We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lodge on the banks of the Kavango River” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaisosi River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rundu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaisosi River Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O. Box 599, Rundu, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice lodge on the banks of the Kavango River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I spent one night at the Kaisosi River Lodge and we were impressed. The lodges were spacious and well maintained situated right on the river bank overlooking Angola. The staff were most welcoming keen to please. This is a quiet and restful place and the food and drinks were more than satisfactory. The boat trip to watch the sun set was a nice way to finish off the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed on the campsite at Kaisosi for a week, we originally intended to stay only 3 nights but the facilities were so good we decided to stay longer and sort out a few problems with our vehicle. The staff couldn't have been nicer, even wading-in to help us with our problems and disposing of the waste that we generated in the process.
The campsite boasts individual ablution blocks for each site, is very clean, grassy and nicely shaded. It sits just back from the riverbank and is frequented by a good selection of birds. Although Kaisosi is a few km out of Rundu, this is actually a blessing as Rundu is not too good a town - I would advise great caution if visiting (particularly if leaving your vehicle unattended anywhere in town).
The restaurant/bar area is great and the pool is nicely situated and clean.
We will be returning to Kaisosi later this month.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Kaisosi is advertised as a peaceful setting and place to rest and we totally agree. We spent 3 nights enjoying the river setting overlooking Angola and thoroughly enjoyed it. Restaurant meals were very good, as was breakfast. Chris and his staff were attentive, helpful, and friendly, even though 2 of them were 'trainees' so we think they will be an asset to the business in the future. Rooms are spacious and well appointed with all that you need. This is certainly a place that we will return to.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were on our way to Etosha and our guide, Pierre Duval from BushBaby Safaris, had booked us here. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the view of Angola across the river was interesting particularly as people fished for dinner and waved and called to us. But, there was just nothing very interesting or special. The food was quite ordinary and at times I felt the servers were doing me a huge favor by taking our orders or bringing our food or wine. The good things to say....the peacock was interesting if a bit noisy (but quiet at night) and my notes remind me that this was the best shower of the trip - not a bad thing for a 3 week trip in southern Africa in November!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Rundu is one of the less prepossessing towns in Namibia, to put it kindly, and the same descriptor goes for Kaisosi, too.
Overnighted there last week, having spent time at four other lodges (out of many possibilities) along the Strip, and our group was unanimous in voting it underwhelming. It's clean and comfortable, but lacks charm or character, unique touches, and remains in a '70s motel time warp.
Good points: we enjoyed a sunset cruise up and down the Okavango at a good price, the bar looked organised and well stocked, and can't comment on the food as we self-catered in the camping area. Breakfast was acceptable. Not so good points: no shower (hand-held in the bath only); noisy water pumps nearby that sully the surrounds and which only turned off at 7pm or so; and positively the nastiest bed linen ever encountered; cheap, scratchy and simply unacceptable.
Conclusion: You are spoiled for choice in the area - choose wisely! It's probably better to put as much distance as you can from Rundu, too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed here in Mid March. Arrived after a 450Km trek from Etosha. The lodge was easy to find from the main highway. If instead you choose to come through Rundu town, be prepared for around 8 km of some serious and uncomfortable washboard gravel. However you are rewarded by some fine views of the township and African lifestyle. The road into the lodge from this road was OK at this time, but river rising. Reception was efficient with a quenching drink, then off to our room after a tour of the facilities. Room was upstairs and was very spacious, sufficient luggage room, slightly ageing bathroom, and a good supply of tea/coffee. Balcony was spacious with table and chair with great view of the river.
The restaurant, lounge and bar area were integral, and there was a deck adjoining the river and swimming pool. The ambiance was one of calmness and relaxation and the river was flowing steadily and on the rise.
There was a fine selection of food and drinks in the restaurant for both the evening meal and breakfast -both a la carte and waitress service. Wireless internet available. No computer for public use.
The sunset river trip from the deck was good value at 160$NAB which included a couple of drinks. It lasted just over an hour and afforded fantastic sunset views of life on both the Angolan and Namibian sides. Families swimming, washing, etc, and many birds and some animals.
It was a peaceful and restful stay.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms had good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Friendly reception, good location. Rooms are basic but ok. Make sure you have no upstairs neighbors because the rooms are noisy. Or try and get a room on the first floor.
Wifi in the reception area available. The view into Angola on the other side of the river is enchanting, especially at night with the frogs' concertos.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kaisosi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaisosi River Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 599, Rundu, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Kavango Region > Rundu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty lodging in Rundu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaisosi River Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaisosi River Lodge is situated 7 km’s East of Rundu, in the North East of Namibia on the banks of the perennial Okavango River.We offer you complete relaxation and a true African experience. This peaceful oasis, which can be reached in a normal sedan vehicle, is an ideal place for nature lovers and bird watchers.Spectacular sunsets, friendly people, comfortable accommodation and fine cuisine make the Kaisosi River Lodge a must for all travellers. Great spots for fishing and birds watching are available along the river. Magnificent river cruises on the river border between Namibia and Angola can be arranged. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaisosi River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kaisosi River Lodge to your Saves list