We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for children- basic for adults” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caretta Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalamaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caretta Beach Hotel
Save
You added Caretta Beach Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 29500, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Kalamaki
Dane End
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for children- basic for adults”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at the Caretta from the 9th June for 1 week with my huband and 3 children ages 5,2 and 1 years. Do not do the coach transfers you can get a taxi from the airport for 13 euros each way and only 10 minute drive..We had a nice welcome and were taken to our room by a member of the entertainments team. We were block D room 101 facing on to block B I think, and reception to our right. Really close to everything. The room was basic and clean on arrival you walked staright in with bathroom on left, sink and a few cupboards and microwave on right. The sofa bed was made up to be 2 x single beds for my boys and opposite was a wooden cot for my little girl, there were sliding doors on to a room with double bed in then door to a good sized balcony. Although the room was small I didn't expect it to be any different as we are a family of 5 in a 1 bedroom apartment and it was adequate for our needs.
The maids clean daily except for Tuesdays and sadly my towels were only changed twice during our stay depsite me actually putting them all in the bath one day only to return and find them all hung out on the balcony to dry, The bed sheets were also only changed twice,I could have gone to complain but did not want to eat in to valuable holiday time with my children.
The waterpark is fantastic for children really shallow lots of slides and easy to get a sunbed if you go early when it opens which is 10:30 and people queue from 10:00 - 10:15 to get best beds right by the pool sides. The wave pool was also good for the kids as had a gradual incline and my little ones liked sitting and playing with their buckets and spades. The waterpark shuts daily at 5pm.
The other pools are ok, best one is by the kids club, the main one was ok but quite busy and we found lots of children were allowed to go in to the shallow pools without nappies on which seemed a tad un hygenic to me.
The food was ok as you would expect from AI really, basic and edibile some nights better then others. Dont go to the restaurant at 7pm as it is very chaotic and a mad dash for high-chairs which are few and far between. Breakfast seemed to be more civilised at about 8am rather then 9:30am.
Evening entertainment consisted of the kids disco for 1 hour which my little one liked after that was normally bingo and then we saw a couple of singers, a karaoke night and a greek night and entertainment finshed at 11pm along with AI drinks after this you need to pay which was not too expensive realy.
There is a fun park attached to the hotel which you have to pay for with 5 giant bouncy castles which were 3 euros per child unlimited goes, 3d cinema 2 euros per child, go karts and lots of pay as you go rides, I think you can walk right down to the end, street entrance side and get a wristband for 10 Euros and then can go on everything.
The Thomas Cook kids club was great my little one could not get enough of it and we paid the extra for him to go to 2 parties 7 - 10pm and one 4-6pm 20 euros. This meant that we could eat out one night at the Pandesia which was lovely and they wee so friendly and good with the little ones, reasonablly priced 2 course meal with wine and beer was 41 Euros total.
There is a supermarket on site open until 00:30 which is handy and not too badly priced for inflatables for the pool approx 5 - 10 euros depending on what you choose, whole milk 2.60 euros which we got quite often as my little one has a bottle for bed.
All in all our kids loved the holiday, it is not what I would normally expect from a 4* hotel in terms of room and entertainment but the kids were happy so that is ulimately the most important thing for me. I would not rule out returning as I know now what to expect, my boys already want to go back!

Room Tip: Block D was close to everything and not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Caretta Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    258
    108
    40
    30
See reviews for
584
78
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here (2 adults, 2 kids 8 & 5) last 2 wks in May. The hotel, accomodation blocks (we were in J) restaurant, pools, facilities (kids club) and water park are all pretty good. No complaints. Have done AI in various places and its certainly on a par with others. Thought we'd give this one a try. The only real problem is All Inclusives should NOT be in lovely greek towns like Kalamaki. Fortunately we have been to Kalamaki many times before and have experienced all the lovely restaurants, taverna's, pool bar's etc so we knew where to go for a change and a bit of local culture (e.g. Rainbow, Antonis & Daisy apartments, Cave Bar, Al Sandros Bar, Drunk Corner, Dias & Michaelos restaurants etc, to name but a few). Such a pity that AI's (by their nature) restrict people to staying at the hotel and missing out on so much elsewhere.
The evening entertainment ranged from average to decent, the drinks (like all AI's) were pretty weak (not like proper Mythos & spirits elsewhere), the waterpark was good but it's pretty cheap to use if not staying at Caretta Beach. Our kids were happy to use other pools (as above) after a few days anyway (mainly as they were a bit quieter). Next time we're gonna book somewhere like Daisy Apartments and maybe visit the waterpark the odd time. If you like the Greek way of life, eating really good restaurant food, drinking proper beer and experiencing good nights out (Antonis) stay elsewhere and visit the waterpark if you wish. All Inclusives are ideal if there's not much else around but so sad when they're so near lovely bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: A block away from the main reception will be a bit quieter. J block was fine, just 100 yds to recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Caretta Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your comment, i think the other hotels you mentioned are very nice hotels, ie Antonis, Daisy apartment and run by friends of mine, but here is a very different concept that the market has ask for, i am aware that in zante there is a lot of worry from local buisnes on all inclusive hotels, however the fact that the caretta is booked out 1 year in advance and the most desired hotel in zante and Thomas cooks largest selling property in Greece means the customer is asking for what we provide, and thats why Thomas cook and we provide it, i wish you and all guests to book the holiday that suits you and we hope to see you all in zante soon :) Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansager, Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I actually started off with a 3 star review but ended with a 4. It's all about adjusting expectations and reality. I stayed here as an all inclusive guest with my wife and 4 children in June 2013.
