We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything old is new again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Reforma #139 | Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE AIRPORT P/UP & BKFST
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Tlaquepaque
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everything old is new again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I've stayed at QDJ off and on for ten years now, and there have been some wonderful cosmetic changes over the years but the heart and soul of this amazing place is the fantastic staff and the incredible atmosphere. Rooms are always immaculate, the food is delicious and the helpful, happy staff are second to none. It truly is a real treat to end a great vacation with a stay at this magical place. Kudos to everyone at QDJ, and thank you, I will be back!

Sr. Villeneuve

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    459
    68
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
94
150
25
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Excellent little hotel. Impeccable service,gorgeous grounds,Staff's attitude is fantastic..second to none. Great location for walking and shopping etc. We had a fantastic romantic Birthday dinner all set up behind the waterfall, serenaded and a rose presented even. We will be back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have been a long term guest and the accomodations, staff ,and experience are excellent and keep getting better! bar is very intimate..though you can still make a party...the ladies at breakfast are most accomodating and the quality of all their food is excellent. Nice hot showers! Thanks You! John

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Quinta is a good hotel but a GREAT place to stay. You can't find a better place to relax and unwind after a hard day in Mexico. It's quaint and relaxing. The grounds are immaculate and the staff is 2nd to none.

The rooms are unique and simple. Each one is different. You are staying in the heart of Tlaquepaque with restaurants, shopping and every amenity just minutes away. They have a super fun, little bar and restaurant which brings in lots of locals.

I highly recommend Quinta if you are trying to get the "old Mexico" feel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a delightful, 3 night stay at Quinta San Jose, the first night in a standard room on second floor, but fronting Avenida Reforma. Quite noisy with traffic early morning, so we upgraded to a king bed room on same floor, but this one having sealed double glazed windows. Much quieter. The Quinta is just a couple of blocks from Avenida Independencia, a traffic free walking zone, with numerous excellent restaurants, stores, artisan workshops etc. The grounds at the hotel are very well maintained and the rear garden is like an oasis in the city. Fine pool and surrounding patio for peaceful relaxation.

Room Tip: One of the suites, adjacent the pool area at rear is probably the quietest, and if having a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I think this is a good hotel, if you get the right room. Room number one is in the older portion of the hotel. It is very small. The bathroom barely had room to turn around. Room # 1 is right above the extremely busy street "Reforma" . The noise was constant and the whole room actually vibrated when large trucks or buses went by. There was a nice shared terrace off of our room with a good view of the busy, noisy street. Two cheap plastic chairs and an ash tray on the terrace but no table? Service was inconsistent at this place. Generally friendly and everyone spoke great English. However, I ordered a taxi and the was told to wait outside as it would be right there. No taxi after 15 minutes...ended up flagging one down. I made a reservation for Valentines dinner at the hotel restaurant and had to endure a snotty waiter spending about ten minutes finding my name on his list. Access to the hotel can be a problem, as you have to buzz and be let in each time.....sometimes the wait seemed longer than nexcessary. The rooms around the interior courtyard and pool look great. The hotel restauant is very, very good (we had a wonderful Valentines dinner).

Room Tip: Do not get room number 1 or number 2. You will not sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at this lovely boutique hotel while visiting Tlaquepaque on a shopping trip to buy furniture for our condo in Sayulita. Our room was great, the grounds were beautiful, however, our favorite part was the hotel staff who made every aspect of our stay a pleasant one. Our driver, the front desk ladies, the waiters and bar tenders all contributed to making us feel at home and their knowledge of English, helped us immensely as our Spanish is limited.

We spent our busy days with a gentleman name Jose Orozco from a company called Guide Works who took us to all sorts of wonderful places to have our beautiful rosewood and mesquite furniture made and on the final day to the Tonala Craft Market, which was wonderful - he also arranged for all our purchases to be safely delivered to our new condo in January - I truly can't thank him enough!!!!

The location of Quinta Don Jose is fantastic and we spent our early mornings walking around the beautiful Plaza and our last afternoon and evening enjoying the shops, restaurants and street market all so close by. We loved returning to the hotel at the end of our busy days to relax and chose to stay-in 2 nights as the restaurant was reasonable and had a very accomplished, fun singer to listen to while enjoying our drinks and food.

The hotel was filled with many people who had obviously stayed there before and I have to say that we are among those who will also return. The hotel is definitely not a sterile 5 Star hotel, it's more a home away from home. Tlaquepaque is a warm, friendly, safe place to visit and Quinta Don Jose is an inviting place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel

Address: Reforma #139 | Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Tlaquepaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or vacation, "QDJ" offers you a beautiful setting and unique personal service! We're located in Tlaquepaque, Mexico's Arts & Crafts Capital, which is in the greater Guadalajara Metro. QDJ puts you only steps away from superb shopping, exquisite galleries, and inviting restaurants. Also, Guadalajara's Historical Downtown is only a 15 minute drive from QDJ.Our rooms offer private baths, air-conditioning, cable TV & phone. We also have an intimate bar, tiled pool, complimentary airport/bus station Greeting Service (3 night min), free Wi-Fi, and much more. Enjoy a delicious dinner at TlaquePasta, our top-rated Gourmet Restaurant with a Mexican and Italian menu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quinta Don Jose Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.