We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday at the Ionian Blue Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ionion Blue Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalamaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ionion Blue Hotel
Save
You added Ionion Blue Hotel to your Saves list
Kalamaki Zante, Kalamaki 29092, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Kalamaki
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday at the Ionian Blue Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for ten nights, travelled with Thomsons, flights from Birmingham. Excellent from start to finish. Flight out to the island ran to time, excellent leg room without paying extra.
Hotel great for what it is - a family hotel. it doesn't claim to be the Ritz and it is friendly and has everything you would need for family holiday.
I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Probably not Room 104.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    62
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
52
116
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swinton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Just had 11 nights in Kalamaki. Great holiday but beware you could get unlucky with these apartments. Three months before our holiday I wrote to the Ionian Blue asking for a second, third or fourth floor room as my OH is a bird watcher and takes her binos to do some twitching from the balcony. Having received no reply I wrote again. Still no reply so we arrived at the hotel in hope. It was not to be - we were allocated room 109 which is on the ground floor. Before accepting the keys I asked if we could change and asked whether they had noted my e-mail. I'm sorry to say that the receptionist, whilst being lovely, is well practiced at knocking guests back who want to avoid the ground floor. Lines such as 'we've had a few problems with the computer' to 'the owners don't do electronic mail'. Anyhow I know that I have no more right than anyone else to preferential treatment but the regulars seemed to be allocated the higher floors. Nevertheless room 109 isn't bad at all. It could have done with a real good clean - stains all over the paintwork in the bathroom
door.
Room 104 is a dungeon with a patio that faces the car park. Room 101,102 and 103 I would avoid. Otherwise this is a little gem of a place. Would I return to the Ionian Blue? Not sure I would risk getting allocated to room 104. If so I would demand that the Thomson rep find us somewhere else as that room would not be acceptable to spend an holiday in.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A lovely Hotel just off the main street so close to all the bars and restaurants, but far enough away not to suffer from the noise. The Hotel is clean, the Staff friendly and facilities are good. We had a lovely room overlooking the pool, the only downside was the mossies, they are fearsome!! For a good relaxing holiday you cant ask for anymore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Having stayed in Kalamaki a good 10 years plus ago I wanted to return. Myself and my friend decided on the Ionion Blue for 2 weeks as it's close proximity to the main road and beach.

We had requested a high floor which is exactly what we got - the very top floor with a lovely view! The room had recently been refurbished, with brand new furniture, kitchen and bathroom. Kat on reception (the most helpful & lovely girl I have ever met working in a Greek hotel, from other reviews she is mentioned highly and rightly so!) made sure we were settled in and even came up to the room to check on us! It's the little touches that make a difference. We stayed in July, so air con was a necessity - it is worth saving that little extra to pay for this along with a safety deposit box key. Nothing is too much for Kat, she's a star!

The pool area was lovely, we never struggled for sun loungers and because of the location away from the main activity of Kalamaki, there was always a relaxed atmosphere. Definitely recommend a snack from the pool bar, the owners are very friendly and the food was great. There is no need to traipse all the way to the mini market for milk and bottles of water - these are both for sale at the bar and worked out cheaper too! We also saved money by stocking up on this along with the essentials for lunches at the mini market, the closest is on the corner by the main road. There is slight airplane noise during the day and part of the evening (hard to avoid with the airport only a 5 minute drive away!) but after a few days I hardly noticed it.

Places I would recommend to eat - Escape, Merlis, Alexander the Great, Stani's & Zepos (both on the beach and serve the best fish and seafood). All of these restaurants serve the best Greek cuisine, fish and seafood for a very reasonable price.

Places I would recommend for drinks - Iguana Bar (for the brilliant staff and Karaoke!), Shamrock Irish Pub (live music from The Satellites most nights and again lovely staff) and the Cave Bar - Worth getting there for sunset, the view is stunning all the way out the Laganas Beach.

The Ionion Blue was great value for money, I would definitely return for a week's holiday in the future.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room on the south side if you can, much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the hotel room 203. It's our .third time in this resort and we just love it.great location for the beach, just a short stroll passed a few other hotels and tavernas. The room was very clean and serviced on a regular basis for the 11 night stay. Air con 99 euros, but well worth it to have a rest bite from the daily sunshine. You can be in your suite and nobody bothers you ,but if you want contact for trips and advice the Thomson rep was available in the morning or just ring. Kat was a lovely lady and was the front of the hotel any problems or just a chat. Pool just about right and with a bar that serves breakfast if you require and a few snacks. Local supermarkets are a short distance away located on the main road and just off. No evening entertainment but......hey , your within 200Metre of tavernas a plenty and various bars.
Would return, cannot really fault it. Perfect. Note: If your looking for 5 star rating forget it.. It is what it is small well run clean and comfortable 2/3 star.

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms 101/104
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 11 nights in September 2013.

We had read previous reviews about the "basement" rooms and were extremely concerned when we got given room 111. However the room was exactly what you expect and the balcony, although lower then the path served its purpose well.

The room had all the regular amenities, kettle, toaster (which liked to melt itself), hob, fridge with freezer compartment, everything you expect in a hotel on an island that has only been a tourist place for 30 years. Note that there is no bread knife so don't expect perfect sandwiches when you buy the deliciously cheap local bread and try to cut it. The room was cleaned daily, and not at stupid o'clock in the morning, so a lay-in is always possible! We did have to work out how to use the shower without drowning the bathroom floor, but once discovered everything was dry.

The lights generally took a few minutes to warm up, but once on the room and bathroom were well lit.

The hotel is family run, which is nice as the the staff consists of 2 ladies, both extremely friendly and helpful.

The pool is a nice area, with non-plastic sunbeds, a nice bonus, and umbrellas, however always test before as not all of them go up!
The pool bar serves good food, ice creams and drinks at a reasonable price.

The actual hotel itself is located just off the main strip, which was very nice as we weren't kept up by lights and unnecessary noise. We found no need for a torch of any sorts as some had pointed out, even with no street lighting from strip to hotel.

Overall a very nice experience, very happy customers!

Room Tip: Rooms on level 2/3/4 have a better balcony, but make sure you request this before arrival, once your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Really lovely little hotel. Very clean. Friendly staff. Nice pool -kept clean!!!

2 minute walk to a beautiful beach. 1 minute walk to a lovely strip with lots of lovely places to eat and bars to drink in. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ionion Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionion Blue Hotel

Address: Kalamaki Zante, Kalamaki 29092, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Kalamaki
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Ionion Blue Hotel Zakynthos/Kalamaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ionion Blue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.