We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costas Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalamaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costas Apartments
Kalamaki 29100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 32 hotels in Kalamaki
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fab holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Felt we had to write this review after reading Linda D's review from July. We arrived on 23rd July for 2 weeks stay. The Costas family and bar staff Claire and Gaz were great, very friendly and always smiling even though they seem to work 24/7. They do a great Greek night where you just pay for your meal. Amazing, dancing, plate smashing by Dennis and loads of fire dancing with everyone joining in.
They have land around them where they look after horses, deer, peacocks and chickens. They have two wonderfully behaved dogs Alice and Daisy.
The Thomas Cook rep Dani was amazing, she was really helpful and got to know everyone in the complex, Most people who visited frequently said how they had never had such a helpful rep who was there every day at least once. She new some of the best restaurants to go to and we enjoyed the trips we booked through her. We saw her out one evening she was really polite and was nothing like Linda D mentioned in her report which i felt was cruel and disrespectful!!
The only down points about Costas is the lack of air-conditioning, as it is 40'C + The fans help a little. The cooking facilities are non existent as the hobs are rusted and not workable. Apart from this the rooms were clean and roomy, the balcony we had was shared but big enough to sit out and not worry about neighbours.

Room Tip: We were in the large white balcony room on the 1st floor, excellent room but very hot on the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    21
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

back again for our tenth year booked again for our eleventh this family run resort is just the most relaxing holiday you could ever have mum adriana cooks all the meals sons tacis and denis run the bar alonng with claire and gaz watch out for his card tricks and dad costa plays the band for the greek nights happy hols

Room Tip: all rooms face the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Have recently returned from a 2 week stay at Costas apartments (6th-20th Sept) and I can't recommend this place enough. I last stayed at Costas 6 years ago and was hoping it was going to be as good as I remembered and I wasn't disappointed.

We stayed in Costas 1 and our apartment consisted of 1 double and 1 single bed, kitchen, bathroom and a shared balcony.
The room was clean, bright and spacious and was cleaned every other day along with our towels being changed etc.
We do not cook while we are away but there was a small hob if needed along with a couple of pots and pans.

We spent most of our days by the pool, there are two swimming pools 1 for children and 1 for adults. There are plenty of sun beds so we never had a problem getting a bed no matter what time we got there.

The pool bar is spacious and has plenty of seating, it is a nice area to sit during the day when you want to have a break from the sun and enjoy a nice cold Mythos.
We ate at the pool bar every day, we either had breakfast which was nice or we would have a lunch again which was nice (my favourite lunch was the tuna club sandwich).

In the evenings there is entertainment, they do a free pizza & chips night, bingo, karaoke and quiz night which were a laugh. Friday night is BBQ & Elvis night, the food was amazing and Elvis was brilliant.
My favourite night was Greek night, the whole family & staff take part in this. The food was absolutely delicious; after the meal the dancing starts and the fun begins.

Gaz works extremely hard, makes sure you are having a good time and is always around should you need him for any reason.
We only had one problem during our stay which was no fault of Costas (noisy neighbours). We spoke to Gaz before we headed out for our evening meal and by the time we returned Gaz & Dennis had come up with a solution and by 10am the following day the issue was resolved.

Finally we would just like to say a big thank you to everyone at Costas, you made our holiday even more enjoyable and we won't be leaving it another 6 years until we return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Been coming to Costa's for the best part of 12 years now, just returned from another fantastic two week holiday.
The Family that own Costa's are absolutely amazing and cant do enough for you, really lovely people too, the bar staff are awesome too, Claire is lovely and Gaz is a nutter, absolutely lovely and a right laugh!:)
there are two pools a kiddys one and a adults, free sunbeds and loads of stuff to do at night, i.e ( bingo, play your cards right, deal or no deal, karaoke) they have an Elvis tribute on that is a must see, also greek night is an awesome night.
All over amazing holiday and already booked to go back next year. :))

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just got back from a week here and wish we could stay for another. The apartments are situated a a few minutes walk from the restaurants and bars but further enough away that you can't hear them. They are spacious and clean and are a lot better than I thought we'd get for a cheap holiday in Greece. The ONLY negative about the rooms is that there is no air con, however, you can hire fans which make it a little more bearable. The pool is clean, there's plenty of sunbeds and the beach is only a short walk away. The only thing I would recommend is not paying extra for airport transport because they make a ten minute drive a forty minute one because of the stops and this will save money and time and there are plenty of taxis outside the airport. Overall, I definitely recommend coming here it's brilliant!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here 6th - 13th September. Had fantastic weather.Couple without kids.

Have stayed in Kalamaki before but first time to these apartments.
They are cheap clean, basic accommodation, with good location just a few minutes walk to the main strip and far enough from the airport noise.
Ideal for families as they have a nice pool area that caters for kids and they have on site evening entertainment.
Great if you just want a base to stay and not do any cooking. You do get a fridge, kettle and very basic cooking facilities. The rooms are clean, the beds not the most comfortable but are OK and the cleaner comes in every other day, changes the towels and sheets ect.
There is no shower curtain (this seems to be normal in Zante) and the bathroom floor can get slippy.
I'm glad to say we had no problems with noisy teenagers during our stay and managed to get a good evenings sleep.

As others have said before there is no air con available and if you didn’t get the fan it would be really uncomfortable to sleep in. Tempetures were around 29-34 degrees. The safety deposit box and fan was 30 Euros for 1 week (you get 5 Euros back at check out), I have to say was worth every penny. Would not have slept without it.

We didn’t really have much to do with the family that run this as we went out most of the time, but they did seem pleasant enough.
We had the early morning Friday flight, you do need to check out Thursday at lunch time. We just moved apartments for one night and paid 30 Euros.

Kalamaki is a very nice resort.There are some great Tavernas to eat in at reasonable prices and its not full of kids and nightclubs.
We travelled all over the island (the roads are in better condition than England) and the whole place feels very safe and the people are really lovely.

I dare say that this will not be the last time we will holiday in Zante and we had a great time again, I could stay at Costas again but having a choice I think I will look to stay somewhere that has the air con, just makes sleeping and getting ready in the evenings much more comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed for 2 weeks which included my birthday and my daughters. We had a really brilliant time including a lovely birthday desert. The food at costas is great quality and quantity and there are a great selection of other resturants within a short distance. The rooms were clean and bright and the maid service really good. The costas family made us feel very welcome and Gaz and Claire were helpful funny (Gaz!!!) and made the stay even more enjoyable. We did not need the rep Danielle for anything but she was around often and always seemed friendly and helpful. We have been to Costas before the last time 6 years ago and it was as lovely as we remembered and we will be back. Only small problem was the night time temp the fan helped but took some adjusting too by second week we were more used to it but the icing on the cake would be air conditioning!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Costas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costas Apartments

Address: Kalamaki 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
Also Known As:
Costas Apartments Kalamaki
Costas Apartments Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costas Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Costas Apartments to your Saves list