We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good. Fantastic Holiday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bitzaro Grande Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bitzaro Grande Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bitzaro Grande Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   CL Zante, Kalamaki 29100 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 hotels in Kalamaki
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Good. Fantastic Holiday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Having just got back from Zante yesterday and staying at the Bitzaro Grande all we can say is having read the the reviews before we booked and having an open mind about them, the hotel and rooms are spotless, the pool and the hotel grounds are lovely and well maintained, all the staff that work so hard all day never failed to have a great big smile on there faces and always made you feel at home, not like other hotels we have stayed in were they seem to just do there job and not interested in there guests.
The area the hotel is in is quiet and a 10 min stroll to the beach and a 2 min walk to the main street of Kalamaki.
We booked all inclusive for the first time and was a bit worried about what the food would be like, and i can honestly say the food was excellent from breakfast lunch and dinner yes there were some things not to our taste but people have to remember they have to cater for different nationals, never had a problem not filling our plates ( compliments to the catering staff)
As for zante itself its beautiful if you get out and explore, we had booked a trip to do the caves and the shipwreck but got canceled the morning we were going, so we had a re think and hired a car for 2 days at very good rate from Traffic on the old Kalamaki road and it turned out to be the best thing we did, its really easy to get around the island but watch out for hired quad bikes some of the people that hire them can be scary to see. Went to the shipwreck via getting a little boat from porto vromi for half the price of the big company's its a must its stunning, then went on to see the whole island, another must is go to Keri beach and hire a private motorboat which you have to skipper yourself and get across to Marathonisi (turtle) island we had a giggle getting used to skippering it ourselves but once you do its realy easy, we went round the whole island and anchored on the beach its stunning.
All in all i can say its the best holiday we have had from the hotel to the island and the local people are very friendly well worth going. If you fancy trying local greek food try Zakanoh (zakinthi) on the main strip. Dont be put off by the smooth talking fella at the entrance once you get inside the food is lovely.
A big mention to John and Jan hope you had a great time with the jeep and Jan we hope you managed to get on that lilo with a bit of grace. Lol. You gave us a giggle and a top couple we will be in touch.
Dave & Jen.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    538
    147
    39
    14
    11
See reviews for
219
347
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Co Durham
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Just back from the Bitzaro Grande, having read the reviews before we left as most of us do nowadays, i went with an open mind. Upon arrival at 0600hrs the reception staff made us feel so at home, explaining where everything was, very freindly and a big smile on their face, not what you get at most hotels nearing the end of a night shift.
Rooms are exceptionally clean, there are no ironing facilities in the hotel, so take a travel iron if you can.
The pool area is kept very clean, with regards to putting your towel out early, there are enough sunbeds to go round for everyone.
The food is prepared to a very high standard, but you cant please everyone. Overall the food was varied to suit all tastes, allways replenished and the standard the same for every meal, a credit to the catering staff in the hotel.
Entertainment staff worked so hard the time we were there, Thomas, Judy & Joel varied the entertainment every night & each week which you dont find at many resorts, my wife & I met so many new friends taking part in what they did. Ive never laughed so much in a long time at the shows they did and also the ones we took part in.
This has been the best holiday we have ever been on, we met so many friendly people, to mention, Stu n Susie, Gary n Maria, Martin n Dawn n Family, Mick n Jackie, Craig n Cadie to mention a few.
WHY DO PEOPLE GO BACK YEAR AFTER YEAR?
Well we will be for definite.
An Absolutely brill holiday.
YAMAS
Thankyou to all

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We got back yesterday. We wanted to complain about something. We couldn't!! Probably the cleanest and friendliest hotel we've ever stopped in. The staff were great. Nothing ever too much trouble. Plenty of choice at meal times and we found the drinks fine.
We would have given 5 stars but the sunbeds could have been better and it would have been nice to have been provided with pool towels. But heh. These are just a couple of minor points. We had a wonderful holiday and our thanks go to all concerned at the Bitzaro Grande.

Dave and Di

PS The travel shop at the top of the road is about one third cheaper than Thomas Cook - for the same trips.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Stayed at Bitzaro grande last sept ,the hotel was great food was great,the staff couldnt do enough for you ,the reception staff was so helpfull best staff iv ever met from moment u booked in u felt special,rooms very very clean iv never been to hotel like this one ,never laughed so much in my life thomas is great making peoples holiday unforgetfull,well done thomas.the people that say this hotel is bad are the sort of people that nothing u do for them they will find something to winge about ,all i can say to them is u try booking a room for this year neally full up,what does that say.the staff at bitzaro grande hotel dont need to change a thing they have got it spot on 5star to all of u i say big Thank you for all your hard work.see u in september.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

we have found a perfect holiday for us this was our second time and we have already booked for next year met lots of nice people, the staff are fantastic nothing too much trouble for them, food excellent , we requested a particular room with Ghelly and she came up trumps thank you Ghelly. Friends came with us this year and they really enjoyed themselves all going well they will also be back next year. So a big thank you to you all Ghelly, Anastasia, Nicky, Tomas and all the rest of you well done in making our holiday such a happy one, We recommend this hotel to anyone.

