We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fan rooms are good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dano Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malapascua Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dano Beach Resort
Save
You added Dano Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bounty Beach | Malapascua Island, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Fan rooms are good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

The site on which Dano is located is huge! Most rooms are close to the beach front with balconies looking out to sea. The fan rooms are 1500 pesos and are good value for money. Rooms with A/C are however just as basic and overpriced at 2800 peso+.

Our room had ants everywhere and we asked to move but then lost our lovely balcony which was closet to the beach.

The staff are relaxed but helpful enough. Breakfast was okay and included in the price.

All in all a good, basic place to stay and located at the quieter end of the main beach.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu Island, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Check out this place... Value for your money, their rates are fair no overpricing! We stayed in the Island for 5 days. Perfect for quality time with your loved ones... You can simply enjoy your privacy here... A nice place to catch the beauty of SUNRISE! You will surely have a good night sleep here away from the crowd... A lot of fishermen around so you can buy seafoods as early as 7am. And their rooms are just few minutes away from the beach - so lovely! Nice location...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Lying in our room and listening to the gentle waves on the beach is heaven! We would probably stay here again but a few little things could make the place so much better. We did not miss aircon or hot water but they could come and clean the rooms daily instead of every three days. The location is perfect though and you don't come here to hang out in your room. The people are also very friendly. Please can someone do something about the terrible state of the poor cats and dogs on this island!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruppiger
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

we are just back now from malapascua.
we stayed at the daño resort.
nice bungalow with seaview for 1500 pesos a night, the location is one of the best of the island, that's really the good point.

bad points
in the bread we got for breakfast were insects and worms! no joke! to have (salted) water in the room i had to go to the restaurant every morning. the personal of the restaurant was unfriendly, but some of the other persons working there were verysympatic... and we had the same bed sheets for a week, until we asked for fresh ones...

as said, one of the best locations on the island, but for the service it is possible to to much better.

  • Liked — the seaview
  • Disliked — food, dirt, crew
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

We showed up on Malapascua Island with no booking and walked in at Dano on Xmas Day and got a pretty clean bungalow just 20 meters from the beach, with a great view of the sunrise.

The fan room with private bath (but no hot water) cost 1000 pesos a night and included a good breakfast (3 choices of eggs, bacon, toast, coffee, etc.) for both of us, which we considered very good value. The toilet & shower worked both worked fine, but the water was slightly salty. The bed was basic but comfortable enough. Towels were provided but we had to ask to change them.

I think they are still a fairly new resort that is still learning the finer points of customer service, so keeping expectations low would be best.......consider it a Robinson Crusoe roughing it kind of experience (but with the bonus of plumbing and 24 hour electricity!), and things will go smoother staying here.

For example, on our second night at Dano, we wanted to support our resort by eating dinner there, but they had run out of food!! They asked us to come back tomorrow when the resupply boat delivered their groceries!
So their logistics is still a bit off. But plenty of other places to eat anyway.

Their affiliated Dan's Divers was a great dive experience, very professional & safe, good equipment, but also laid-back and giving a much more personal experience. For example, the first day I did the famous Thresher Shark dive at Monad Shoal with a big outfit that had 20 other divers on the boat, whereas after Dano Resort connected me with Dan's Divers, there was just 1 other customer on the boat with me, so a great personalized semi-private dive was better than the larger group diving. I also did one "private" dive with just me and Jo-Jo the dive master!

So, go to Malapascua Island for the diving, and stay at Dano Beach Resort for the great beach and good value but with just OK service, and go with the flow of the laid-back Malapascua Island.

  • Liked — Great deal of a basic beachfront bungalow with breakfast for just 1000 pesos? -- Wonderful!!
  • Disliked — Ants, but hey, it's their island too!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dipolog, Philippines
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2007

Malapascua is small island just north of Cebu, Philippines. Good diving, amazing beautiful beach - better than world-famous, but now too spoiled, Boracay.
See www.malapascua-island.com for more general info.
Getting there is hard work. Small native "pump-boats" run from the Cebu City end of the road bus terminal, a place called Maya. There is no pier, so expect to get your feet wet! Busses take 4 hours from Cebu City. Last pump boat goes at 5pm. After that you must pay lots for a special boat trip.
Dano Beach resort is at the far end of the white beach. Bungalows cost Php 1,200 - which is not a lot UK£12 / US$25 but service was appauling.
I requested a chair to sit on, on the verandah, and was bluntly told none were available. Simple plastic chairs can easily be purchased locally for less than Php200. I tore a hole in my new shorts sitting on a home-made table of nailed bamboo strips as there was nothing else to sit down on.
In the morning the resort's water pump stopped and wasn't fixed, so no way to wash; the beach resort owners just shrugged and said to wash in the sea.
A few bigger resort places on Malapasqua have better facilities at maybe double the nightly price. Try Blue Water or Cocobana if you want to stay here. Ging-gings is a good place to eat.
Greedy local owners have been overbuilding on the beach (which is public, govement-owned property) and a lot of illegal constructions have been marked with big painted red X's to sgnal their demolition, if less ythan 30 metres from the high-tide line.
Will this really go ahead, or will the often lazy and corrupt Philippine bureauracy allow one of the world's finest beaches to be destroyed by greed and over-development?

  • Liked — beach & ocean view
  • Disliked — no water: no chair to sit on
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dano Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dano Beach Resort

Address: Bounty Beach | Malapascua Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Dano Beach Hotel Malapascua Island
Dano Beach Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dano Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.