We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mike & Diose's Beach Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malapascua Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mike & Diose's Beach Cottage
Save
You added Mike & Diose's Beach Cottage to your Saves list
AABANA Bounty Beach, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

See our review from AABANA Beach and Watersport Resort page! "We headed to Malapascua to find relaxation and peace from tropical paradise and I think that we definately spotted the right place. We had stayed for a week in Bohol and right away when we arrived to Malapascua and saw the beach in Mike and Diose's place we realized that it was something to experience. The beach, garden, bungalows and cottages were all extremely beautiful and the location of the resort is percfect- away from everything. Mike, Diose and staff were really fantastic and there was nothing that they cannot do for you to make your stay perfect. We were able to see right away that they are not doing this just for business, they really love their place and guests. Visitors are really able to feel it. This place has this extraordinary peace and harmory together and it truly is great place for relaxing. We can definately recommend it to everyone who is willing to visit a true paradise.

Tip: ask staff that if they could prepare a dinner for you. They usually serve what they happen to have that day, but it was extremely delicious every time! Enjoy it in beach cottage and feel the cool wind on your skin in the night at the beach. That is really something. Also Kayaks, snorkeling trips etc are really cheap and Mike is willing to help you out with every questions you may have!"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    29
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
60
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We headed to Malapascua to find relaxation and peace from tropical paradise and I think that we definately spotted the right place. We had stayed for a week in Bohol and right away when we arrived to Malapascua and saw the beach in Mike and Diose's place we realized that it was something to experience. The beach, garden, bungalows and cottages were all extremely beautiful and the location of the resort is percfect- away from everything. Mike, Diose and staff were really fantastic and there was nothing that they cannot do for you to make your stay perfect. We were able to see right away that they are not doing this just for business, they really love their place and guests. Visitors are really able to feel it. This place has this extraordinary peace and harmory together and it truly is great place for relaxing. We can definately recommend it to everyone who is willing to visit a true paradise.

Tip: ask staff that if they could prepare a dinner for you. They usually serve what they happen to have that day, but it was extremely delicious every time! Enjoy it in beach cottage and feel the cool wind on your skin in the night at the beach. That is really something. Also Kayaks, snorkeling trips etc are really cheap and Mike is willing to help you out with every questions you may have!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butuan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days in their cheapest room accommodation. It may be the cheapest but it has the best view, fronting the beach, among all other rooms in the place. (It was also one of the cheapest accomodation you can find in Malapascua.) The room is made of native materials like bamboo and nipa leaves which makes it very cozy. The toilet outside the room is clean and spacious. The resort is peaceful, quiet and least 'touristy.' Breakfast is included which is composed of pancake or omelette and coffee/tea.

The not so good thing here is that their beach is not really ideal for swimming as it is full of seaweeds. Also, the room is next to the owner's room and is separated by thin walls.

