We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most wonderful Island and a most memorable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalanggaman Islet

Kalanggaman Islet
Philippines
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A most wonderful Island and a most memorable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This Island is like a scenario you only think exist on paintings or pictures. It is nothing else than a paradise. Christal clear blue water, wonderful corals under the surface, millions of fishes, white powder sand, palmtrees, and on top of it all, a most tasty Barbeque on the white beach. Calangaman Island is an absolute must if you are in Malapasqua. The banka boat ride takes abort 90 minutes and if you are lucky, we were, you will be guided with a grop of dolphins during the trip over.
See you on Calangaman Island next time!

Gunnar and Ann -Marie

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    17
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Ok, A bit over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went on an organised trip to Kalanggaman with Explorer divers.
My husband was diving & I snorkelled. The snorkelling was not great. Not sure if it was down to the time of year.Th corals were bleached/dead and the marine life was practically non existent.

The island itself is white sand with the bluest aqua water surrounding it. There is not much shade, if the sun is hot & shining.
We had a fabulous BBQ lunch, a quick walk around, then back onto the boat.

Overall, we had a lovely day, but would probably not bother to return

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
125 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
406 helpful votes 406 helpful votes
“Excellent Island for a day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I went to this island together with TSD for dive trips. So we make a stop on the island for lunch.

The island have a very nice sand bar. It has huts available there for us. A run down toilet is also available.

It is not advisable to swim at the sand bar due to the currents.

The island do have some water activities like kayak.

However, going there from Malapascua is almost a 2hr ride. The marine tax is the highest I have ever seen, P500.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Must-do day trip from Malapascua Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We took a day trip to Clanggaman Island with Thresher Shark Divers. I highly recommend the trip if you have the time. There's a 500P park fee, and we paid a fuel surcharge and food surcharge to TSD, but it was well worth it.
It's a pretty long boat ride over the island, hence the fuel surcharge (I think it was 2 1/2 hours, but if you sit or stand at the front of the boat, you're likely to see lots of flying fish and possibly some dolphins which breaks up the monotony). On the way to the island, you'll see another large island on the left. This is Leyte, which is where Imelda Marcos is from.
Once near the island, we hooked up to a mooring line and dropped into shallow water with mostly hard and soft corals that sloped down to a wall that drops down very deep (probably hundreds of meters deep). There are opportunities here to see Pygmy Sea Horses in fan corals, but we didn't find any. I did see a lot of nudibranchs, translucent shrimp (not sure of the species) and a boxer shrimp in the shallows.
After the dive, we motored around the sand bar, tied the boat to a palm tree and disembarked for our beach BBQ. We had beef, chicken and pork skewers, pancit, and rice, along with mangoes for desert. The food was great. After eating, we walked to the end of the sand bar and took some photos. The island environment is pretty breathtaking, at least on par if not better than my trip to Half Moon Caye off the coast of Belize.
By the time we got back to the boat, it was time to leave the island for another wall dive in nearly the same spot. It was a great trip.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great day trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very nice day trip from Malapascua. Beautiful sand bar stretching out into the sea. Nice palm trees to provide shade and a great spot for a barbecue.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalanggaman Islet also viewed

Oslob, Cebu Island
Moalboal, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu Island, Visayas
 

Been to Kalanggaman Islet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalanggaman Islet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.