We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel - beautiful island x” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bitzaro Grande Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bitzaro Grande Hotel to your Saves list
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   CL Zante, Kalamaki 29100 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Kalamaki
stafford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel - beautiful island x”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Just got home after a week at bitzaro grande, after reading the reviews we had high expectations and we were not disappointed! The hotel is in a good quite location but close enough to laganas for the night life in a quick taxi! Yes the aeroplanes come close by but it never bothered anyone and they don't fly at night! The food was amazing - something different every night and I'm a fussy eater but always something Delicious! The pool is beautiful and plenty of sun beds for everyone! The staff are very friendly but don't pressurise you to take part in activities! The rooms are good -furniture abit dated but very clean and neutral colours! The beach is sandy and only a 5 min walk away. We did the shipwreck tour which was good through Thomas cook although I think the trips booked with smaller groups are better - and the sea can get choppy on west side of the island! Turtle island tour was also good but next time we will hire a speedboat and do our own tour! Overall we had a brilliant holiday and will be returning to bitzaro! They definitely recognise their regular holiday makers but are very welcoming to new comers! Roll on 2015 summer holiday!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    183
    62
    17
    12
See reviews for
267
425
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

we have just enjoyed another wonderful holiday at the bitzaro. It's our first time this year but we will be going back in august. We couldn't manage without our 2 holidays each year at this hotel.
From the moment we arrive the staff and the family make us so welcome. The rooms are super clean and comfortable. The food in the restaurant is of a very high standard - plenty of variety to suit all tastes.The entertainment staff are friendly and provide lots of daytime games and evening fun. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a holiday on this beautiful island, at this lovely hotel in kalamaki to anyone.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be of the same standard with nice views of the pools and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here from the 17th June to 1st July. Before we arrived we was a little apprehensive about going to a smaller hotel than we are used to this one was recommended to us by some friends. We shoudn't of worried we were treated with friendly nice and kindess as soon as we walked through the doors..we arrived after 845pm check in was quick and we was told straight away dinner would finish at 930 so we should just leave our bags and go and get something to eat which was very welcomed after a long day travelling.
The food was fantastic in our oppinion something different for dinner every night for the 2 weeks we was there,turkey,pork beef, chicken, you name it they gave it..breakfast was eggs,bacon etc but also pastries,celeal,fruit and cheese etc.
Our rooms was cleaned every day by a friendly lady. The lady who sees you into the dining room at night Karen couldn't be anymore friendly. The entertainment team Thomas,Laura and Ollie make it a great holiday...my husband took part in everything and enjoyed it very much...bingo was played everynight and i was lucky enough to win 150 euro full house on my very first time playing bingo..One little word of warning you do get bitten by mosquitos at night sitting outside so go prepared...we took two trips whilst there from a tour operator on the strip.. one to shipwreck and blue caves and one to Kefalonia slightly cheaper than your tour operator but our one to Kefalonia was spoilt by delays with our coach,since this is a long trip think carefully about who you go with but Kefalonia was beautiful and worth the long day to do it..We can see why people go back here time and time again you are made to feel like family!!! ....Well done BITZARO GRANDE our holiday was fantastic!!!!!

Room Tip: We had 238 which looked over the pool and was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Recently returned from our second stay at this hotel,I can only endorse all the good reviews and say that we can not fault anything ,staff,food,location all excellent hope to go back again in the near future,a great hotel on a beautiful island.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

As a group of three 18 year old girls who had never been on a girls holiday before we were very sceptical about what our hotel would be like. We had come to Zante for a party holiday but did not want the club 18-30's experience and instead wanted to relax in the day time while still being able to enjoy the busy night life that Laganas had to offer. We would highly reccomend this hotel to young girls who have never been on holiday by themselves before as the bitzaro grande is perfectly catered for just that as well as family and couples holidays.

The staff were amazing. They could not help us enough giving us a very warm welcome as soon as we walked through the door and a very heartfelt goodbye as we boarded our coach to leave for the airport. There were 24 hr receptionist staff all of which knew us on a first name basis and kept our room keys safe so as we wouldn't have them lost or stolen on the strip. Takis and Pavlos (reception) were very friendly and helpful with anything we needed, be that taxi's, wifi, recomendations anything at all was never a problem. As we are quite young they went out of their way to make sure our stay was pleasant even when we walking in from a late night on the strip they constantly looked out for us. it was very comforting and of course extremely helpful. The dining staff were also very helpful informing us what certain dishes were giving us recommendations and generally being very friendly. Ionut and Theodore (the grill man) always spoke to us, asked how we were and helped us with anything we needed. Then there was the bar staff Nicky, Christian and Costas who we became good friends with needless to say over the week. it was genuinely upsetting when we left Nicky who gave us a big hug before we went, she learnt all of our names and was very understanding when we were a little hungover and in need of a frappe and a toastie. Costas too was so lovely towards all three of us always having a joke and smiling asking us about our nights out in Laganas, plus he poured some pretty heavy measures of vodka lemonades which is never a bad thing!

the hotel rooms felt very secure, there was a regular maid service and they were very well equipped and clean. It was my friends 18th birthday party a few days before we arrived, and when we got into the room we found a card and a plate of cupcakes waiting for us which was really sweet of them. there was plenty of room to put all of our clothes and bits and pieces (which we had a lot of) and there was a safe to put all of our valuables in at the cost of just 15 euros per week.