We stayed in block D, but you shouldn’t worry about blocks. All of them seems fine and you’re close to everything no matter where you stay. Staff is friendly and helpful and most speak very good English.
Rooms are fine and up to date and most importantly clean. The area is well maintained, and there’s several pools for all ages. There’s a nice waterpark at the hotels.
In the first few days I was disappointed about the food, but I realized that my expectations were not realistic. You’re not gonna have romantic dinners here with only local greek food. The food is fine and well prepared, but you’ll have Mexican nights, Italian nights and so on. There’s always free ice cream, juice, sodas, fries, toasts, beer and more, and I must admit – the kids loved it. And that’s really why we are here right?
Why not a 5 star?
I did experience a couple of days, where the pools were not clean. The water in one was “foggy” and I found cups and tissues from the previous day in another.
Many areas have tiles that get very slippery when wet, and that’s a problem considering you’re in a pool area.
The restaurant is very loud. At times it’s impossible to speak with the person next to you. Music and a lot of people. I think this is the biggest problem for this hotel. It would be a good idea to expand to some outside seating to take the pressure off inside and add something to lower the noise inside.
There is a problem with dogs and roosters that makes noise – especially in the morning. Pretty annoying at 5am.
You might say that these issues would justify a 3 star rating, but my kids were happy and in the end that’s what matters to me. They don’t care about loud restaurants and wet tiles anyway and my review has to reflect the average opinion of the entire family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Caretta Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Really cant understand all the bad reviews on this site for this hotel, some people need to come back down to earth, myself my fiancee my mum and my autistic son 11yrs and my daughter 9 yrs stayed in block C rooms 101 and 102, we had requested a pool view room but didnt get it due to the fact we only booked 16 days before we went and this hotel is understandably popular, but block C was great, nice and quiet but still close to everything, the room was very clean and fine for the fact you only sleep in it and sit on the balcony, none of our valuables dissapeared as happens on a lot of holidays, once in 10 days we didnt get clean towels, i let reception know and a member of staff had them brought to us within 10 minutes, within 2 hrs of arriving my fiancee hit the ouzo and then the bottom of the pool breaking his hand and blacking his eye, the staff and thomas cook rep Emma were brilliant and got him straight to the medical centre and then hospital, manager Thomas was great keeping me up to date and stress free, the layout of the complex was excellent, everything is nearby, the waterpark is onsite and is brilliant, the pools are lovely and clean and not too deep, so i was at ease with the children doing there own thing, my son has bad problems with eating, mixing with others etc but he was brilliant on this holiday, he was able to eat on his own (doesnt like eating next to people) and the 2 days that we have been back we have had lots of tears as he his missing his first love Jasmine from the team star entertainment, FOOD, i have travelled usually twice a year mainly all inclusive and this was the best, the food was hot, very varied, very tasty and the restaurant staff were very helpful, a few people on this site have moaned about the kids food ??? can your children not eat varied food instead of just the kids food section ??? there were plenty of tables the restaurant manager (the man in the tin foil suit lol) brought me a takaway box so i could take food to the hospital for my partner SNACKS, pizza chips toasties and rolls everyday and hotdogs, burgers nuggets etc varying every day, my only 2 very small changes i would make are mixers on tap so they are fizzy and cold like the beer and snacks after restaurant shuts at 9 as the kids wear themselves out and get hungry after entertainment but we got them a toastie before 7 and warmed it up in the microwave back at the room, ENTERTAINMENT, you really couldnt fault the team, kids disco started at 8 for an hour which they loved, my son clung onto Jasmine 24/7 but she was brilliant and made his holiday by dancing with him every night, then when the adult entertainment comes on they are fine with the odd child dancing along on stage without getting in the way, there are about 4 bouncy castles which you pay 2 euros for which keeps the kids happy without breaking the bank basically its brilliant for the kids and the adults, KIDSCLUB, 6 hrs a day free the club was open while we there, my 2 only went a few times but loved it and it is brilliant for the younger ones, dont miss the chocolate party, 10 euros each from 7-11pm and they really enjoyed themselves, POOLS, loads to choose from and they are really clean, we mainly went to the pool opposite reception in J block near the end of the private road as it was only us there but that was our little secret, DONT get caught out paying airport transfers, the five of us, and all our cases were crammed into a taxi for 13 euros each way rather than £120, taxis are nice and cheap for getting around, the hotel run a free minibus to the local beach which isnt the best but 8 euros away in a taxi is laganas beach which is lovely, if youve got a family and you want a brilliant holiday then this is the place to go and if you want that touch of luxury take advantage of the serenity health spa, me and mum paid 35 euros each for an hour of pampering, facemask, hotstone massage and deffinately the best massage iv ever had they are great, we preferred caretta beach hotel to disneyworld florida 2 yrs ago and thats saying something, finally a massive hello to all the entertainment team, you made my 2 childrens holiday magical, my son wanted Jasmine to let him live with her, the kids club team were brilliant, a massive hi to George and Craig from the main bar they were really friendly and helpful and always had a smile and Thomas the manager you were great and have a great bunch of staff and run a great place (dont forget im after room J101 next year lol, thanks everyone cant wait to get back and hopefully you will all be still there next year xxx