Overall, I find the place a great deal for your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Really glad we stayed here rather than the dive resorts. Mike is the most wonderful host, really good on the email communication and gives excellent and clear instruction on how to reach him. We stayed in one of the cottages, lovely clean large room. We had our own bathroom but it was outside the room. Wifi access is good and there's a safe in the room. Breakfast can be taken on the beach or on the veranda outside the room and was very good.
The surroundings are lovely and very cared for. All the staff are friendly and helpful and you can easily walk to evolution and exotic dive companies. I'd definitely stay here again and I think it's great value and a lovely location, really homely. The room isn't serviced every day but the staff will come in if you ask, you can get pretty much anything if you ask, they're so kind.
Few top tips- aim to get to the island in the morning or afternoon as it's super expensive after the last ferry departs. If you're getting the bus from Cebu city, the aircon Ceres liner takes a lot longer with lots of stops so you might want to factor that into your timing. On the day you check out, try to get the ferry back before 1pm. Ferries are supposed to run until 5 but in reality, they don't and again, it's very expensive. For evening meals, there is a cheap place on the other side of the island which I hear is very good, alternatively there is a vast menu at Exotic, just along the beach and the food we had there was excellent, the cocktails are also pretty good at happy hour, better than the Craic House at Evolution next door. If you want to save a bit on bottled water, Mike and Diose will fill up your old bottle for 15pesos or so.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went there together with my friends and we just had the best stay wherein all the staff were so friendly and so accommodating. We were so comfortable having a very nice room. We hang out under the Talisay tree where you can see the beach front with white sand and you can feel the sea breeze which made us feel so relax and stress free. What made me feel so impressed is that all the staff were so willing to assist you and to serve you with a smile. And for us, good customer service is one of the best factor that we considered during our stay there. For the owner, Mike and Diose, job well done. We will come back again next time. Highly recommended. In my own view, its the best place to stay in Malapascua.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Yes, this is it, THE insider tip if you're looking for that small, secret spot on earth called paradise! Sure, probably all the philippine islands are somehow gorgeous, but it's the accommodation that makes the difference. And with Mike and his Aabana Beach you found THE place to stay if you're looking for a perfect relaxing holiday! The bungalows are set in the most beautiful garden with coconut palm trees, right next to a pure white sand beach. Enjoy breakfast in one of the small romantic huts at the beach, watch the most beautiful sunset from the beach cottage, take a nap in one of the hammocks which are hidden in the most calming spots and enjoy life! Seriously, there is absolutely nothing Mike, his lovely wife and his most adorable staff can't do for you and you will feel pampered in every possible way!
Please, if you want tons of tourist, loud clubs and an anonymous place to stay, go somewhere else. If you want true paradise, the most lovable owner and staff members and pure relaxation, come to Aabana Beach Resort on Malapascua Island!
with lots of love,
germany, austria and england ❤

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Münster, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have been at Mike and Diose´s Aabana Beach and Watersport Resort with four other friends in March 2013. We stayed five nights. Our booking was a bit late, so that the big cottages were already booked by others. But Mike could only offer us a two person room with three extra matresses. Because we are young travellers, we had no problems with that, and the value (only a few pesos more for the additional persons) was very good! All in all the rooms are very clean, have aircon and a fan, additional towels, good bathroom and it is quiet except the few roosters in the morning (but they are everywhere on malapascua), ...
The breakfast directly at the beautiful beach huts was awesome, the atmosphere very friendly and calm. I felt like being in a family there. Mike is really caring for his guests. Because of the intense sun, our sunlotion was gone very quick, but mike could help us out with his sunlotion :)
I have been walking around the island and can say that the wide beach in front of Aabanas is one of the best on the Island. Sometimes it is a bit windy, but that is perfect for learning windsurfing on the surfboard from Mike. It is a bit older board, but still good and it was a great fun :) You can rent it for 50 peso a day. If you are more into paddling, just pull the small bangka into the water and explore the nearby water by paddling. But dont get sunburned ;)
Also a boat trip around Malapascua Island is offered by Aabanas resort, including snorkelling and if you are fearless, go jumping from a 12 meter cliff nearby the northbeach. Compared to other offers from the beach, it is way cheaper, when you go with four or five persons.
All in all it was the best choice to go there. Any organisation about travelling from cebu city is done by an explaining email from mike, how to get on buses and boats. A tip by myself: dont take the offer of small vans, because the drivers drive shockingly bad!!! Go for the yellow ceres liners, like it is said in Mikes email.
I would love to come back soon!! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mike & Diose's Beach Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike & Diose's Beach Cottage

Address: AABANA Bounty Beach, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful little Beach Resort on the peaceful East side of the Bounty Beach Malapascua. Fantastic priceworthy solid Cottages with Aircon, Sat-TV, Value Safe, WarmWaterShower, Refrigerator, Big terrace, WiFi Internet connection. White Sand clean well-maintained beach.Still under construction but full operating, friendly Service and Best price / value ratio. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mike And Diose`s Beach Cottage
Mike & Diose`s Beach Cottage Hotel Malapascua Island
Mike & Diose's Beach Cottage Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike & Diose's Beach Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.