We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Place To Relax and Enjoy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aruma Coffee Lounge

Aruma Coffee Lounge
Preface Building | Corner Burgos and De Leon Street, Iligan, Mindanao, Philippines
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 47 restaurants in Iligan
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Description: Telephone + 63 63 221 7913
Restaurant details
Description: Telephone + 63 63 221 7913
Brewster, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Place To Relax and Enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I enjoyed the better part of a pleasant afternoon at Aruma Coffee Lounge seated at one of the outdoor tables, shaded under the awning. I was meeting some friends there for coffee and conversation and since it had just rained it cooled off making the outdoor tables an attractive alternative to being seated inside.

A quick look at the menu gave me the desire to try one of the Club Sandwich offerings and just a regular cup of coffee both of which were very satisfactory. It did not take long for the friendly and attentive wait staff to deliver our orders to the table. As we spent a couple of hours enjoying conversation and for me doing a bit of sight seeing from my seat we were not rushed by the staff to eat and run.

I will agree with other posters here about people coming up to our table asking for money. These did not seem like the usual street beggars that may be encountered elsewhere. They were well dressed, well mannered and had some kind of Identification Card identifying them as being part of some kind of organization. Obviously, as a foreign visitor I felt I may have attracted their attention. My suggestion would be to just wave them on.

The indoor seating is well organized and very clean in appearance. I used the CR ( restroom ) and found it to be quite clean and fully functional. Restroom facilities in public establishments can vary considerably from place to place. This one is very acceptable.

I found my experience at Aruma to be a most pleasant one and I will enjoy this place again on future visits.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    10
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cebu Island, Philippines
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Still One Of The Best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Still enjoy coming here time and time again. For coffee and cake it is hard to beat. Atmosphere is still good and the staff are friendly. The hours are a bit short and the range of food limited but then the kitchen is small and would not cater for a wide menu. Black outs affect operations on occasions and beggers can be an annoyance. Then again it is the Philippines. I like the free wifi it works well.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great owner/manager”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I loooove the tongue in cheek naming of this place. It automatically makes it a very casual place. The corner which it is on has just the right amount of "busy" in it. Great selection of food, pastries and coffee. Would love to visit again, if only for the wifi.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iligan, Philippines
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“A decent cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A nice coffee shop located downtown, but don't expect anything special. One of the worst features is the short hours they are opened. Does not open until 11am which usually means 11:30 and closes at 9pm. Hours are even shorter on weekends. The pasta is good, but would be better if they offered more varieties of food and desserts. They usually have good WIFI, but do not have a generator for brownouts. It can be very noisy and if seated outside there can be many coming by asking for money. There are much better options in Iligan.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“The Best Cafe In Iligan By Far.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

This is the best coffee shop by a long shot in Iligan City. Well located, clean, good atmosphere, good service and most of all you can get a good range of coffees unlike the American brewed crap that you get elsewhere. The Banoffee cake is by far a huge hit and is always worth a try. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. I agree with all the other reviewers, it's the place to have a good cup of coffee. Enjoy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aruma Coffee Lounge also viewed

Iligan, Lanao del Norte Province
Iligan, Lanao del Norte Province
 
Iligan, Lanao del Norte Province
Iligan, Lanao del Norte Province
 

Been to Aruma Coffee Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aruma Coffee Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.