Room Tip: c block was lovely and quiet but still very close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Caretta Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, dont worry were not gonna forget you lol was good to see your man on the mend, and look forword to see you all back, best wishes, all the staff. xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just got back from this hotel was allot to do for kids but the food choice for kids was terrible and a mean terrible, most bar staff miserble its there job nobody makes them work there, the manager needs to read this and take on board, people pay allot of money they should be treat well and service with a smile, the night time entertainment was good for kids cant fault that, cleaning was poor also change beds and not wash floor whats that all about?? Cant fault water park was great but FOOD FOR KIDS AND CLEANING TERRIBLE....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

just returned from a great holiday at caretta beach we travelled with a 10yr and 13yr old that loved it, the food is great the pools are fantastic and not very big that you have to keep worrying where they are and that your going to loose them, we never had a problem with getting a lounger all the pools are very clean and fun ,there are water balls and trampolines and bouncy castles which you do have to pay for 2 euros each and the staff were very nice nico and craig and tom were very nice people, one thing to consider when booking is the transfer price with your travel agent we got a taxi when we arrived at 13 euros each way which is only 10mins from the airport (if you could walk across the runway you could walk it) don't let this put you off being so near has you take no notice of the planes sometimes it is nice to watch them also if you get a taxi you can get to the airport on departure before the coach comes so you don't have to wait it is a small airport ,but we all loved it, miss it loads,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Caretta Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review we would love to see you again. xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just returned for a 7 night holiday to Caretta Beach Hotel, and don't really know where to start. I think it really depends on what you would expect from a four star hotel. Can honestly say I do not understand how this hotel has four stars. The rooms are basic and sideboards and sinks clean, when you first arrive. We did have our beds made everyday but not 0once in the week did they sweep or clean he floors, bathroom or kitchen! they are smelly and foosty. The food is ok but basic and hardly any choice for the children, unless your children want to live off pizza, chips or hot dogs. The entertainment was appalling, a absolutely rubish childrens disco run by chidren entertainers who just haven't got a clue what children want, then followed by 1 hour of bingo, I mean who plays bingo these days its like something from the 1970's. The whole hotel is run like Butlins and most people that were in the hotel with their children, had no idea where their kids where, probably spitting in the swimming pool or jumping on people trying to have a nice swim! We took our 3 year old daughter and the water in the pools was freezing and dirty and no other facility for her to play other than the tiny park which in the evenings is full of yet again unsupervised children, there only being two swings, one slide and a wooden train! Around the back of the hotel is a "pay for it" fair, which changed its prices twice in the week we were there, seemed to be run by travellers too which I was not at all comfortable with. Anybody can walk on and off the hotel and how there are not more instances of theft etc I do not know. The TV gets turned off at 12 every night, you get thrown out of the waterpark at 5pm, no drinks between 10.30 and 11.00 am each day, just so many odd and annoying parts of the holiday cannot list them all. Think the real sum up of this holiday is, there is nothing really really bad but nothing really really good either, we will not be returning to the Caretta beach. On the plus side Zante itself and the people are absolutely gorgeous and must say a special thank you to the staff at the pandesia restaurant just up the road from the hotel, we went their twice despite us being all inclusive just to get a real taste of Zante, the food and staff are fantastic, again thank you to them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Caretta Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
im sorry you didnt have a nice time, as the staff work very hard for the guests, i am suprised tho as all other reviews this year are excellent, iv passed your review to entertainment that are very sorry you didnt have fun, please note to all future guests the hotel fun park is not run by travelers, the hotel fun park is run from the owners son and all are from Zante, we have had no thefts at caretta beach and is very safe, many people love bingo and is 4 nights a week for only 1 hour with Great cash prizes and many guest are asking for more, but we try to keep a balance, i would agree with the guest pandesia is very nice, i wish you the best in finding a hotel that suits you and thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caretta Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caretta Beach Hotel

Address: Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 29500, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kalamaki
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamaki
#12 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Hotel Class:4 star — Caretta Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caretta Beach is a modern hotel situated in Kalamaki on the south coast of the most beautiful island in the Ionian Sea, Zakynthos. The hotel is in a private, picturesque area by the main road of Kalamaki, only 4km from the capital city Zakynthos Town and 2km from the International airport of the island. The soft sandy beach is only a 5 minute walk away and is the home of the famous loggerhead turtles, Caretta-Caretta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caretta Beach Kalamaki
Hotel Caretta Beach
Caretta Beach Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caretta Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.