We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a fabulous place to relax and rejuvenate.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Corals Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Corals Beach Resort to your Saves list
Blue Corals Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   6013, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is a fabulous place to relax and rejuvenate.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Beautiful and relaxing scenery, friendly people and value for money are just a few characteristics that can be attributed to Blue Coral Beach Resort in Malapascua Island. It was a heart warming and memorable experience when I spent my 2013 Holy Week in that resort. Delectable food enhances the experience and gives you the best get away. This place will surely make you forget of every doubts, fear and exhaustion. Simply the best!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    27
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
24
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The resort, it's service,facilities and food is splendid. Just hadmy 3rd visit to Blue Corals Beach Resort and we had a morning of bliss. The panoramic view of the beach from our room was wonderful; so beautiful to wake up to each morning.
The staff are friendly and welcoming. They really do anything they can help.
The room is clean as well as housekeping is attentive and quick when you need something.

It's not a cheap resort, but it's worth itfor a wonderful holiday. We will be goinback there soon. . .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Booking our rooms for a 3day/2night stay in this hotel was fast and efficient. Prompt reply from the owner/staff with regards to our inquiries. We were also given discounts for our stay there and they were the one who booked our boat who fetched us from Maya Port. Below are my observations with this hotel:

Good:
* Polite staff
* They cleaned our room within our stay there
* Breakfast served promptly
* Nice view from our balcony
* Accommodates group/families for an affordable price
* Accommodation includes a sumptuous breakfast which is a good thing since Food is really expensive in Malapascua.

Bad:
* Place is located next to a cemetery, might be creepy for some
* Flies are everywhere (can't blame them almost all of the restos where we've eaten there have flies.
* Not so fine sand and a lot of sea weeds within their beach area. You have to walk farther to experience the fine white sand (in our case, we took a dip at exotic dive resort, they have a nice shoreline there.)
* Salty water on shower/bathroom

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Am not surprised in noting that this resort is ranked 7th out of 7 especially as the management don't appear to have taken note of other comments and concerns, nor do they take the opportunity as offered, by TripAdvisor, in responding.
An earlier comment about 'company outings' was identical to my own. One must assume that such outings are highly discounted but for the more discerning traveller - paying a high price for a second rate product does not encourage return visits nor recommendations when such groups literally take over the resort causing disruption, extreme noise coupled with the blaring music until late in the evening. I would give this resort just another couple of years in existance before they are out ofbusiness. Like another reviewer, we had to request that the music be toned down.
As expected in the Philippines, the employees are very pleasant and accommodating, but there is a clear need for customer service and product training to be carried out.
The biggest concern we faced was the abundance of flies in the restaurant area. Had they put up netting, this would have reduced the infestation, but alas, each mouthful of a very bland meal was a risk of consuming the added protein. I think I would have been horrified to have seen the kitchens......
Although the overall amentities are averagely good, the total lack of attention to detail by the employees has a lot to be desired especially the disgusting state of the showers. Any fool can criticise and I would love to be positive, but as the owners, whom I found out are joint Korean/Filipino - don't appear to recognise nor accept guest comments, then it would be wasting readers time in identifying further concerns. We did whilst staying at the resort inspect others nearby and found them to be much better value - as the Blue Coral was overly expensive for what was on offer.
Unfortunately I was a guest of a family staying at the resort - otherwise I would have carried out my own research in advance on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivian U, Owner at Blue Corals Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Mr Worth, I am sorry that your stay was not in accordance with your expectations.

We try to make each guest's stay as comfortable as possible. If guests are loud, we take measures to minimise disturbance of other guests. If this did not work during your stay, I apologise.

Flies can unfortunately sometimes be a problem on the whole island. Our restaurant is semi open space which makes it nice and breezy, yet not possible to close off. I do think however that you exaggerate the problem a bit if you suggest that there was a risk of getting them in your mouth.

I am sorry you didn't ask for a tour of our kitchen as it actually meets the highest standard of hygiene. As other reviewers have also commented, our rooms are also very clean. Something must have gone wrong with your room if your experience was that it was not fully clean. I am sorry about that.

The hotel is, by the way, not under Korean but under German ownership.

Again my apologies that you didn't enjoy your stay. We would be happy to have you back at our resort to show you that your experience was exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Beautiful location with amazing views along the beach. Staff member we met very helpful and friendly. Nice lounge, bar and reception area all close together. Rooms we looked at (fan and aircon were ok). Has a bar outside overlooking the sea but no bar person and no drinks ( completely empty).Bar area was covered by a roof but the loungers and seats for the guests had no shaded area so you would cook in the sun. Has great potential but badly needs a paint job and upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a budget stay, close to the Dive Centres of Malapascua, we dived with Thresher Shark Divers.
Location perfect, for a nice sunset and sunrise viewing, and of course very close to the Dive shop and a short stroll to the Village of Malapascua, but also away from the busy end of the beach.
The accommodation is basic, but clean, an excellent breakfast is included in the cost.
Our room was air conditioned and had a fan as well

Room Tip: An upper floor facing the east, catches the sunrise and the breeze. The western side is hotter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolomiti
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We chose this hotel due to the reviews on the sunset view and it was worth it! Staff very "relaxed" but were always available to help whenever we had a request. Nice breakfast too. We had a deluxe room with a sunset view and we spent every evening on the small terrace watching th sunset or stars. Sonia will email you if you contact her and she recommended us to book directly from her as she can give a discount. They love their music and start to play it early in the morning but we were normally up early to go diving and weren't bothered. Bring earplugs if you want to sleep in or ask for an upper floor room. Rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels provided. No amenities provided.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Corals Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Corals Beach Resort

Address: 6013, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Corals Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Corals Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Corals Beach Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Corals Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.