We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels between Valencia and Alicante” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RH Bayren Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added RH Bayren Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
RH Bayren Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Neptuno 62 | Playa de Gandia, 46730 Gandia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Gandia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels between Valencia and Alicante”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We (me and my daughter, 12 years) had a fantastic weekend, large sandy Beach just in front of the Hotel, nice Poolarea. Very good and fresh Food at the buffet restaurants (we had half board) with a lot of fruits and large salad buffet. Fresh orange juice in the morning, good coffee. The staff was very helpfull and friendly. The rooms are large, modern and clean. We slept well, quiet and the beds are comfortable. good TV with international programs. Very good Spa. Prices of Minibar and Bars in the hotels are really reasonable. A few good restaurants around. Very good value for quality!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicenteFrasquet, Gerente at RH Bayren Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello MiriamR71,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to write a review about your stay.
Great to read how much you enjoyed the food an especially the fresh orange juice and in fact all the hotels installations.
We hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay soon,
Kindest Regards
Vicente Frasquet – Manager
RH Bayren Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    106
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
85
126
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at the hotel in May, half board and were very impressed by everything. We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful with any questions we had, even cleaners were very helpful, cheery and polite. We had a lateral view room, ie on the side of hotel, it didn't have much view of the beach, I would strongly recommend paying the extra to have a front pool view room or panormanic view room as the hotel is so nice it would make your stay extra special. Rooms very clean and modern, bed a bit hard, good sized balcony.

Staying HB, there is a bakery on the next street which sold tasty "Empanadas" which are pasties with various fillings so it's no problem getting a snack type lunch out, there are cafes, Mcdonalds & Burger King all within 5-10 mins walk. All meals in clean restaurant were buffet style with a good variety of choice, for us as English the breakfast was only missing baked beans and hash browns but otherwise good. Evening meals had a good choice too with "show cooking" each night offering a freshly carved meat/fish, the jam was particularly tasty.

The pool area is absolutely beautiful, with palm trees and grassy shaded areas. There is a raised wooden floored area with bordering flowers where you can relax on sunbeds under parasols, there is music piped which was relaxing but sometimes a bit loud. Staff are on hand to bring you drinks if required which can be charged to your room. In the restaurant you can also ask for a bottle(s) of wine and they can put your name on it and store it during your stay if one of you is not a drinker. The jacuzzi by the pool has beds which bubble underneath giving a soothing massage effect, the pool/jacuzzi are not heated but we found it warm enough.

We used the spa several times during our stay, for a 1 hour spa circuit it costs 10€ per person, normally 20€ but as residents you get it half price. The spa is not large but has plenty of features including turkish bath, sauna and different showers, it was very relaxing and a top feature of the hotel. One of the other reasons we booked was the Moon Lounge, this is a rooftop bar (6th floor) which opens in the evening and offers incredible views of the long beach. It is illuminated tastefuly and is decorated with flowers, it really is quite charming and is such a lovely feature, there was a saxafone/bongo player and it made for a great evening. The entertainment otherwise was virtually non existant during our 5 day stay, this was very disappointing as we like to relax in the evening and enjoy the entertainment, but there was very little to speak of, I hope they address this soon. On our last night there was entertainment planned but after we got a drink and sat down we realised that this was cancelled as there was the champions league final on tv, now I understand that it was a big event as 2 Spanish teams played the final, however not everyone is interested in that so to have the music cancelled was very disappointing, especially as it was our last night...

Gandia itself is very quiet, there's not a lot there so if you want a holiday to relax, be pampered, enjoy the pool and beach then that is fantastic, ideal. We took the bus into Gandia centre and we visited the Borgia Palace which was a beautiful piece of architecture but otherwise not a lot there, then again it's a very Spanish place not a Brits Abroad one.

We took the train into Valencia for the day, 1 hour journey. The architecture there was amazing, it was enormous, like walking out into central London or Oxford, a beautiful city with beautiful gardens too, particlarly recommend the City of Arts and Sciences with it's Oceanographic centre and Science Musuem, definite visit, though you need to get the bus from down the road near the train station.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, I cannot recommend the hotel itself highly enough, I was very impressed by all aspects and we are already planning our second visit later in the year. It's easily the smartest, most upmarket hotel in the area, it feels like you are staying somewhere special and the treatment you receive, facilities and small details make it all wonderful.

