We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach-front getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dano Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malapascua Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dano Beach Resort
Save
You added Dano Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bounty Beach | Malapascua Island, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great beach-front getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Clean room with fan, situated right on the beach -- loved being served breakfast on my own personal veranda looking out onto the ocean. Friendly, responsive and helpful staff -- from setting up my stay via email and coordinating overland transport from Cebu to Maya/boat transport from Maya right up to Dano's front door, to greeting me personally upon arrival and recommending a local dive shop (Fun & Sun -- far more personal than the other larger dive shops in the area), my experience was top-knotch.

Hope to be back to try out the restaurant (under renovation while I was there) next time!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 11 -- right up front, facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My only major problem with this resort is the huge boat (owned by the resort) that rests between the cottages and the beach and blocks the view.

Other then that, its very very good. Room was spacious, bright, and simple. Nothing but a bed, fan, table and a mirror (and a cold shower/bathroom) - but who needs more ? Room is right infront of Bounty Beach, probably around its best section, you open the door, and its right there - the sea. You even get a small balcony - a good place to read, eat, drink or daydream.

When I was there they were renovating the restaurant, but you could still get breakfast (included in the room price) which was pretty. Didn't need much while I was there, but staff (well, one lady), was very helpful and nice.

Room rates are pretty cheap, considering what you get - and comparing to other resorts in the area.

Btw, no WiFi.

When I come back to Malapascua, I definitely go back to Dano.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights and were more than satisfied. Our room was very basic with a fan and cold water (1100 per night, including breakfast), but with a perfect view to the beach from our terrace. And most importantly it was very quiet there. The restaurant was under construction when we were there but there was very little inconvenience since our wonderful hostess Shirill came in the morning to get our orders and brought us our breakfast to enjoy at our own terrace.

There was only a little walk from Dano to Malapascua Exotic Island Dive center (& hotel & restaurant) which is an excellent 5 star place to do your dives with the best. And the restaurant there is also very good, with a varied menu, great shakes and drinks and a chilled-out atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

The site on which Dano is located is huge! Most rooms are close to the beach front with balconies looking out to sea. The fan rooms are 1500 pesos and are good value for money. Rooms with A/C are however just as basic and overpriced at 2800 peso+.

Our room had ants everywhere and we asked to move but then lost our lovely balcony which was closet to the beach.

The staff are relaxed but helpful enough. Breakfast was okay and included in the price.

All in all a good, basic place to stay and located at the quieter end of the main beach.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Check out this place... Value for your money, their rates are fair no overpricing! We stayed in the Island for 5 days. Perfect for quality time with your loved ones... You can simply enjoy your privacy here... A nice place to catch the beauty of SUNRISE! You will surely have a good night sleep here away from the crowd... A lot of fishermen around so you can buy seafoods as early as 7am. And their rooms are just few minutes away from the beach - so lovely! Nice location...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Lying in our room and listening to the gentle waves on the beach is heaven! We would probably stay here again but a few little things could make the place so much better. We did not miss aircon or hot water but they could come and clean the rooms daily instead of every three days. The location is perfect though and you don't come here to hang out in your room. The people are also very friendly. Please can someone do something about the terrible state of the poor cats and dogs on this island!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppiger
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

we are just back now from malapascua.
we stayed at the daño resort.
nice bungalow with seaview for 1500 pesos a night, the location is one of the best of the island, that's really the good point.

bad points
in the bread we got for breakfast were insects and worms! no joke! to have (salted) water in the room i had to go to the restaurant every morning. the personal of the restaurant was unfriendly, but some of the other persons working there were verysympatic... and we had the same bed sheets for a week, until we asked for fresh ones...

as said, one of the best locations on the island, but for the service it is possible to to much better.

  • Liked — the seaview
  • Disliked — food, dirt, crew
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dano Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dano Beach Resort

Address: Bounty Beach | Malapascua Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Dano Beach Hotel Malapascua Island
Dano Beach Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dano Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.