We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay in Malapascua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malapascua Garden Resort

Save Saved
You added Malapascua Garden Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Malapascua Garden Resort
Daan Bantayan, Logon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Place to Stay in Malapascua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you are looking for a great value for youre money, MGR is highly recommendable place to stay.

Rooms are clean, spacious and affordable. Staff are very accomodating especially mam Perlita and her brother who provided us with tips and guided us throughout our stay in MGR.

They cater to all your needs and provide you the best service they could offer. They will provide the cheapest island tour service exclusive for their customer.

If you want some souvenirs, make sure to ask mam Perlita and bring her with you, she herself will haggle the souvenir shop to get more discount.

Will recommend to my friends and return to this place on my next vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

What started out as a two day weekend getaway turned into 6 nights. My wife and I just didn't want to leave. The hotel is super clean and had tv and a/c (the quiet type). They management and employees were incredibly friendly. The beach is only a short walk away, probably 4 or 5 minutes. The garden area was nice to hang out in and use there free wifi. Thanks Perlita, hope Tess and I can return soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were greeted by a very warm and friendly welcome from the staff of this place. We were provided by everything we need, like flash lights, spoon and fork without any charge. Although some confusions arose in our rooms by asking us to transfer to another room and vice versa, but this was done to situate us properly making sure that the cable TV functions well and the room is cleaned. The room was descent for a resort. It's even more than enough for what you paid. Overall, we enjoyed our moment in this place especially with the welcoming smiles of the staff every time we see them. I recommend this to my friends planning to go the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby, MT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

While the room was clean and new, problems with the staff made this a hotel we simply had to leave. There were numerous mis-communications with the hotel. I booked what I thought was a complete transfer only to find it didn't include the porters or the boat to the island (most resorts give a complete transfer). Of course, I ended up paying more. Then another communication snafu was over the nights booked which had the owner asking me to leave and find another hotel for one night over Easter weekend!

The water was shut off a number of times due to a leaky pipe but I wasn't told until I tried to use the water and then I had to go ask them to turn it on numerous times. They also turned it off at night and didn't understand why I would be upset that I had no toilet to use.

Internet was basically useless.

Moreover nobody seemed concerned about any of these issues and when I tried to address them, the manager became downright angry with me. I never experienced this kind of attitude anywhere else in the Philippines. Perhaps this was because they stayed up all night playing Mahjong on several nights instead of looking after their property and guests.

