We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A v nice surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boka

Boka
Plaza de las Palmeras, Sotogrande, Spain
0034956790206
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Boka is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 35 restaurants in Sotogrande
Price range: $39 - $72
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A v nice surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We went there iut of curiosity as it says it is the only restaurant in soto that is in the michelin guide. The food is simple with a contemporary twist and delicious! We loved the tuna starter and thr lubina, which was one od the most delicious ones i've eaten in Spain (& no potatoes on sight). The duck a
Is also outstanding. Their take on tarte tatin was also really good. Only side down, the service, which is not on par with the quality of the food. But i hope more people discover it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    50
    14
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was very disappointed by this restaurant. The service is very slow, expect to stay at the table for at least 3 hrs. It is so slow that you eat more bread than their food. When the main course arrived we were no longer hungry and were very tired. The food is just as disappointing as the service.
It is a real shame as Sotogrande needs a restaurant like this one.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sotogrande, Spain
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A must for foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Boka has a small but well planned menu, all the dishes are amazing. Produce quality is of the highest standard. Recently I have chosen the wagyu beef for my main dish, my husband ordered the cod (which is a new addition). We both loved the meal. We always share a selection of starters with a bottle of cava. In summer you can sit outside which is recommended. Book in summer for an outdoor table.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed my meal and would return. The restaurant was very quiet due to Spain playing in football. They appear to be trying.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“French "fusion" style cuisine in the port”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This restaurant is a real find in Sotogrande, and is definitely worth a visit. There are 5 starters - which include smoked veal, scallops, foie gras. It has about 10 main courses ranging from a pasta or risotto course, to fish and meat. You are treated to an amuse bouche (which was divine and different most nights) - we had a radish dish with celeriac. Bread is home-made from nut bread, brown bread, potato bread and pumpkin bread. We had the foie gras and prawn raviloi which was superb. The portions are small but everything tastes so delicious - hot, well seasoned with fresh herbs which really makes such a difference. It's not a restaurant that would suit everyone - the portions aren't large. If you're looking for steak and chips, burgers or pizza this is not the place for you. It's an upmarket restaurant which Sotogrande needs and I strongly recommend. Haby, the chef's wife, is from Burkina Faso and is utterly charming - we should give them every bit of support we can to make this restaurant a success.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boka also viewed

Sotogrande, Costa de la Luz
Sotogrande, Costa de la Luz
 
Sotogrande, Costa de la Luz
Sotogrande, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Boka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.