We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bitzaro Grande Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bitzaro Grande Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   CL Zante, Kalamaki 29100 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Kalamaki
Somerset
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

Just got back from a week at the Bitzaro Grande where we went to celebrate our silver wedding. The staff were excellent in all areas and the food was superb with plenty of choice.
The entertainment team under the leadership of Thomas are brillant and there is no pressure to join in. The pool and gardens are kept very tidy and the rooms and public areas are spotless.
Kalamaki the town is only a few minutes from the hotel and is very spread out and to be honest a bit run down but after seeing Laganas I am glad we choose Kalamaki.
The beach in Kalamaki is only about 10 min walk from the hotel and is clean and good for swimming.
Yes you do get the odd plane but after the first day you get use to it and there are no night flights.
We will be going back to the Bitzaro in the very near future.

  • Liked — The staff and the food
  • Disliked — Location (planes) only a small moan
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    173
    61
    15
    12
See reviews for
259
401
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

Returned last week from a one week stay in the Bitzaro Grande. I only have good things to say about this hotel. It was spotlessly clean, the rooms were spacious, beds comfy and the food was fantastic. There was so much choice, it would be really difficult for someone to go there and not find something to suit their palate!

We were all inclusive, and there were no huge queues at the bar for drinks. In fact, this hotel had everything we were looking for. Only down side was Kalamaki itself, we were not too impressed with the town.

One small criticism - we had to carry our own cases to our rooms, which meant taking them up two flights of stairs. We are getting on a bit, but luckily they weren't too heavy so we managed. However, the hotel should consider employing someone to do this.

Would recommend the hotel to everyone!

  • Liked — It was very spacious
  • Disliked — There were no easy chairs in the sitting area, only two beds
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

We stayed at the Bitzaro Grande for 1 week, commencing 19th Sept 08. We booked after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and hoped it would live up to our expectations. It did that and more. The hotel and the rooms were spotless. The staff were more than helpful to do anything you asked of them. On arrival we put our luggage in our room and went to the pool bar for a snack. It was extremely busy and Nickey (the only person who works behind this bar during the day) was rushed off her feet, serving drinks, taking food orders and calling people when their food was ready. There was a mix up with our food and we waited for over an hour but once I asked her about it she chouldn't apologise enough. Every time we ordered food from her after that she made sure she brought it to our table promptly. This girl is a diamond. She works so hard on her own. Thomas and the animation team were fab. Activities in the day were there should you want them and there were 2 games of bingo in the evening followed by games and quizzes. As some else has said the bingo was up to 10 euro a game which did work out expensive but the prize money was fab if you won, approx 250 euro. We had our 13 year old son with us and there were no other children of his age there but Thomas and the guys and Nickey made sure he had fun and something to eat and drink when he wanted it. The food in the resturant was good, what you would expect from a greek hotel, plentyful and lots of variation. We did eat out at the Olive Tree as some people on here had recommended it and it was really nice. My only gripe was that they put a basket of bread on your table when you go in and then charge you for it!!! 1 euro per person for two slices of french bread. This has always been complimentary when I have eaten in resturants abroad before. The area of Kalamaki was small but nice. The weather was very unpredicatable and it rained a few times whilst we were there. This didn't spoil the holiday at all as we were happy to be in the pleasant surroundings of the hotel. Will definately go back to this hotel and that is because of the people who work there. Well done guys.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Noisy people, why can't people take into consideration that others are in bed even if they aren't!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

We stayed here from 11th to 18th September 2008.
6 adults and one 18 month old.
The rooms were spotless- infact the whole hotel was spotless.
Staff friendly. Entertainment good fun.
Food fantastic. It was fantastic not having to think of what to cook my little one as there was so much choice with a separate kids buffet. Lots of healthy fresh fruits and salads and always at least 5 choices of main meal.
My whole family want to come back next year.
Cot and baby facilities really nice and always clean.
We thoroughly enjoyed it.
Its a struggle to think of a negative thing to say about this hotel but the only thing I noticed was that on the one night I went to bed early I could hear the entertainment from my room (stops at 12 though) so if you like going to bed early book a room further away from the bar area.
Brilliant - best hotel we've ever stayed in.