We can't wait to come back! :)

Room Tip: Choose the panoramic view room for fabulous views and charming bath tub, but definitely make sure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicenteFrasquet, Gerente at RH Bayren Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello Vbuuh

Thank you much for your fantastic feedback after your stay at our hotel.

It’s a perfect description and a help for us, and for fellow travellers, so thanks again.

I have noted the lack the "beans" and potato croquettes we will look into this point and see if we can maybe incorporate them.

I love the pool area too, above all first thing in the morning, with the freshness that starts the day, I understand you perfectly.

It is true the SPA is not very big, but as you said it has many details and amenities.

I am really pleased we arranged our small party at Moon Lounge, for our anniversary, as you say, it was a great night and everyone enjoyed it.

Gandia is quiet, although July and August are much busier for the high season, but having a wide Beach gives plenty of space that allows you to not feel uncomfortable even when this is very full.

Thank you for your opinion, it gives us great encouragement to continue working hard, and motivates us to make things better each day.

Hope to welcome you back again soon,

Kindest Regards

Vicente Frasquet - Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed at this hotel at 16th-20th May
Honest review ,
It is a nice hotel , in a great location across from great beech. Hotel Is kept very clean .

Some facts
Food
I would rate as ok, not great but not bad. but not a good restaurant standard.
Iam staying half board so you have a choice of lunch or dinner. I had dinner each night of my 4 night stay and the hot food is not kept hot enough in other words less then Luke warm.
Breakfast I can not rate the hot food as did not have any hot items except for crepes they were cooked fresh.

Pool area/indoor pool
Two small out door pools for the size of hotel and of course sun beds therefor are few when busy.
There is a small outdoor pool with jacuzzi jets (not hot )but unfortunately from an adult point of view small children are allowed use this which becomes a pool playground.

The indoor pool, jacuzzi and steam area etc there is a charge of 10.00euro for one hour use

There is a deposit charge of 10.00 for a pool towel which you must pay with cash only.

Rooms
Small single Room spotless clean
All rooms do not face sea and do not have an area outside to sit which my room was one of them.

Other facts to note
If you are English/ irish etc.
This hotel and area really caters for the Spanish market. And of course there is nothing wrong with this just a fact to note.

When checking out I was not asked about my stay or seen any comment cards to fill out.

In my view
Hotel needs to review

The Food temperature!!!!!!!!

The indoor pool/ jacuzzi etc. charge

outdoor pool jacuzzi children usage
And also this would be better with hot water as a jacuzzi should be

Loudness from the speaker at pool side from the girl entertainer on weekend

More use of outdoor area on 6th floor( maybe some sun beds up there)

No English information signs in lift area.

General facts
A great beech with little bars

The area lacks some nice restaurants, which is a pity.
And if u like a pub scene / night life this area is not for you.
Most of the hotels provide some sort of entertainment




Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicenteFrasquet, Gerente at RH Bayren Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you giving us your feedback and rating our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I have taken note regarding the temperature of the dishes and we will increase to ensure the food is hotter.

I don’t understand when you say there is no hot food at breakfast apart from crepes that are made at the time pancakes and omelet. We also have bacon, sausages, mushrooms, fried eggs etc,

We are currently increasing the number of sun chairs

With respect to the outdoor Jacuzzi pool, it is for all customers and all ages, so there are times when it is a busier than others, but it is an area that is enjoyed more since we heated it. Anyway we are studying heating another area to improve on this point.

The SPA has a special discount for the hotel customer; which is 50% of the selling price to non-hotel guests. It is ten euros per person and includes the swimming pool with water jets, a swimming pool with beds in the water, sauna, Turkish bath, and four different showers. We believe that it is a fair prices for what is included in the cost.

The area of Gandia is very popular with Spanish guests, however we also have guests from the UK and other nationalities and it is our intention that everyone enjoys their stay with us.

The terrace of the 6th floor will soon put it into operation; everything is subject to the weather, although we currently have it open in the evenings as a viewpoint.

