We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, clean and good value for money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Celtis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Celtis Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Celtis Resort
Barangay Logon | 6013 Daan-Bantayan, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Safe, clean and good value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have just stayed 6 nights in Celtis Resort Malapascua.

We had a very nice time and the room was spotless. The staff was super friendly and helpful, especially Bernie was very accomodating.

Very good value for money, a 2-3 minute walk to the beach but it didn't bother us at all as the resort was very quiet and safe. All rooms have safety deposit boxes and also to mention.. Malapascua has no ATM and we had troubles with finding a working ATM before we arrived but Bernie was very nice and let us pay for the room on PayPal which helped us a lot.

Serge which I guess is the owner was fantastic over emails and replied within an hour every time. When we were there we were the only place on the whole island that had a working wifi. They cleaned the room if you asked for it and was no problems to get new toileteries when we asked.

What we noticed as well is that the staff at the resort are not pushy and try to sell you anything which is unusual in the Philippines and we appreciated that.

When we were there a little disabled ginger kitten appeared with what we guessed two broken back legs. If you like cats this is the most affectionate and loving cat you'll ever find. As he can barely walk he is finding it hard to find water and food. Please give him a bit of food or water if you stay there and see him.

Thank you Celtis for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

After one night in a crappy, old, overpriced bungalow full of bugs - I told my boyfriend that we needed to find another place or LEAVE the island. I`m soooo happy we found Celtis. Because after we found that place, we stayed! For a loooong time! Its run by the sweetest couple, and they make you feel at home the minute you walk in to their little bungalow-resort. We use about 4 minute walk down to the beach (diveshop), and because of those tiny minutes walk you pay close to nothing for this beautiful bungalow. Its new, clean and in great surroundings. Its quiet and peacfull, and when you go down to the beach you meet soo many local people greeting you on your way.. We have now stayed a month in this nice place, and I dont want to leave! We have been travelling for a year now, and this is the nicest place we have been. Also the cheapest!

They change bedsheets and towlels, and clean your room whenever you need to. They also have great working wifi, and its not everywhere you can find that on this island... The nice guy who runs the place even bring the mobile wifi and connect it a place close to you when you sit outside the bungalow. Hotwater and nice shower also! No bugs! :-) Since its only a few bungalows here, you should try to book in advance, so you dont miss your chance to get one of the nicest place on the island.

Its very good for longstay aswell, Its amazing how cheap a place can be and still so NICE! Thank you for a great stay, looking forward to stay here a little bit longer :-D

Room Tip: Just make sure you stay at Celtis during your stay at Malapascua, nothing else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Celtis resort from 26/12/12 - 01/01/13. Big rooms, clean and with lots of privacy. Nice people who run the place. The rooms have ac and a fan depending on what you need. The staff also was very helpful and quite attentive.

Transport from Cebu and back was also swiftly arranged.

We both scuba dive and therefore had the freedom to choose any dive school to scuba dive with. We chose Purple snapper that was about a 5 minute walk from the resort; the beach also was about a 5 minute walk.

Very good quality for money and a definite recommendation for anyone that would like to be away from busy resort and appreciate the more quiet places that are about.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here a couple of nights during our trip to Malapascua. Nice and clean place, a five minute walk from the beach. Great if your a backpacker not interested in staying at one of the flashier beach resorts.

Plus: Big rooms, clean and with lots of privacy. Nice people who run the place. Overall, the people of Malapascua are really friendly!

Minus: Kind of hard beds, a bit too high nightly rates considering location. Although both are small minuses.

Overall, not the best place I've stayed at in SE Asia, but far from the worst. I would definitely recommend it to friends looking for budget rooms who are looking to relax.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

A little bit far from the beach, but its no problem if you like to walk.
Clean rooms, quiet garden.
But the best about this place is the couple who runs it. Two young people, who is very service minded. They will help you with most of your request, if they can.

They also serve breakfast, for a good price- its simple and good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Well, booking was a hassle. No helpful representative to assist you. Rooms are so so. Cleanliness should be improved.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012 via mobile

bad location but nice clean rooms
good value for money

fantastic staff who got up at midnight to find us a room

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Celtis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celtis Resort

Address: Barangay Logon | 6013 Daan-Bantayan, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celtis Resort is a comfortable resort ideal for divers visiting Malapascua Island. The resort is near the major dive centers and is located only 3 minutes away from the beach.The garden resort has 10 rooms designed for our international guests each providing accommodation for a maximum of two persons. The resort is definitely supplied with 24 hours electricity and all our rooms are fully equipped with air conditioning, hot and cold water, safety box and each room comes with its own private terrace with garden view.Celtis Resort goal is to guarantee the best accommodation, service and cleanliness at the best price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Celtis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Celtis Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Celtis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.