We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some item you won't find everywhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Fuerte

Casa Fuerte
Independencia 224, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
(333) 657-8499
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Tlaquepaque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Los Barriles, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Some item you won't find everywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Centrally located in an old garden setting, this restaurant offers dishes you won't find most places. My favorite Chillies in Nogada are a delight and the Mole is excellent.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    50
    15
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I gave this restaurant an excellent rating when I reviewed it a year ago. Based on last year's experience, we both decided on the same entrees - Almond Salmon and Chamorro. Both of our dishes were disappointing as the flavor and presentation simply failed to accomplish what they had a year ago.

It probably deserves a GOOD rating but I just couldn't call it very good this year.

From the lack of customers, the two of us and one table of four - our guess was that they are struggling?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Left once we saw the menu”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Lovely atmosphere, but high prices combined with an Americanized menu had us head for the door after one drink, a disappointing margarita. Couldn't find anything we wanted to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruita, Colorado
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Strange welcome”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Tried to get a table here at 7:30pm and was told they would be open at 8pm. Returned at 8pm to be told they were closed for a private party. Not impressed or inclined to go back...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Try the Chili in Nogada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This was our first trip to this restaurant. The food was excellent. Be sure to try the Chili in Nogada. It sounds like a strange dish - but is an amazing treat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Fuerte also viewed

Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Casa Fuerte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Fuerte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.