We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ambiance with a family style, truly friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Reforma #139 | Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE AIRPORT PICKUP+BKFST
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
“ambiance with a family style, truly friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We loved this little hotel! The location was great for walking to the center of activity, the staff, particularly Charlie, Salvador and Lucero, went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. We loved the patio breakfast and the "breakfast ladies" were so attentive. All services were superb! Friendliest and most helpful in all aspects.

Room Tip: We used 4,5,8. Each room was unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artster, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Sue O,
Thank you so much for writing a review on Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel!

Our staff is having a hard time fitting through doors because of their "big heads" after reading your review! The team of "Breakfast Ladies" reacted very cute saying "queremos a nuestros huespedes!" (we love our guests!).

Charlie, Salvador, Lucero and the rest of the staff send a warm "Hola" and "Gracias!" We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    74
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
100
171
26
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is our second time we stay at Quinta Don Jose and we love the place. The staff (Salvador and Charlie as well as the other server who I forgot his name) were super nice, friendly, helpful, and it was nice my husband could communicate with them in English. Charlie was surprised I remembered him from five years ago (the impact of his wonderful margaritas!).
We had spent Xmas with my family and it was a wonderful two nights before coming back home to California.
There was a family next door who made too much noise very late and the front office staff were very helpful to remedy the situation. The hotel in general is such a lovely place!
We had to be at the airport at 4am and the night front office person was super nice to get us a cab.
The food was excellent and has a great price. And the live music at dinner time was a very romantic touch.
Just really love this place and recommend it to everyone who is traveling to Guadalajara.
Can't wait to visit again!!

Room Tip: We had stayed at the suite by the pool last time which was very large and nice and our friends staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artster, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thanks so much for your comment Angievalg! We truly appreciate your return visit.

We share your comments with our staff and, to tell you the truth, I'm positive that Salvador, Charlie, Armando, Israel, and the rest of our staff enjoy your visit just as much! We're blessed with a team that is genuinely friendly and they LOVE to serve you, our guests.

We hope to greet you in a future visit. Charlie will have your Margarita waiting for you! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

An unexpected visit to Guadalajara was made all the more enjoyable by our discovery of this wonderful little hotel in picturesque Tlaquepaque. Tucked away in a big old house or 'maison' with beautiful brick and stonework, the place oozes charm. The food too is excellent and we were made to feel very welcome by the lovely Salvador. From the hotel you can explore the charming centre of Tlaquepaque. Definitely worth a visit if you're heading to central Mexico.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artster, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Rebecca,
Thank you very much for your review of Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel!
WOW... you visited us all the way from New Zealand! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay :)
QDJ is proud to boast about a group of loyal followers from New Zealand and Australia. We love you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed there for 2 nights before Christmas. We found the hotel to be beautiful, clean, warm and comfortable. It was a little too chilly in December to be using the pool but it was very beautiful. They have a nice restaurant which specializes in Mexican and Italian food and a bar on premises. It is located just one block from El Parián plaza famous for its Mariachi Music and 2 blocks from Avenida Independencia which is the pedestrian shopping street. Another beautiful feature of Quinta Don Jose is they are dog friendly. We sometimes travel with our two small dogs and to be welcomed with our dogs is a big plus. Overall, a really wonderful and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting a room back away from the street. The street is a main thoroughfare with fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artster, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Waywuwei,

Thank you so much for your message. We appreciate your taking time to write it! :)

We have found that pets that travel with guests are (usually) very well behaved. Its a pleasure for us to greet our four-legged guests.

We hope you consider us for your future lodging/relaxing needs in the Guadalajara Metro Area; with or without your doggies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The first thing you notice when you walk into Quinta Don Jose is the calming relaxing atmosphere. We visited in late November. We were picked up effortlessly at the airport by the hotel's minivan. Its a 20 minute ride to Tlaquepaque. Check in was very easy and we were given good local information about the town. We booked a room overlooking the pool (room 15) and it was absolutely perfect. Completely private with loads of space. My favorite thing was a huge colorful water dispenser in the room. Free internet that worked great and the breakfast in the morning was fresh and plenty to fill you up. The restaurant attached to the hotel served excellent local and Italian style food. The really great thing about the hotel was the staff. They were so friendly. The bartender took such good care of us and by the end of the week knew what we were going to order before we sat down! Whoever is the gardener there should be very proud. The grounds are really beautiful and every morning they would put fresh cut flowers in the many fountains. Sitting by the pool listening to the birds and running water of the fountains was so relaxing. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Room 15 is the most private, and overlooks the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artster, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear SanDiegoDerbyGirl,

Thank you very much for reviewing QDJ & TlaquePasta! We truly appreciate your words as they energize our efforts to serve all of our guests even better. We're a small business and take advantage of our size to keep in close contact with you, our guests, with the goal of offering you a nicer visit experience every time. I can assure you that 2014 will see our efforts continue and offer you an even more enjoyable visit in your next opportunity!

Happy New Year!!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My family and I have just spent Christmas eve in this beautiful boutique hotel. A very pretty mini suite on the first floor, not quite a balcony outside the front door but a cute little sitting area. We stayed in the hotel for dinner along with 10 or 12 other guests, the owners, their friends and family were also present. A singer with his guitar played for a couple of hours during dinner, the wine was good, the food very good and the cocktails were excellent. Continental breakfast was included with additional options if you want. The secure car parking, Internet, pretty courtyard, breakfast area and bar all added to the experience. Everyone was so friendly, owners, staff, guest. Some of the guests I spoke to have been using this hotel, at Christmas, for years and I can understand why. I came away feeling like a member of one big happy family. I was so disappointed that they only had availability for that one night, I checked availability for next year and will be making a reservation.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate, take the chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artster, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Johnboybarks,

Thank you SO MUCH for your review! Christmas eve dinner has become a tradition at QDJ and we truly appreciate your visit during this time. Our intention on this night is precisely to have a celebration of an extended QDJ family :) We're planning more activities during this night next year to share the Mexican Christmas traditions. Its a beautiful & fun experience!

You are an experienced reviewer and we appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts. We'll continue to work on this "labor of love" always looking for your enjoyment. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabasha, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Again we enjoyed staying at your hotel, you make us feel right at hom. We loved our room by the pool.
But then I haven't stayed in a room that I haven't liked. All the new updates where awesome.
Your staff is great they go above and beyond to make your stay an enjoyable one.
And breakfast is a plus.

Room Tip: Pool Side Rooms are great, and also rooms 6, 7 and 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artster, Owner at Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Our returning guests have a special place in our hearts! Thank you for returning to QDJ :)

We look forward to greeting you in 2014 and sharing with you improvements and new things. We REALLY listen to our guests and appreciate the feedback.

Merry Christmas and Happy & Healthy 2014!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel

Address: Reforma #139 | Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or vacation, "QDJ" offers you a beautiful setting and unique personal service! We're located in Tlaquepaque, Mexico's Arts & Crafts Capital, which is in the greater Guadalajara Metro. QDJ puts you only steps away from superb shopping, exquisite galleries, and inviting restaurants. Also, Guadalajara's Historical Downtown is only a 15 minute drive from QDJ.Our rooms offer private baths, air-conditioning, cable TV & phone. We also have an intimate bar, tiled pool, complimentary airport/bus station Greeting Service (3 night min), free Wi-Fi, and much more. Enjoy a delicious dinner at TlaquePasta, our top-rated Gourmet Restaurant with a Mexican and Italian menu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quinta Don Jose Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.