  • Liked — Great food, cleanliness and lovely staff (including entertainment team)
  • Disliked — Going home??!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

This hotel was well worth the money we paid to stay there!!!

The rooms were clean and spacious and most of them has a pool view.

The pool area was really nice and clean with plenty of sunbeds to go round. The sun beds were chained up until 8 o clock to stop people getting up too early to reseve them but people did still que from 7.30 to get theirs but there were still plenty left at 10.30!!!

The pool bar offered a variety of snacks and drinks from 10.30am but the service here was very slow and the 1 lady beheind the bar never seemed in a rush even if the que was 10 people long!!

The food in the main resteraunt was really really good!! I am a really fussy eater and was spoilt for choice every day!!

The evening entertainment was the usual it started with 2 games of bingo which was really expensive (10euros a strip - if you are there for 2 weeks it adds up to a lot of money).
The main eteretainment started about 10pm and was karaoke, quiz etc and went on until 11.30 ish.

The main strip of Kalamaki is about a 5 min walk away and it is about the same distance to the beach.

The hotel is in a great quiet location in lovely grounds. I would recomend this hotel for couples and families.

Just a few points - you can't hire beach towels so take your own, the air con is only on for a few hours a day and at night so the rooms can get a bit hot and there are no self service dispencers for drinks (except in the restaurant) so the ques for the bar can be long.

Overall this hotel is fantastic value for money.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — the service at the bar
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

We stayed at the Bitzaro Grande for 11 nights from the 31/08.

What a fantastic hotel. Please do not believe all the negative comments.

The hotel was spotless and the food was excellent and thats coming from a fussy eater. yeah ok some nights there wasn't a great selection but hey they can't please everyone all the time.

The staff were so helpful and friendly. The rooms were cleaned everyday and always to a good standard.

The air conditioning was available from 10pm to 7am then 2pm to 6pm. This was more than adequate, however if you paid an extra 7 euros a day you could have the air con on 24/7.

The entertainment was good day and night. Thomas and Luke always made sure they tried to get everyone involved, but left you alone if you wanted to chill.

Only one grumble, the soft drinks weren't great, but the supermarket on the main road had plently supplies and IRN BRU. Which pleased us SCOTS. The staff didn't bother if you used your own mixers in the drinks.

We had one of the best holidays ever and are booking up for next year.

Kalamaki is a good night out. Best Pub/Club was Down Under. Kalamaki caters for everyone.

Oh, the aircraft noise is nothing. You get used to it. You never hear a sound during the night.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Soft Drinks
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington tyne and wear
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

We travelled with a group of 11 altogether as we got to meet some people on the plane over from newcastle who we happen to know. When we first arrived we were impressed but because the rooms were'nt quite ready we had to wait about an hour so i decided to check the resturant out. We have been on all inclusive holidays now for the last 4 years and the food has always been a worry before hand,, well i wish i had done me homework as there was hardly any variety at all, in fact it was absolutley appauling.
We ate out a few times at the Olive Tree which was really nice but sometimes hard to get a table as it was always busy and also the Mermaid which done really good for money food.

The kids corner consisted of 4 hot plates containing chips, pasta, tomato bolognese sauce and nuggets or fish fingers.

The salad bar was nice there was more stuff on there than the main meal counter. And as for the main meal counter you could get soup, then a choice out of 8 hotplates so if you didnt like what was on then you were stuck.

Nikki was so hard working at the pool bar which done lovely toasties but after a few days of eating them you got bored.

That was the only fault with the entire holiday as everything else was great. Thomas was a right laugh and Jane was excellent.

All in all we had a great time and the weather was red hot the beach nearby was beautiful and the waters were clear.

  • Disliked — The lack of food
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bitzaro Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitzaro Grande Hotel

Address: CL Zante, Kalamaki 29100 , Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
#6 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bitzaro Grande Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Bitzaro Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bitzaro Grande
Bitzaro Grande Kalamaki
Bitzaro Grande Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bitzaro Grande Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.