We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Saint Paterne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de Saint Paterne to your Saves list
Chateau de Saint Paterne
Rue de la Gaiete, 72610 Saint-Paterne, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Paterne
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just come back from a wonderful stay in the Chateau de Saint Paterne with our 3 young children. We stayed in the Chambre de la Roserie because it had an extra room where the 2 eldest (7 and 5) could stay and then we had an extra bed for the 3 year old in our room. The room was very spacious and had a great bathroom too.

We came here for a relaxing time so were happy to spend time at the pool with the kids and to play in the games field where they have badminton, swings, a tree house, table tennis and a trampoline set up. The kids loved it!

Food in the restaurant was amazing, 4 courses at €47 per head was worth the money and you also got a pre dinner drink or two. There was no menu, rather it was what Charles-Henry decided and we ate there 3 nights. There was also the option of going to their restaurant in town but as we had the children we preferred to stay based.

Thank you again to Ségolène and Charles-Henry for what was a restorative break that was much needed...until next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    37
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
113
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed with our 2 year old en route to Calais from Ile De Re in August 2013. The Chateau is very easy to find off the main road from Calais and we were immediately impressed with the garden and Chateau itself. We stayed in the Parc room one night and the Rosarie on the other night - both were wonderfully atmospheric in their own particular way. They are not finished in a super slick, characterless way so I think if you were used to more modern amenities you may be dissappointed however we loved everything about how the rooms were decorated and the thought that has gone into the funishings.
We arrrived quite late in the evening and the little one's meal was arranged as was our own later on in the dining room. The food was amazing and excellent value for money.
The Owners of the Chateau are extremely helpful but also discreet - you do feel as if they are sharing their home and that special atmosphere was very much appreciated by all 3 of us!
This is one of the nicest places I have stayed and would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at Saint-Paterne in for two brilliant days en-route to the south of France. Whilst our children made friends in the extensive gardens complete with lots of child-friendly things to do we pinched ourselves that we had found such a beautiful, family-owned chateau that, despite the 50 spiral steps to our room of 'mysteries', made us feel instantly like long-term residents.

Our room was spacious and full of oddities in keeping with the theme and managed to be interesting without being overly contrived. The bathroom was enormous and included a sofa, huge double sinks, claw-foot bath and walk-in shower.

Our visit included a booking at the intimate restaurant preceded a generous aperitif in the garden where we met other guests and enjoyed the tranquility of the grounds. Dinner was honest, delicious and interesting (the asparagus mouse was incredible) and our hosts Segolene and Halima were always friendly and attentive (a rare experience in France!).

On day two we enjoyed a scenic family cycle ride through the bucolic countryside, which included farmland, forest and country lanes.

One of the best places we have stayed in France.

Room Tip: Only choose room of mysteries if you want total seclusion and fit legs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary.
Beautiful setting and very relaxing around the pool.
We stayed in Henri Quatre, which had a little balcony. Most historic room but probably the smallest in the chateau.
Superb 4 course dinner prepared every night- very tasty but bring your elasticacted waistbands as you 'll need it by the end of the week!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

On arriving at Chateau St Paterne, we were greeted by the charming Halima, who greeted us warmly and showed us to our room, the Chambre de Madame. As we were travelling with 2 small children, 2 extra beds had already been added for us. There are other family rooms in the Chateau, but they were already fully booked so we were lucky to get the last suite, which was plenty big enough and had wonderful dual aspect views overlooking the glorious gardens, woods and swimming pool. There was also a lovely and comfortable four poster bed and free standing bath in the enormous bathroom. Yes there were nooks and crannies and creaky floorboards, but these things only made the whole place more charming and atmospheric. If you prefer sterile surroundings there is a perfectly good Mercure down the road. As far as we were concerned, the whole place was so incredibly pretty, with so much atmosphere that we were mesmerised from the start. The stress and tension of a long drive from England with 2 small kids in tow melted away in the sheer beauty and charm of our surroundings. For such a grand chateau, it was very comfortable and totally unpretentious.

On venturing outside into the extensive garden, which I believe is several acres, we found secret wooded lanes, a vast lawn with tables and chairs, swimming pool, badmington net, ping pong and a trampoline. Needless to say that the children were in heaven from the moment we arrived. This being Normandy, the heavens soon opened and a fierce storm began, so we took refuge inside the beautifully appointed sitting room and helped ourselves to a drink from the well-stocked and reasonably-priced honesty bar.