Thank you again for giving us your opinion your feedback is very important and helps up improve. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future to restore your faith in out hotel,

Kindest Regards

Vicente Frasquet - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

If you can get past the lack of welcome at reception then everything else about the hotel is great. The buffet restaurant is good value for money and as there wasn't much else open in the area it was a bonus. Found the area to be particularly quiet... Maybe too early to visit in May.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicenteFrasquet, Gerente at RH Bayren Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear ShirlawEr,

Thank you for taking time to share your opinion of the RH Bayren Hotel & Spa.

I was very pleased to read your how much you enjoyed your stay, I will speak to the team in reception to ensure a warm welcome to all guests.

In reality this is a quieter area, apart from high season summer months and has it’s qualities.

Hope to welcome you back again soon,

Kindest Regards

Vicente Frasquet – Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Beautiful and very nicely decorated. It was like Hawaii and Valencia mated and this would be what it made. The sunsets and views from the hotel were spectacular. They are right near the beach which was also right on the Mediterranean. The food at this place was delicious. I hope I can come back some day!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicenteFrasquet, Gerente at RH Bayren Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Good Afternoon Michelle,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of our Hotel RH Bayren & Spa and for choosing to stay with us.

I think it’s great thought of Hawaii and Valencia merged!

It’s true we have a beautiful hotel located by a fantastic beach, what more could you ask for, with great weather and sunsets that stay in your memories for a long time.

I will of course feed back to the chef your feedback on his food.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future,

Kindest Regards

Vicente Frasquet – manager

Hotel RH Bayren & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Coruna, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Even though it was rated the number 1 hotel in Gandia, funnily enough I still wasn't expecting too much of the Bayren......which probably contributed to why it turned out to be such a very pleasant surprise.

The hotel itself has been very attractively remodelled, probably late last year as it still looks brand new. It's now a modernistic vision in white situated across the road from a large, sandy beach. Our room (103) was situated in the side wing of the hotel with a large balcony directly overlooking the pool area and with great views of the beach and sea. The room itself was large and tastefully designed with a swivel mounted flat screen TV viewable from both the sofa and the bed, although this isn't too much of an advantage if you don't like Spanish, French or German TV channels. The bathroom is similarly spacious with a great shower and everything else you'd expect of a good 4* hotel.....except bathrobes.

The pool area is attractively designed with plenty of comfortable sun-loungers and a large covered bar area in case you feel the need for cooling refreshments. There's also a Spa area in the basement in case your better half feels the need for some (extra) pampering! Mine didn't so can't comment on its worth.

As for the staff, all of them from the welcoming receptionists to the highly professional and friendly bar and restaurant waiters were excellent. I'm a great lover of Spanish buffet breakfasts and belive me, the Bayren has one of the best going.

Finally, if you're going by car as we did, there's no need to pay extra for the garage unless you're particularly sensitive about your pride and joy. All the street parking is free and, if you don't mind doing a couple of trips around the block, a space is pretty easy to find.

If we ever return to Gandia I'd definitely go back to the Bayren.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicenteFrasquet, Gerente at RH Bayren Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello Mark W

Thank you for your review of the RH Bayren Hotel & Spa

I was very happy to hear you were positively surprised with the Hotel, which pleased me very much.

The hotel was recently refurbished, finalized already almost a year ago, how quickly time passes. We put a lot of hard work into the transformation and your comments sum it up.

All reviews are very important to us and help as the feedback helps us to constantly improve on our service, we are going to look into the issue of bathrobes and soon we will add more international channels on our TV’s.

Thank you also for mentioning our staff, who are great workers and deserve the credit.

Regarding breakfast, I agree with you, I am also a lover of the breakfast buffet and I am really pleased that you enjoyed it.

Thank you again for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor and if you return to Gandia we would be very happy to welcome you back

By the way if you do return, visit the SPA, believe me you will enjoy it.

