We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak sandwiches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Janit's Texas Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Janit's Texas Diner
253 SH 10, Kaeo, New Zealand
09 405 0569
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 restaurants in Kaeo
Restaurant details
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great steak sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Loved the steak sandwiches. Janit is a great hostess & a better cook!! will frequent this reataurant every time we pass this way!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    3
    2
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kaitaia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Was a huge favorite with the kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The kids liked the food on the menu, we had a few good steaks in the past, but to let us pay full price for miniature golf after we all had a meal was a bit harsh.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This used to be a great place to go but since being handed back to the ex wife it is hopeless. Service is poor to nonexistent, to the stage that shortly after we walked into the restaurant the only existing customer walked out as he had obviously given up all hope of ever getting his meal. Our breakfast took so long to arrive we nearly did the same and when it did arrive 1 meal was nearly cold. Obviously the CHEF? could only cook 1 meal at a time. Drive through to Manganui and get a real meal.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Down home and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

Janet is very welcoming. Fod was great. I liked the huge hamburger. Value for money ..yes

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

You go there just for the ribs, yummy. Well priced & plenty of other things if you dont enjoy ribs. they even sell the sauce to so you can make the ribs at home for yourself. Massive burgers too.
If you cant find something on theri menu to satisfy you then it would be hard pressed. Also outside dining on fine summer nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Janit's Texas Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Janit's Texas Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.