We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location and Delightful Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavalli Beach House Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cavalli Beach House Retreat to your Saves list
Cavalli Beach House Retreat
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Mahinepua Rd | RD 1, Kaeo 0478, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hors d’ovres & Wine Offer
Ranked #1 of 3 Kaeo B&B and Inns
London, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Location and Delightful Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We loved our stay: it was the end of the summer season, so we had the run of the place to ourselves. And, even better, the undivided attention of our hosts, who are both great fun yet they run a thoroughly professional but laid back establishment. Even full, it only has 3 bedrooms: so you are never going to suffer a crowd! And it really feels like a 'Retreat': a stunning drive, looking down onto the Northland coast and islands, and then you drop down into a pretty little bay and beach. It's this view that 'wow's' you from every room: the bedrooms with their private balconies and the dining room.
And a final word about the food: superb, and far too much of it! We were meant to be B&B, but so enjoyed dinner on the first night, that we opted for it for the rest of the stay.
"We shall return", to mis-quote a famous General.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
31
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
san francisco, ca
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

This 3 bedroom lodge is terrific. When we were there the owners were away but they had hired a wonderful couple to cook and take care of us. The regular bedrooms are tiny but the suite we had is large. They all have great balconies and you have use of the beach and the living/dining room too.
It is at least a 25 minute drive to other dinner dining options but staying in for dinner was delightful.
The beach is not private and a group came and camped out on the weekend but it was still quiet and wonderful. Nice swimming and kayaking.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

This was our first non-urban hotel experience in new Zealand and it lived up to the billing of serenity and personal service. The Barons are great hosts, but discrete enough to let the newcomers enjoy time alone . They recommended some great hikes and the kayaking was ideal. Carrie is a wonderful cook and treated us to some of the best meals we had on our trip.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Jo and Grant really looked after us all during our stay.


We had a fabulous stay and Mary's 50th birthday was memorable.

These fantastic people really made us and our friends feel very welcomed.


Grant's meals were truly superb.


Mary's said her highlight was having her own personal chef.

The location and setting was brilliant!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Well - says it all, really. We chose Cavalli as a place for a short, peaceful break with a bit of pampering. And it exceeded our hopes.

The bedroom was large and comfortable. The view was beautiful. The food was fantastic (and the wines were not the usual rip off - just a little above bottle shop prices).

The hosts looked after our every need. We were indeed pampered. If only we did not live on the other side of the world, we'd be back...!

Just a small word of warning - it is a long twisty drive to another restaurant. But, hey, who would want to eat elsewhere?

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

We and our friends began our month-long visit to NZ at Cavalli Beach House, and it set the measuring guide for the remainder of the trip. Carrie and Richard are the perfect hosts, great senses of humor, and really made us feel at home. Carrie's food was FABULOUS!
We greatly enjoyed the beach and kayaking their quiet bay, and we hiked to the "trig" for stunning views of the area. It was also close of Kauri Cliffs Golf Club, which all of us played and very much enjoyed.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

An absolute treat to yourself in a wonderful house, located in a beautiful private bay. Just as beautiful as shown in their website. The hosts were very nice, helpful to guide me in the region., and even helped me to rent a car before I arrived in New Zealand, as I couldn't do it from my country, due to a virus on the rental company website ! The food was excellent, the 2 hour massage the best I ever had. I stayed 2 nights, and would have stayed there for 2 weeks to explore the region if I could afford it. This is absolutely an address to recommand to your friends !!!

  • Liked — Gorgeous view on the private bay
  • Disliked — price (but still worth the sacrifice)
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavalli Beach House Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalli Beach House Retreat

Address: Mahinepua Rd | RD 1, Kaeo 0478, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaeo
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kaeo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cavalli Beach House Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavalli Beach House Retreat is a fabulous "absolute beachfront" 5 star property at Mahinepua - 45 minutes north of Kerikeri in the Far North of New Zealand. Comprising three guest suites with Pacifica based decor - the Ocean Suite which has it's own large sitting room and the two Ocean Rooms, all with large balconies and spectacular views. A magical combination of adventure, romance and cuisine with the emphasis on local fresh produce and our homegrown vegetables, salads and herbs.Enjoy our hillside jacuzzi and sleep to the sound of waves.The Cavalli Beach House Retreat offers true coastal solitude in a unique and stunning environment - a point of difference for the ultimate New Zealand experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cavalli Beach House Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalli Beach House Retreat Hotel Kaeo
Cavalli Beach House Retreat New Zealand/Kaeo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavalli Beach House Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.