We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds and a lovely stay overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Murphy's Farmhouse to your Saves list
Murphy's Farmhouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boolteens | Castlemaine, Boolteens, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boolteens
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds and a lovely stay overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I visited with my partner and parents. We had a large room, which was very nice with a single and double bed and a room with a larger washroom with a double bed. All of us slept well. Breakfast was okay but there was a tour group mini-van staying too (so it felt less intimate than the other b&bs) and our table was hurridly cleaned and we had to ask for more brekkie items that had been devoured by the larger group. Overall, a very friendly place and very comfortable beds. Internet did not work all the time or at all in the evening...possibly because there were many guests using it and there was an internet repairman there fixing something.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary501, Manager at Murphy's Farmhouse, responded to this review, October 17, 2014
Thank you for your review, the internet was repaired
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California Desert, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

On the way to Dingle this farm house sits on a small country road just behind Murphy's pub. Mrs Murphy is the best hostess. She called around town to find us an open restaurant for dinner. The room was large and comfortable. We had a king bed and a twin for my daughter, plus a sitting room, a vanity and en-room suite, there was even a bench for all the suitcases. I could stay here for weeks. It feels like home!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary501, Manager at Murphy's Farmhouse, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, enjoy the rest of the holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Murphys farmhouse was more expensive than other options so we thought it would at least be standard quality.

Food was great, but beds and bathrooms were bad.

We did not get what we were quoted for on the phone and were one bed short.

also the 'double' bed was tiny and rock hard and only suitable for 1. ( 4' 6") not the couple that we asked for on the phone.

the rooms were fine and clean and airy but the shower did not work, only bearly trickled water and bathroom was ridiculously small and you could literally barely wipe your ***.

REALLY disappointed.
Will definitely NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Murphy’s Farmhouse is, as its name indicates, a renovated farmhouse, located in a quiet location set back from the highway heading to and from the Dingle Peninsula. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable with a modern bathroom, but……when I went to take a shower, I could get no water to flow. After running out of ideas about how to get the water flowing, I was about to jeopardize my man card by calling Mrs. Murphy and asking her what the deal was. Fortunately, after exiting the bathroom I found a pair of rocker switches on the wall that just demanded to be pushed. After pushing both, I was able to get the water to flow from what was apparently a tankless water heater for the shower. Similar dual switches guarded other electrical items in the room, but once I had broken the code, they all worked. That included an electric heat unit that could be accessed on demand, a feature that was rare in the B&Bs we stayed in, but was a nice feature in still cool Ireland in June. On the negative side, I could not receive the (free) WiFi in my room but the signal came in loud and clear downstairs in the common living room. Also, dining options in the area are limited to two pubs. (We ate at yet another Murphy enterprise, Murphy’s Bar, which was attractive but served a limited menu of pizza and cold sandwiches.)
After a good night’s sleep, we were fed a delicious Irish breakfast served by one of the Murphy granddaughters. All in all, it was a pleasant stay at a reasonable price in a good location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A lovely homely B&B with 3 generations of the Murphy Family between the Farmhouse and Murphys's Bar. Very helpful and a nice place to base yourself for a couple of days of sightseeing around Kerry.
A freshly prepared breakfast each day, fresh pastries, eggs and bacon stocked us up for the day.
Visit the cows out the back in the dairy for the authentic home stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I recently stayed at Murphy's with a posse of family members - we occupied 4 rooms total, and it was great! The rate is very agreeable and the owner, Mrs. Murphy, couldn't be more hospitable or charming. And she's a great cook! Breakfast was one of the best we had on our trip.

Down the street the pub (also named Murphy's) is run by family and it's a nice quick walk over there for a pint before coming back to relax in very comfortable rooms.

Wi-fi was spotty upstairs, but it just encouraged us to do things other than go online. We ended up spending some time in the living room and hanging out together instead - which is far better (and the wifi was solid there too).

All in all - I'd highly recommend staying at Murphy's if you're looking to stay in a quiet part of the Dingle Peninsula or en route to Inch or Dingle town. I'd stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our stay at Murphy's was almost fantastic. The room was comfortable, the breakfast was delicious, and the staff was very friendly. Unfortunately, a couple of key things went awry and made our stay much less than it could have been. First, the wireless internet was unreliable at best, and was not working for the entirety of one evening/night. While this may seem like a small thing, it was our only way of keeping in touch with family while on a long vacation, and we were relying on the connection to make further plans for our trip. Second, the water in our bathroom was problematic. The temperature swung dramatically over the course of the day, and even from minute to minute. One morning, my shower was completely cold (as was all the water running from the sink). The next morning, my shower went from comfortable to--literally, painfully--scalding within seconds, and the water continued to be excessively hot for the rest of the morning. When we brought this up with the host, as we were leaving, her only response was that I might go finish my shower in another room. I understand that when staying in an old farmhouse one must expect some quirks, but this seems like a serious issue that needs to be resolved. In short, apart from being scalded and cut off from our main method of communication, our stay was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary501, Manager at Murphy's Farmhouse, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! It's a shame you didn't tell us about the Internet connection until you put it on trip advisor we didn't know about it, I have asked all the other guests about it and they're all happy with it. Re- shower, there was nothing I could do about it at the time but offer you a different shower and again you didnt let us know about the water until you were leaving on the second day. The plumber would have been asked to look at it sooner had we known... Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Murphy's Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Farmhouse

Address: Boolteens | Castlemaine, Boolteens, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Boolteens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boolteens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: Murphy's Farmhouse is a sixth generation dairy farm nestling at the foot of the Slieve Mish Mountains on the Dingle Peninsula. The farmhouse is ideally located for touring the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula, as Castlemaine village is the gateway between both areas. This traditional and comfortable farmhouse is renowned for its friendly welcome and excellent cuisine providing an extensive range of breakfasts to choose from which will satisfy the most discerning of food lovers. You can look forward to refreshments on arrival. Murphys Farmhouse has 14 en-suite bedrooms with television, tea/coffee making facilities, electric blankets and king size beds. It is ideally located for organised tours. Transport is also available. Location: Murphy's Farmhouse is located 150 metres from Boolteens village where guests can enjoy the local entertainment and music in Murphy's Bar. Boolteens is located along the Dingle Peninsula road 1km from Castlemaine village. For the golfing enthusiast Murphy's Farmhouse is ideally located as it is within a 30 minute drive from the following world renowned golf courses, Killarney, Ballybunion, Barrow, and Dooks. Walking is another activity that the area is proud to offer, Murphy's Farmhouse is perfectly situated for the Kerry Way and the Dingle Way walking routes. For the visitor seeking a more leisurely holiday, Inch Beach - Blue Flag Awarded - provides over 3 miles of safe sandy beach. Kerry Airport - 7 miles. Shannon and Cork Airport - 2 hours drive. Tralee and Killarney provide train services - 20 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Murphy's Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphys Farmhouse Boolteens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.