We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the Landscape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokonga Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kokonga Lodge to your Saves list
Kokonga Lodge
33 Kokonga - Waipata Road | Central Otago, Ranfurly, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Luxury in the Landscape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

So much of our Rail Trail experience had seemed borrowed from a Grahame Sydney landscape, we thought not much could surprise us after three days. But Kokonga Lodge did.

The Rail Trail (a meandering 175k journey through some of the region's most glorious scenery) makes special demands of those who choose its charms. Every day will have its challenges, which is why every night needs its rewards and that's what Kokonga Lodge became. We arrived in need of a place of peace and solitude and that is what we found.

After three days on the trail you develop a rhythm, and I don't just mean on the bike. Ours was to accept all the trail could throw at us during the day (occasional head winds, the uphill bits) in order to better appreciate wherever it was we ended up that night. And Dorothy and Malcolm made our too-brief Kokonga Lodge experience a Trail highlight.

If you want company or information, they are there. But if you need privacy, they allow their guests to simply enjoy the oasis they have created. The food is fabulous and from the first Pinot to the last coffee, the drinks were superb.

We enjoyed our night so much, we didn't think the next morning could improve on our experience, until we woke to snow on the surrounding hills. In January. Glorious.

When we hopped on our bikes for our final day, we were genuinely sad to leave, but then, something this good deserves to be shared. And of course, like so many places in the region, they even have a 'Hobbit' story. Just ask nicely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy P, Manager at Kokonga Lodge, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Eric Y,
Many thanks for your wonderfully eloquent description of your stay at Kokonga Lodge. We are so pleased you had a good time. Snow again blankets the Kakanuis but as it is May we can only expect more from now on. Cold but gorgeous!
Dorothy & Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    4
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

What a great place with wonderful hosts! We stayed here while doing the Rail Trail and my friend, more experienced than I am in all things New Zealand, warned me in advance that the Lodge would not be remotely as nice as its website. When we arrived there, she promptly said she was wrong to be concerned and we settled in to a relaxing stay in a beautiful area. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming, the bed was comfortable, food was delicious and the sunset was world-class. The Lodge is very energy-efficient and for the first and only time on the trip, I did not spend the evening wrapped up in blankets [ok, yes, I'm American and love central heating!]. Also, Dorothy can really paint and there were some amazing pieces of hers around the house. This place deserves a couple of days to really appreciate it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Kokonga Lodge is beautifully situated in the Central Otago landscape and is an inviting place to come to a rest after a day out on the rail trail. Its hosts, Dorothy and Malcolm, are very welcoming and have great knowledge about the area. The lodge has good amenities such as wifi Internet access, library, music and the rooms are beautifully appointed. Dinner and breakfast were delicious. It all goes to make for a great stay.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This lodge is most impressive for its location, facilities and decor. The owners are most attentive and passionate in their approach- almost to the point of being a negative - but deliver on all counts ensuring a memorable experience. The rooms are absolutely spotless and so well presented it is a shame to disturb them. Similarly all common rooms within the lodge are presented with a complete focus upon the comfort and needs of the guests. There is a huge up to date reading selection; along with music and luxurious surroundings. Wifi throughout of high quality reception is easily used on personal devices.
There is an ample selection of drinks readily available and reasonably priced. The pre-dinner nibbles are fantastic and most welcome by that stage of the day. The presentation of the dining - room and dinner - is first class and far exceeds most supposed top quality restaurants to be found in NZ. Equally the full breakfast is impressive and substantial. All of this is accompanied by home grown and prepared ingredients including the jams, preserves etc.
A little more latitude needed around guest's requests rather than stipulating a set order; perhaps a communication adjustment style would improve this small detail.
Overall a highly recommended lodge for those seeking real comfort and pampering at this stage of their journey - in life and on the trail. And it is well priced for what is delivered. Congratulations and thank you to the owners.

Room Tip: All are of highest quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at Kokonga Lodge. It's in a splendid spot near the rails to trails (a nice easy section of it to ride to Hyde). They have beautiful gardens, make great dinners and are wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

My sister and I stayed hear last March. The rooms were clean and comfortable and beautifully decorated. They were also very warm, important in the Maniototo even in the Summer. The views are spectacular. Malcolm is working on a impressive garden, it looks great already but as it is a work in progress I look forward to seeing it again before too long.
Dorothy is a good cook. The ingredients of the meal are locally sourced and each meal is
a delight. Don't even think about eating somewhere else. The wine list is modestly priced. Kokonga Lodge is a gem

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We are NOT bed and breakfast people but absolutely LOVED Kokonga Lodge and its proprietors, Dorothy and Malcolm. The grounds and gardens are world class, as is the food. The pictures don't do it justice. Our 9 year old daughter was made to feel totally at home and especially enjoyed curling up in their hallway library where she enjoyed a great selection of children's books. The beds are very comfortable, too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kokonga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokonga Lodge

Address: 33 Kokonga - Waipata Road | Central Otago, Ranfurly, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Ranfurly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Ranfurly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kokonga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokonga Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.