The all inclusive was brilliant! is you are going on a girls holiday i strongly recommend going all inclusive because if we hadn't we would either have run out of cash or not eaten. there was food whenever we wanted which was so convenient considering some days we didn't get up till early afternoon. The variety was great there was so much to choose from and it was different every night. in the say if we didn't want a full meal, burgers, toasties and the fresh Greek salad i have ever had was all available at the bar along with a variety of drinks including lots of yummy cocktails. there was also help yourself ice cream whenever you wanted it and an selection of cakes and biscuits at the pool bar too. every evening along with the main dishes there was an option that was fresh from the grill and our favourite was the fresh cooked pasta which they cook in front of you with your choice of topping and sauces etc. plus a similar option at breakfast but rather with crepes/pancakes and waffles.

There was always entertainment and things to do so we were never bored. Vlad, Ollie and Laura always got us involved in the different events they had on which introduced us to the other guests and were actually a lot of fun. Things such as water polo and killer pool were always a winner but there were other things to do such as Go Karting, hockey, tennis, darts, brain teasers and competitions. We would also see some of them outside of the hotel along the strip too and they would never hesitate to chat to us and be really friendly so it was nice having that kind of relationship with the staff.

What was perfect for us was that our hotel was a 5 minute taxi ride at just seven euros from the main strip. being young girls we wanted to go out every night and with it being fairly close and reasonably priced to get to we could do that. We aren't 24/7 party people so when we had had enough we could leave the strip and come back to the calmness of our lovely and relaxed hotel where we could recover from the night before.

We had an absolutely excellent stay and if we were to return to Zante for any kind of holiday be that a family.girls or couples holiday i would always choose the Bitzaro grande. Friendly, beautiful, clean and relaxing are just some ways to describe the hotel and its certain that we would not hesitate to return. we didn't want to leave at all! Beautiful hotel, amazing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have recently returned from our 8th visit at this wonderful hotel, where we now feel more like family than friends.

ROOMS: The rooms are cleaned daily by the maids, the majority of them have pool views. In most rooms there is a double and a single bed, some rooms double only. There are also larger family room with 2 bedrooms. There is a bath and a shower en suite. There is a fridge, kettle and cups, TV, hair drier and balcony, plenty of storage space. There is air conditioning and a safety deposit box. The rooms are on 3 floors, we have stayed in 8 different rooms and have never had any issues.

FOOD: Is amaaaazing!! BREAKFAST comprises of fully cooked, continental, cold meats and cheeses, toast, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, even porridge! There is a hot and cold drink machine. Breakfast is served until 10am. LUNCH there is a buffet in the restaurant of hot foods and salads, this is served until around 2pm. DINNER is a good selection of hot food and salads, with a great selection of desserts including cheeses. If you're hungry through the day the pool bar is open from 10am till 6pm and serves a selection of sandwiches, salads, toasties, and a small hot and cold buffet at peak lunchtime. I've never had a bad meal in this hotel, the quality is superb.

ENTERTAINMENT: There is a team headed by Thomas, the most lovely man. They work hard through the day organising activities for the guest to join in, including water aerobics, French boules, quizzes and silly games. The staff will come around the pool and ask if you'd like to join in, there is NO PRESSURE to do so, however we find it good fun and have met and made friends with many people during these activities. There is a different theme of entertainment every night including the Bitzaro show, karaoke and quiz nights.

DRINK: The pool bar is open from 10am to 6pm and serves a variety of hot and cold beverages, the main bar in the lobby is open from 7pm till midnight. There is an excellent choice of drinks including cocktails. There is only one member of staff on each bar, so there is sometimes a little wait, but never too long, these guys work so hard.

THE POOL: Is immaculately clean, as are the surrounding gardens, there are more than enough loungers and parasols to go around, although I'm still saddened to say there are those who still feel the need to put towels out, seriously, it's not necessary!! There is no lifeguard around the pool, however the deep and shallow areas are clearly marked out. There is a separate child's pool and a Jacuzzi. There is also a children's play area and tennis court.

THE STAFF: They have got to be the most friendly, helpful bunch of people you will ever meet, with the thousands of guests they must get through their doors every year they still remember us by name! They can't do enough to help you, and they work so hard, from reception, to restaurant staff, the maids, the gardener, bar staff and the management, I can't find a negative thing to say about any of them.

LOCATION: The hotel is not far off the end of the runway, so you do get planes coming in and out, we find it fascinating to watch, and they're literally gone in about 20 seconds, so they don't bother you. We generally get a taxi from the airport as it takes only a few minutes, this costs 13 euros. There is a 'supermarket' around 200 metres away and the main street is minutes away with a good selection of shops, bars and restaurants (although I doubt you'd eat out much!) We do enjoy visiting the Maharaja Indian/Chinese restaurant. The beach is around a 10 minute stroll away, we tend not to go as I personally can't stand sand (!), but it is very clean.

OTHER STUFF: There is a gym and children's play room, neither of which we have used so I'm unable to comment on them. The entertainment finishes at 11pm and the lobby bar at midnight, we have NEVER had an issue with noise, even when we stayed in a room directly above the lobby bar. The island is beautiful, we take at least one day to get out and about to have a look around, either by car or on quad bikes, the roads are actually remarkably quiet, and the scenery is stunning.

I can not recommend this hotel highly enough, if you have found my review helpful please do indicate this, and if you have any questions about anything I may have missed out then please do message me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stayed here for 3 days due to an emergency with my mother who was rushed to hospital and the staff were so caring and helpful with both my father and I. Nothing was too much trouble and it was very such a breath of fresh air to receive this service.
The food and service was outstanding with such a wide range of options through out the day.
Entertainment was good and created a great atmosphere by the pool bar.
Rooms were also spacious and cleaned daily which was good.

THANK YOU AGAIN FOR YOU HELP AND LOVE

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bitzaro Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitzaro Grande Hotel

Address: CL Zante, Kalamaki 29100 , Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#5 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bitzaro Grande Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Bitzaro Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bitzaro Grande
Bitzaro Grande Kalamaki
Bitzaro Grande Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bitzaro Grande Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.