will find out ...hence there was no entertainment or BBQ although it states a BBQ once a week...something else wrong on the letter printed in the room
The view was lovely but we could not fit two of us comfortably on the balcony and I am a size 12 and my husband is not overweight ..
When we passed staff or holiday makers in the hotel they never smiled said good morning or anything ..as I said it was only the cleaner or the nice blond lady that spoke or smiled ...

I was really disappointed this was my 12th visit to Zante and I had always wanted to stay at this hotel and did not mind paying the100 EUROS a night but it was NOT worth that ..I would never stay here again ..you can get accommodation for half the price with much friendlier staff ..
Just glad all the other places we visited made our holiday fun ...Stanis ...Oceanic Chill Out Bar it was nice to meet Kev and also nice to see Lambrose again ...and Tabiyia great staff a good cocktails

Annie

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConstantineZante, Owner at Crystal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We are sorry you feel this way. Both bar's close at 12:00am at the restaurant and 1am at the poolbar due to the fact that the hotel is located in the heart the National Marine Park of Zakynthos, home of the protected nesting grounds of the endangered Caretta-Caretta turtle and complies with an environmental study minimizing light and noise after midnight.
Barbecue's are twice a week for many year's now and are accompanied by live Zakynthian music, we apologize for the rudeness of our employee and assure you that it was inaccurate and is no longer working for us.
The room balcony's are typical Greek Veranda's and are actually bigger than the guidelines of a typical 2/3 star hotel such as ours, You can judge that from the photos, but we do apologize.
The hotel operates since 1978 and is one of the most busy hotel's in Zakynthos fully booked from May till end of October, we had exceptional critics and alot of returning guest's over the years and we apologize that you were not one of them.

With respect and my deepest apologies,
-Constantine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

we stayed in the crystal beach for a fortnight at the start of june. The hotel has a brilliant location just above the beach. you can leave all your stuff at the pool and go down to the beach for a swim - no paying for sunbeds). the rooms ARE small but bearable. the bathrooms/reception/restaurtant/bar are spotlessly clean. the maid service is excellent. the location is great, closer to the old town than the newer part so no traffic screaming past the hotel. probably a 10 min stroll to the main street.

couple of things that we didn;t like: €10 per day for air conditioning is a bit ott when the temperature is in the high 30s, however merlis car hire also hires out fans much cheaper. the food is average to say the least. the breakfast was bland and tasteless. we ate in the hotel two evenings and weren't impressed. the bar is also a fairly sombre affair. the pool bar does good food at good prices burgers/omlettes were very tasty.

overall i would recommend this hotel, and if i went back to kalamaki i would stay here again.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

We have stayed in this hotel for two weeks. Location is great, on the beach. Ladies in reception and from room service were really nice and helpful. Rooms were nice and clean. Beach is lovely there. This is really nice place to stay and everything was ok except FOOD! We had breakfasts only and it was a disaster! Every day we had scrumbled eggs, dried and cold. No choice of any meat, sausages, cheese or vegetables. After 3 days we couldn't eat that anymore... We have decided to go for breakfasts to the English restaurant (Yoyo's) near by. And it was the best decision we could make. For 5.50 euo pp we had a huge full english breakfast, really tasty and good. In the hotel a breakfast rate is 6.00 euro, but looks like they use maybe 2euro pp seeing what you get. Looks like they try to save on food as much they can. Anyway, we had a great holidays!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

a very lovely hotel right on the beach. beautiful view from our room and clean pool. alittle expensive, but worth it. the room needs alittle work, its alittle old. nice and peaceful hotel.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Beach Hotel

Address: Yipsolithos, Kalamaki 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamaki
#19 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Crystal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crystal Beach
Crystal Beach Kalamaki
Crystal Beach Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.