We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to see it to believe it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavalli Beach House Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cavalli Beach House Retreat to your Saves list
Cavalli Beach House Retreat
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Mahinepua Rd | RD 1, Kaeo 0478, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hors d’ovres & Wine Offer
Ranked #1 of 3 Kaeo B&B and Inns
Saint Nom la Breteche
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“You have to see it to believe it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011 via mobile

Outstanding place in every respect. One Of the best I have ever be in all o ver the world. Excellent location, beautiful rooms with unblocked views on the bay, outstanding food - the best lamb, the best beef- and charming hosts. Even with poor weather it was a treat. One should Travel there just for the Cavalli beach bouse retreat.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
31
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

The most outstanding views across the Bay of Islands with endless outdoor pursuits to try if just soaking up the scenery isn't enough. 5* cuisine and luxury bedrooms and bathrooms all with their own balconies overlooking the beach, it is hard to imagine how you could improve this small, intimate lodge run by the owners who have endless experience of the international traveller.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Cavalli Islands Beach House has been on my radar for some years and we finally made it to start our end of year break with a relaxing 3 days. It was a hoot - because of the fellow guests who were very demanding - but Carrie & Richard were fabulous in ensuring our time was still enjoyable and what we were looking for. The house itself more than lives up to expectations; the view was simply gorgeous; and the breakfasts and dinners yummy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Our stay at Cavalli Beach House was simply wonderful. Everything about the retreat is divine with thoughtful touches that make a big difference. Hosts Richard and Carrie are delightful and create an atmosphere that is both luxurious and comfortable. Food is some of the best you will get anywhere on the plantet - fresh, tasty and well prepared. A lot of produce right out of Carrie's garden. This property is hard to beat for a special treat or if you are after some peace and quiet in an idylic location. Only complaint was that we didn't stay long enough - can't wait to come back. Thank you so much Richard and Carrie.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-on-Thames
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

We stayed at the Cavelli Beach house for 4 fabulous nights. Richard and Carrie were excellent hosts and kept us amused over pre-dinner drinks of their exploits abroad. We stayed fairly early on in our trip and all the other places had a lot to live up to.
Carries dinners and breakfasts were lst class and seemingly prepared so easily. It was great to be eating home cooked food and not nouvelle cuisine which gets hard to stomach after weeks away.
Cavelli is situated in a stunning position and within a reach of many interesting places. It is also close to Kauri Cliffs golf course which is in the top 100 in the world and has stunning views.
To sum up Cavelli was definately high on our list of venues and we would throughly recommend you give it a try. Nothing was too much trouble and we were even provided with maps and suggestions for trips. It was a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at this wonderful location. From the moment we arrived Carrie & Richard made us most welcome. The accommodation was most relaxing with the views across the sparkling waters of the bay and ot to the islands. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner on the night we stayed in and the breakfasts each morning were a great way to start the day which included views across the bays.
A must is a walk to the trig. The recent work by the national parks on the track to the lookout make this an enjoyable experince with great views up and downs the Cavalli Islands.
Carrie & Richard put a lot of effort into local places of interest including restaurants which made our stay all that more enjoyable.
We will plan to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

My husband and I had the pleasure of 2 nights at this awesome place. Driving down the private road to the beach house was quite special. Inside the main dining room and on the main deck was better than the brochure. The room was very well appointed. The hosts Carrie and Richard have been in the hospitality business for many years and they have perfected the casual friendly approach that is also very professional. We enjoyed the privacy of the deck off our room.

If you like to relax in 5star luxury, this is the place. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavalli Beach House Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalli Beach House Retreat

Address: Mahinepua Rd | RD 1, Kaeo 0478, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaeo
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kaeo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cavalli Beach House Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavalli Beach House Retreat is a fabulous "absolute beachfront" 5 star property at Mahinepua - 45 minutes north of Kerikeri in the Far North of New Zealand. Comprising three guest suites with Pacifica based decor - the Ocean Suite which has it's own large sitting room and the two Ocean Rooms, all with large balconies and spectacular views. A magical combination of adventure, romance and cuisine with the emphasis on local fresh produce and our homegrown vegetables, salads and herbs.Enjoy our hillside jacuzzi and sleep to the sound of waves.The Cavalli Beach House Retreat offers true coastal solitude in a unique and stunning environment - a point of difference for the ultimate New Zealand experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cavalli Beach House Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalli Beach House Retreat Hotel Kaeo
Cavalli Beach House Retreat New Zealand/Kaeo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavalli Beach House Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.