We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of paradise in Tlaquepaque” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Reforma #139 | Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE AIRPORT PICKUP+BKFST
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise in Tlaquepaque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

I have stayed there on a few occasions and it is always fantastic. Wonderful food, quiet surroundings and the people are simply amazing. I highly recommend Quinta Don Jose!
Muchas Gracias!!

Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    75
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
101
172
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto,
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

This is not a BAD hotel but it is not cheap and there are a number of details that can make a stay there a little frustrating.
Be careful with the rooms. They seem to vary enormously from very large to tiny, windowless and claustrophobic. Beware of the 14-DAY (!) cancellation period. Not all rooms have hair-dryer, extra blankets and enough pillows (though you can ask for these things). There is no information provided in the room about hotel services such as the restaurant, phone, computer, etc. The "continental" breakfast included in the room rate is very paltry. It might be better not to include it at all. Hot breakfasts are made and charged if you wish. The semi-exterior breakfast area may be nice on a warm day but is drafty and uncomfortable on a chilly one.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

My family and I stayed at the Quinta Don Jose for five days during the Christmas holiday. To be concise, in the past 20 or so years I have stayed in about 40 B&B's and boutique hotels in the US, Canada, UK, and South America. I would rate the QDJ among the top three or four. Why so good? First the easy stuff. The QDJ is very attractive, clean, and comfortable. The garden/patios/common areas are lovely and provide a respite from the noise and activity of Tlaquepaque/GDL. It's easy to relax, strike up conversations with other guests -- from Mexico, North America, elsewhere -- or read a book. Now the hard stuff. The QDJ staff perfectly balance being friendly and accessible, on one hand, while providing the service and attentiveness that one would expect at top-notch hotel. This balance isn't easy to achieve, and the QDJ staff were without exception, well, exceptional.

The only caveats I would add are (1) my bed was not particularly comfortable (too hard for my taste) and (2) our room caught some nighttime street noise. I'm not partularly concerned about the noise because in my experience (travels to Peru, Chile and Argentina and now Mexico) Latin American urban areas are simply noisy. Still, I'd suggest getting a ground floor room facing the court yard if you need perfect quiet to sleep.

Bottom line. The QDJ is a terrific B&B.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

Quinta Don Jose is one of the best--the staff is exceptionally helpful and friendly, restaurant is great and reasonably priced (we ate there several times), the grounds are beautiful, and the rooms are very nice (those overlooking the courtyard are quieter).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

The place is nice enough but they connive at every opportunity to pocket your money. At checkin, they wanted a 17% tax. In my travels throughout this state over the last fourtt years, not one person has ever mentioned taxes. The tour book for the region (published in 2008) referred to a full buffet breakfast. Apparently once they got in the book they dropped that in favor of a measely continental offering. When I went to the bar for a drink at 5pm the bartender made no mention of their 5-6pm "Happy Hour" with a two-for-one special. Leaving the bar another guest told me, and the bartender begrugingly gave me my second drink. I went back just before 6pm and waited while the bartender chatted with guests on the patio. When he returned to the bar about 6:12 or so he refused to honor the two-for-one special as it was now past 6 o'clock. There are many other pleasant places to stay in the town where they keep their hands out of your pockets.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artster, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2010
Thank you for sharing your impressions about Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel. We’re sorry that we did not meet your expectations, since offering our guests a comfortable stay with personalized service is our priority.

We understand your disappointment for having to pay Mexican taxes, however, as a formal operation, we cannot avoid collecting them. We‘re sorry that you perceived the collection of the taxes due for your stay as a “conniving” action from QDJ.

As far as the Tour book description of our breakfast, yes indeed, our format changed some time ago. Tour books are a great resource, however; at times, there is a risk of outdated information due to the time required to produce them. This is especially true if an older edition is consulted. For over a year now, we’ve offered an included Continental Breakfast as well as an ample and delicious “A la Carte” menu. Our website is always current in describing our services and we also offer domestic and international toll-free phone numbers where we’re happy to answer any inquiries.

Our bar area displays signs to alert our guests of our Happy Hour. We apologize for what was taken as a begrudging action as this was never our intention.

Since QDJ’s opening, we have, and will continue to focus on, offering a warm and welcoming experience for a fair rate. We hope that the combination of experiences we offer our guests will bring them back over and over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

We just returned from six nights at Quinta Don Jose. We chose this delightful small hotel because of all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor.
We were not disappointed!
The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff can't be overstated. Never have we experienced such warmth from hotel personnel. Any question we had was answered thoroughly. Never a feeling of being rushed.
Breakfast every morning in the lovely patio with its fountain, flowers and chirping birds was just a delight.
The location is perfect. Walking distance to the interesting town of Tlaquepaque with its pretty shops and galleries.
The only negative (which is why the rooms were given 4 stars not 5 ) is that the rooms in the main building facing the street are very noisy early in the morning. Lots of street traffic . It can be heard even with the double paned windows. (Always closed.)
The room itself , number 7 , was very nice.
We enjoyed eating in the restaurant several nights. Delicious!
We very much hope to return to Quinta Don Jose some day.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

I returned to QDJ and had another wonderful, fun & relaxing stay with a friend. The staff is the best, so welcoming and helpful! You feel like part of the family. The atmosphere is beautiful and tranquil, the rooms very clean and well-appointed, and the restaurant makes delicious food. Such a nice area. I will come back and continue to recommend to others. Try QDJ - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel

Address: Reforma #139 | Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or vacation, "QDJ" offers you a beautiful setting and unique personal service! We're located in Tlaquepaque, Mexico's Arts & Crafts Capital, which is in the greater Guadalajara Metro. QDJ puts you only steps away from superb shopping, exquisite galleries, and inviting restaurants. Also, Guadalajara's Historical Downtown is only a 15 minute drive from QDJ.Our rooms offer private baths, air-conditioning, cable TV & phone. We also have an intimate bar, tiled pool, complimentary airport/bus station Greeting Service (3 night min), free Wi-Fi, and much more. Enjoy a delicious dinner at TlaquePasta, our top-rated Gourmet Restaurant with a Mexican and Italian menu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quinta Don Jose Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.