We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Filipino Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magellan's

Magellan's
On the beach, Philippines
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Antalya, Turkey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Filipino Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

If you're craving for Filipino food and you're in Malapascua, I suggest you go here. Food is good, the restaurant is tastefully decorated, the service is great.

We even had a good chat with the owner's parents who are also vacationing there. Really nice couple. They made sure that our food is done to our liking, and they gave us a couple of pointers for our stay in Malapascua.

Only downside is that it is a bit expensive. But I'm not going to rant about it because I understand that purchase & transport to Malapascua of quality ingredients for their dishes is quite challenging.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Food was terrible - ordered off their BBQ as recommended by the waitress. Took absolutely forever to arrive and when it did was a small portion and the BBQ pork was like eating an old boot.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Don't know about the food but I guarantee service is bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

It might not be fair to rate this restaurant but i just need to share my experience.

On arrival in the island, we immediately went around and we were excited to see Magellan's. We went to the bar to ask for the drinks list and 2 waitresses were just chatting their time away. They didn't seem to hear me. When I asked again, she seemed to give me a weird look and pointed to the menu which was defnitely not within my reach as it was in a counter INSIDE the bar!!! What did they expect me to do, jump over and get it!

Anyway, she eventually handed it out to me after seeing the rage in my face....we didn't feel like ordering anymore so we left.

On the way back, not realizing it was the same bar, we were so excited to see candle lit tables set out by the beach so we took a table just in time when foreigner guest was shouting out to a waitress demanding that she serve him a Coke. Another waitress came in and both waitresses were now arguing in loud voices on what to do with the order --- i think something to do with a rum coke and the guest simply had a different request on how to mix it !

When the waitress was handing out the drink list to us without even a greeting and without even looking at our direction, that's when we realized it was the same bar! We immediately took off!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First meal in Malapascua”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

I was excited for some great seafood after the long day of traveling. I ordered the spicy prawns. Prawns were plentiful, but spicy was lacking. Turned out to be an average meal for expensive prices when compared with the rest of the island.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice grilled fish on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We had a lovely dinner here, the food was great. The best staff in Malapascua so far.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magellan's also viewed

 
Malapascua Island, Cebu Island
Malapascua Island, Cebu Island
 

Been to Magellan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magellan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.