Kindest Regards

Vicente – manager

RH Bayren Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed at the Beautiful RH Hotel Bayren Playa de Gandia 31/03 - 06/04/2014. room 327 had the Sun from 12 mid day- 19.00 , the room was very hot. So I switched on the Air Conditioning, to try and cool down the room only, to discover that the cold air function did not work and oly hot air was available. i contacted reception to explain that i could not get any cool air and room was very hot, I was told that was right, and only hot air was available at this time of year, and I was to open the large sliding door onto the balcony. So I did this and it did help cool the room down slightly. On Friday and Saturday 4th and 5th April the weather was extremely hot 28' Sun, Sun Sun all day, and the bedroom was like a sauna and uncomfortable. On the Night of Saturday the 5th April the Local Night club "Bacarra" (2 streets away) Opened about 23.00 until 07.00 on the Sunday , how do I know the opening times, because I was kept awake all night by very very loud, Music being pumped out by the DJ, It felt as if my bedroom was in the middle of the Disco and of course I could not close the bedroom sliding door, as the heat in the room was still very hot. When they advertised that RH Hotel Bayren is a 4 star Hotel, you would expect that the Hotel is air conditioned throughout the year and at your choice. The facilities at this Hotel are fantastic, staff friendly and food good, but my stay was completely disapointing by the lack of Air Con and the terrible noise fron the Local Night club, I would have to think twice about staying here again. I did complain about the issues to reception and at check out but got no response. I would be very interested in a response from the Hotel Management ?

Room Tip: Noise from local night club was very disturbing, and not helped by the lack of cool Air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicenteFrasquet, Gerente at RH Bayren Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello GaryThomas

Thank you for taking time to share your opinion of our “beautiful hotel” with fellow travellers. We have put a lot of effort into making the Hotel what it is.

On the other hand please accept my apologies that you didn’t have the best possible stay, believe me, I'm sorry. I also apologise for the fact that your discontent was not fed back to me in order to discuss this with you personally.

Certainly the first Friday and Saturday of April we experienced very warm weather and temperatures were higher than the average , something that we all enjoyed, though it's a shame, it is the reason that resulted in your subsequent dissatisfaction.

Our heating and cooling system is made to work with heating or air conditioning, but not at the same time. This installation is a much more eco-efficient system but obviously on this occasion not to your satisfaction.

The change of heating to air conditioning project it this year scheduled for mid-April, BUT always taking into account weather stability, once we are sure we are not going to have a change back to cooler weather we will switch over.

I sincerely regret that on having your balcony door open that the noise from the street disturbed your sleep. I will speak to the business in question and raise our concerns about the noise in the early hours. After midnight the noise should not disturb any residents in the vicinity. I think that maybe it was revellers in the street leaving the place. I am sorry sometimes these type of incident’s are unavoidable.

I hope my explanation helps in some way understand the situation and also hope that you return to the hotel so we can restore your faith in us.

Thank you and hope to welcome you back soon
Kindest Regards

Vicente Frasquet - Manager

RH Hotel Bayren & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to RH Bayren Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RH Bayren Hotel & Spa

Address: Paseo de Neptuno 62 | Playa de Gandia, 46730 Gandia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Valencia Province > Gandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gandia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gandia
#2 Green Hotel in Gandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — RH Bayren Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The emblematic RH Bayren Hotel & SPA has been totally renovated and has the perfect location: front line of the beach, next to the magnificent promenade, in a central area of Gandia Beach. All rooms have been renovated, offering comfort and relaxation with a modern design. New exterior spaces, new additional pool and hydro massage with bubble beds, all surrounded with garden areas, in which you can find a variety of palms trees, protected for their singularity. Terrace-bar with sea views. Spectacular cafe, salon-lounge with sea view. SPA with various facilities and relaxing & health treatments. All the interior and exterior areas have been renovated, so that the RH Bayren Hotel & Spa, continues to be at the forefront of tourism and the best choice for our guests. The "Mare Nostrum"acclimatized indoor restaurant has a terrace facing the sea, our "Chef" offers a buffet with an excellent selection of Valencian dishes, fideua, paella, etc. .., and also show cooking for international products. If you want to relax in our spa area, you can enjoy the heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam bath, Scottish shower "rain shower" and our new floating capsule or keep fit with cardio vascular exercises. If you just want a massage or specific treatment you will be attended by trained personnel. Rooms are large and comfortable, fully equipped with flat screen TV, mini-bar, chair or sofa-bed, terrace, etc. Most have front or side sea views. Single rooms have a window view and a double bed (135 cm). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your RH Bayren Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rh Bayren i Gandia
Rh Bayren i Hotel
Bayren Hotel
RH Bayren Hotel & Spa Gandia, Spain - Valencia Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RH Bayren Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.