I would not return. There are many other places to stay on Malapascua, many on the beach at the same or lower price. I stayed here because it was just about the only place left on the island due to the holiday. Now I know why.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuzM733, Inhaber at Malapascua Garden Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We understand that you have been unhappy for advanced leaving and our resort was fully booked on the fifth day of your stay in Malapascua Island but your booking was confirmed for 4 days only and not for 5 days.
We confirmed you pickup service from Cebu to Maya Port and not to Malapascua Island and we gave you even a very high discount for the special trip you used (without booking) from Maya to Malapascua.
We apologize for the inconvenience because of the water problems (broken pipe); we tried to solve this as soon as possible.
We’re well known for a very friendly resort and we’re sorry that you could not experience the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I really tried to like this place but so much went wrong that it was like a bad comedy. Things would have been better if the management's attitude had not been so bad. The first night and next morning there was no water at all for brushing teeth, showers or toilet. We inquired the next morning and all we received was a vague answer about "this water problem is terrible." We found out that a pipe was broken so the management was simply turning the water off unless guests asked for it to be turned back on. This lasted for two days until it was finally fixed. At that time, we went to finally enjoy showers and there was no hot water. We came home on our last night and it took us several minutes of working the key in the door to unlock it. The key had been sticky before. When we closed the door, the door knob fell off. We also noticed that the air conditioning unit was completely without power - not just shut off. Fortunately we found a security (?) man since there was no one else around. There is no office and in the evenings everyone is just gone. He told us maintenance was gone for the night and just to crawl in and out of the window. He also immediately walked to the back of the unit and flipped a breaker to restart the AC. Apparently the manager didn't like us leaving the AC on to keep the room cool when we were gone in the evenings so she simply flipped the breaker off without telling us. The next morning, she asked us what we had done to break her door knob. Seriously, we were completely taken aback. It was a holiday week and every other room at this resort was booked as was the entire island but we managed to find an open room with the help of a friend and moved immediately. One other important thing, the pictures of the resort don't show that there is a large building being built and one third of the place is a construction zone. We absolutely loved the island and will be returning next year but would never stay here again. Ocean Vida is highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, book with another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luz M, Owner at Malapascua Garden Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi Mr. Redlon,
we are really sorry for the water problems (broken pipe) and that it couldn’t be
solved immediately and the problem with the door knob and apologize for
this inconveniences. In most hotels in Asia is the aircon automatically shut off
when you’re leaving the room to save energy. We only forgot to put it on in the
evening before you came back. We understand that you have not been happy
for advanced leaving and that our resort was fully booked on the fifth day
or your stay in Malapascua Island but your booking was confirmed for 4 days
and not for 5 days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed 3 weeks February 2013, while diving at TSD which is a 2-3 minute walk from MGR same as the main beach. Rooms are big, nice decorated and spacious, hot water is frequently available same as good internet connection by the bar/restaurant, which cannot be expected in many places of Malapascua. MGR is located in a very nice tranquil garden setting away from the most noisy areas that do exist in this otherwise fantastic beautiful little paradise.
Best part of MGR are the hospitality and kindness of the owners and staff - they will do their outmost to help you with any kind of request/need you might have such as arranging tours, in-house massage, get you a bandage when blisters from diving gets to you;-), arrange early breakfast etc.etc....And the very best part is that you will receive a lot of beautiful smiles and laughs during your stay there. Big thanks to Luz, Dieter & Co.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed a week here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The 'resort' is small and quiet and the owners and staff are exceptionally kind, friendly and helpful. They make you feel like part of a family as opposed to just guests. This was an attitude we found throughout Malapascua island, and is what makes the whole place so special. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a decent bathroom with hot water shower. Wifi is free in the resort though it didn't work in our room. You could get a signal from the terrace outside the room (but a poor one). Best bet is to sit by the bar/restaurant area (not exactly a hardship). Whilst the location isn't on the beach, it's really only a stone's throw away. Malapascua is small and you never have far to walk anywhere. You can be at Bounty Beach in a matter of minutes, and Logon beach is even closer. Food at the in-house bistro is good (but, aside from breakfast, can take forever at other times of the day). There are cheaper, local places nearby, but equally there are more expensive places on the beach - so the price is kind of average. Would highly recommend 'Kiwi' restaurant (go out the side entrance, turn left and it's on your lefthandside just a very short walk away). The owner Gemma is lovely and her food is incredible! (amazing pumpkin & coconut soup!!!). Food also takes a long time here though, so expect to wait around an hour for your meal!! There is also Ging-Gings restaurant close by (cheap) and, if you fancy real Italian pizza, there is proper authentic fare at Angelina's restaurant on Logon beach.

We were very happy with our stay and would definitely return here if we ever make it back to Malapascua. If you're a scuba-diver avoid the high-price, flashy dive shops on Bounty Beach and head to Dan's Dive - just a minute from the hotel. Fantastic divemaster and crew, a fraction of the price of other dive shops, and mostly it was just us on the boat! The most on any of our dives was 4 divers! When you look at some of the other dive shops, they head out with 20+ people on the boat!

If I could make any improvements/suggestions at Malapascua Garden Resort it would be:
* kettle in the room (we like to make our own tea!)
* wardrobe or drawers (for such a big room it seemed strange they hadn't incorporated a wardrobe or similar. There were a couple of shelves in the cupboard where the safe was but these aren't very practical)
* do something about the musty smell in the bathroom (probably due to the plumbing/drainage, but our bathroom always smelt somewhat unpleasant).

These are minor comments though and did not impact on the enjoyment of our stay! Thank you MGR!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malapascua Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malapascua Garden Resort

Address: Daan Bantayan, Logon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty lodging in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Boutique resort is a luxury home-away-from-home retreat, surrounded by a natural tropical garden near tranquil white-sand beaches on the beautiful Malapascua Island above the north tip of Cebu Island. The Resort consists of five duplex buildings, each with two comfortable rooms. Each room has a private bathroom with hot water supply, daily room service, WIFI internet access, Flatscreen 32” TV, Aircon with individual control, kingsize beds, safety deposit box and an delightful terrace. Guests can also enjoy massage. Privacy and relaxation are assured to visiting guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Malapascua Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malapascua Garden Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malapascua Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.