Thanks once again see you next year

from Elizabeth Danny and Mary x

Room Tip: request by email
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed at the Biztaro Grande in June 2011 for a family holiday, having read reviews we were not sure what to expect from the hotel. But I can honestly say it exceeded my expectations in most areas, the only issues I had during my week was the lack of entertainment- bingo, bingo, bingo. The quizzes and games in the evening were obviously tailored to the British and after a while became repetitive. Although I can not praise the entertainment staff enough who made the most of the bad material and took the time to learn the names of most guests.

The staff were the best part of this holiday, having found the perfect balance between being attentive or invasive. The reception answered every question we had better than our rep, and helped us pick places to visit on the island. Our cleaner cleaned the room better than some 5* hotels I have stayed in and every area of the hotel was spotlessly clean.

The food could have been better and this let the hotel down, the cocktails were a extra charge, the pool bar had a very limited selection but the Greek cuisine served at dinner was great. Also, the pool bar did not cover the food and more than once we saw birds dancing around in the pizza. The fridge in the rooms was also empty, at all other all inclusive hotels I have always had bottles of water in the fridge.

What let our holiday down was the area around the hotel, if you are looking for a beach holiday this is not the place for you. It was a 10 min walk in the sun to beach, and the beach was mostly used by locals and was not a 'pretty' beach.

There was some areoplane noise, but the most we counted in a day was 4, and they stopped at 10pm every night.

I do not think we would return to Zante, as there is little to do on the island, but the hotel was more than suitable for our needs, I would not recommend it to families with small children though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Stayed with my boyfriend for 10 days at the Bitzaro. Was very nice hotel, very well presented and look beautiful. Rooms basic but clean and were nice/comfortable enough. The food was lovely, my bf vegetarian and me a fussy eater we never once went without filling our plates to the brim. The drinks was a bit of a let down, i like wine, there was no rose, and the red and white tasted terrible, even with lemonade in. I just felt the hotel was of great spec but didnt go all out on everything. Round the pool you couldnt get bottles of water, so the amount of times we spilt our drinks was ridiculous. This meant we also had to buy bottles from the shop for our room, not what i would expect from a 4* hotel. We only ever went down for breakfast at half9 so didnt get sunbeds until then, and we never struggled to get a sunbed so don't no what people below mean. The entertainment wasnt for us, if you enjoy bingo and that sort of entertainment, which alot of people seemed to, then you will enjoy yourselves but it wasnt for us and was a little disappointed. this again i feel the hotel didnt go all out on, they could get people in from the outside and put on a decent show even if it is only for 1 night. Staff at the hotel, especially receptionists and bar man (nikos??) was fantastic, always chatting away and very pleasant to talk to. Overall even though we personally wouldnt return i would recommend it. I would say it is more for older people and couples just looking to chill out. i wouldnt really recommend for families as throughout the day and night there seemed nothing to be aimed towards children, oh and the kiddies food corner was terrible.
Trips to recommend: we went to see Pat on kalamaki strip (No bull just good honest advice) she was great. we booked a quad bike with her which i thought was the best thing we ever did, for a very cheap price (£15 for 24hours not incl. petrol and insurance). we went round the whole island (very easy to get around) we went to the shipwreck view which would recommend to everybody, we also visited a few beach which was nice as it was at our own leisure. With pat we also booked the water park, which we enjoyed but it wasnt overly big and had certain slides open at certain times, worth a visit though. we also went on a boat trip, (cava something) was good but got a little boring at times, we went round the whole island which took the whole day (picked up at 8.30 dropped off at 6.30) and we only had 3 stop offs for a swim, which wasnt enough. throughout the whole time the rep spoke in about 10 different languages which got a bit difficult to listen after about 5 minutes. Probably recomment a shorter boat trip.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room, we did, was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bitzaro Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitzaro Grande Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Bitzaro Grande
Bitzaro Grande Kalamaki
Bitzaro Grande
Bitzaro Grande Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki
Address: CL Zante, Kalamaki 29100 , Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 hotels in Kalamaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bitzaro Grande Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Bitzaro Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bitzaro Grande Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.