We had asked for the dinner d'hote for our first night and were offered an earlier sitting for the children if we wished rather than subject them to a late 4-course candlelit sophisticated dinner. We jumped at this offer and were offered a glass of chilled white wine while the kids were served with fresh fish, salad, yoghurt and bread. At this point we were also greeted by the very affable owner, Charles-Henry, who was all smiles and chatted and had a drink with us while the kids enjoyed their dinner. So far, so wonderful. And it just got better...

We were very pleased to have the Chambre de Madame as our children's monitor worked in the dining room so we could relax later over a sumptious meal. Aperitifs were served around 7.30 by the very charming and friendly Segolene, wife and co-owner, who was also very helpful with ideas for things to do in the area with kids (they have 3 of their own).

Dinner itself was 4 courses of lovely home cooking. All freshly prepared with lots of homegrown herbs and salad and really excellent deserts. There was also a cheese course and plenty of fresh bread. The dining room was beautifully lit by lots of candles and the huge windows were open onto the fading sun, ancient trees and crumbling outhouses, lending an almost eerie atmosphere which was exceptionally romantic. Dinner at the chateau is not cheap and yes, the wine is extra, but the food served is of high quality and inventively and lovingly cooked. Portions are very generous and there are usually second helpings on offer which we found very hard to resist! Once again the charming Halima was serving us and it turned out that her husband and her had come from Morocco many years ago to work at the chateau. It seems that the owners' love of Morocco has brought many other influences over too, including some of the delicious cooking (even a lovely compote of apples and orange zest with yoghurt for breakfast) and also the decor in some of the rooms, with warm rich tones and earthy colours. Service was excellent and we enjoyed the company of the other guests over coffee and digestifs in the drawing room afterwards.

We had booked 3 nights on our way to the south and 3 nights on our way back and we are so glad that we did. We ate at the chateau most nights as it was delicious (we even purchased the cookbook available written by the owners!) and the children were well catered for. We also tried their sister restaurant in Alencon called the Rive Droite. The food here was excellent, with hints of Morocco and slightly more refined than the chateau (the kids were offered fresh grilled chicken or fish with vegetables followed by ice cream so they were happy) but overall we preferred the dinner at the chateau. We just loved the atmosphere and the warmth of the place.

We had a peek at some of the other bedrooms before we left and they were all beautiful so whichever one you end up in will be lovely. There is even a wooden cabin in the woods with a hot tub on the terrace which is quite special. Rooms were also cleaned every day, which we thought was excellent and unusual in a maison d'hotes.

We absolutely loved our stay at Chateau St Paterne. The owners are utterly charming (we miss you already CH and S!!) and the staff very friendly and helpful. The chateau is stunning, the gardens are fabulous and the food delicious. The whole place is so much more than the sum of its parts - it has heart and soul. We are looking forward to going back. Soon!

Room Tip: All gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Rather incongruously this chateau is down an ordinary street in the middle of the suburbs of Alencon--however it is set in its own beautiful grounds with plenty of parking and a swimming pool just right for anybody needing to cool down or entertain their children.The chateau itself is quirky,historic and charming.We found it rather too far from the chateaux of the Loire as an everyday base but an excellent place to stay as a treat in itself or when travelling further south into France.The meal we had was very unusual and a gastronomic delight though expensive. The owners Ségolène and Charles-Henry were very helpful and great hosts.If you do stay here then I would recommend going to the village of St Ceneri le Gerei.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Quite a change from our other hotels, this one had gardens/grounds (and parking). The setting couldn't be much better. The rooms had that kind of aged up togetherness which is really comfortable. The place has outside badminton, table tennis and a great pool. We dined in the hotel. It's a set menu (so let them know in advance of any dislikes) for all guests. We had lamb which was cooked superbly and in a way I haven't had before.
The distance to the tunnel is almost perfect for a day's travel to/from Bristol
Staff are really great, particularly the owner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Saint Paterne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Saint Paterne

Address: Rue de la Gaiete, 72610 Saint-Paterne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Saint-Paterne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Paterne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château de Saint Paterne, 3 star hotel, 2km from Alençon, between Loire and Normandy, great stop-over place from Calais to L’île de Ré, Dordogne, Bordeaux, Brittany.and mont saint michel : Luxury hotel, chateau hotel, boutique hotel and private chateau, a special place to stay.Combining comfort and elegance, the luxury chateau de Saint Paterne will also give you the charm of a private chateau ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Chateau de Saint Paterne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Saint Paterne Hotel Saint-Paterne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Saint Paterne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.