We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tepanee Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tepanee Beach Resort to your Saves list
Tepanee Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Malapascua Island | Logon - Danbantayan - Cebu, 6013, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Look no further!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

In my opinion, Tepanee Beach Resort is one of the best resorts on the island. The room is spacious, clean and very comfortable. The toilet actually works really really well! =)

The only complaint is the uncomfortable pillows. Tepanee, if you're reading this review, pls change your pillows. They gave us a nasty neck ache!

Other than that, this resort is perfect. Its quiet, location is ideal and food at the cafe is yummy.

The owners adopted a few dogs and cats on the island and its really nice when the animals come hang out with you. They complete the experience. =)

Lastly, there are NO touts at the resort!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    79
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
131
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Have just returned from a week at Malapascua staying at Tepanee Resort. We spent one night in an ocean view cabin with fan which is fairly basic but great view before moving to the deluxe aircon ocean view room for the rest of our stay. Just lovely - clean, comfortable and awesome view. Good breakfasts and lunches at the beach bar restaurant and wifi mostly good no matter where - a little slower in room but no big deal. Would be good to have a bit better lighting on the pathways at night - maybe some solar powered lights. Great resort puppy (Latte) - she's the ugly one but oh such a gorgeous gentle personality - give her a pat. We were there for diving but the snorkelling is great out the front ( saw a juvenile lion fish in 3 foot of water) or hire a guy and his boat for a snorkelling trip around the island.

Room Tip: Depends on time of year - can get quite warm o aircon good for that
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Malapascua is a beautiful island lost in the middle of the ocean: it's far from the crowded polluted towns, a small spot of sand and palmtrees. The Filipinos are friendly nice people, always singing, smiling or ...sleeping.
At Tepanee we have found exactly what we were looking for: a quiet, lovely, comfortable resort with everything you need to relax, enjoy and feel good. Serendipity is the right word.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed Aug 2013 for 6 nights - well-travelled couple (30s) in fan hut with ocean view (1500php per night) & visiting parents (60s) in a.c. cottage (2700php per night).

Positives
- Very quick to answer emails, gave good information.
- The 300Php massage for 1 hour was lovely.
- Secluded, sandy & rocky beach.
- Relaxing and peaceful atmosphere.
- A.C cottage was spacious, cold a.c, and nice furnishings.
- Walking distance to Bounty beach and restaurants.
- Lovely ocean view from the fan room balcony.
- Local staff were friendly and helpful.
- Highly recommend Ging Ging's Garden restaurant for delicious, inexpensive food.
- Day trip to Kalanggmann island was fantastic
- Walk 20mins to the beautiful Lighthouse beach - quiet, no tourists, great snorkelling.

Negatives
- Fan huts were extremely overpriced for how basic they are (we have travelled extensively around the Philippines and Asia, and was shocked by what we were paying for).
- Simple, basic things missing in huts (no shelves in the bathroom, no drinking glasses, lack of general information provided about activities, eating options, diving, etc).
- Italian owner couple - the chap was nice enough, but the woman never even said a hello during our 6 days there. Neither of them ever asked how our stay was.
- Bar and food are very overpriced.
- Wifi does not work in the rooms, only works down at the bar area.
- We had arranged a private transfer from Cebu airport (private car & boat) through Tepanee (4500php one way for both), arriving at 11pm. No welcome from owners and left to local staff who gave us keys.
- Please improve the stone steps, tripped a couple of times - it really is a hazard (especially with no lighting during the evenings).
- Although the massage was lovely, the massage gazebo is right next to the bar/seating area (cigarette smoke blowing over & listening to guests' loud conversation is not pleasant during a massage).

Tepanee has a lovely setting and ocean views, but lacks value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tepanee, Direttore at Tepanee Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Charlie and Al,
thank you very much for your feedback.
We are very happy for the positive things you noticed: we are always doing our best.
About the negative ones, I have to apologize for any misunderstanding that occurred when you were with us: the Italian owners were not in Malapascua last August: they are not involved in the managing. The couple you saw was maybe a couple of guests, many Italians guests were in Tepanee last August. I was the one greeting you at your arrival, at the reception.
Best regards,
Niel Arrofo
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was the second time for me to go to the island, and the second time to stay at Tepanee. I stayed in he cottage without air condition and hot water same as two and half years ago, and it was still almost perfect, the room is simple, but well maintained and clean.

What I love most is the stunning ocean view from large lovely balcony.
I love to stay on the balcony, but maybe due to the season, the wind from the ocean was so strong, that it was actually a bit cold to stay on the balcony at night or in the morning. and I was sorry to had to close the windows and doors to get asleep at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Me and my wife are on a 4 week honeymoon trip across Asia including 3 weeks in the Philippines, we stayed on Bantayan island for 5 nights and then hired a private bangka for 2500php to journey on to Malapascua. We stayed in Tepanee for 5 nights from Aug 15-20th. It was hard to know what to expect from the photos, I booked based on the dazzling reviews and we were certainly not disappointed. The resort is owned by 3 Italians, including Vittorio who joined this year and who also happened to be the F&B Manager of the resort and a top notch chef.

We were in the room Chona which is a super deluxe room with a gorgeous view onto the ocean, not just the view but the peace and tranquility you felt while being there was simply unmatched. The room itself is spacious, very clean, there is a safe as well as a fridge with mini bar items at a very reasonable price (a pack of 8 oreos for 25php, chocolate milk for 45php, a large bottle of water for 50php etc). The Air Conditioning was brand new, efficient and super silent.

Here's a summary of what we loved here:
+ Clean and secluded resort, peaceful and calm
+ Has its own private beach from where you can see the sunset on a clear day (the only resort on the island where this is possible)
+ Breakfast is good, coffee is excellent since it is italian
+ Food is very good, have Vittorio cook lunch or dinner for you trust me you won't regret it, I loved everything he made us, especially his tiramisu, it's not cheap but it's worth it.
+ Another Italian couple owns a restaurant called Angelina right across from the reception area and they make the BEST wood oven pizzas and everything else in that restaurant is delicious(we mostly ate there, at Vittorio's and at evolution)
+ My wife had a massage, they cost 300php an hour and she was pleased with it.
+ Their outdoor bar is very peaceful and relaxing, make sure you spend time there on the lawn chairs and just soak up the sun and scenery
+ The staff is very nice and well trained

And now for the things I think need improvement (which are minor)
- The reception staff need to be better trained in terms of things to do on the island as well as pricing, we wanted to go to Kalanggaman island and the reception didn't seem to know hoe much we should accept from canvassers.
- Wifi wasn't great inside the rooms but you're on a small island so not a big deal
- Maybe add a bit more lighting on the stairs at night as it might be hard for disabled or older people to see (then again if you made it to Malapascua in one piece you should be fine lol)
- Linens are rather thin, I had to ask for extra blanketts but would've been nice to see them in the room in case people needed them.

All in all, a very good resort, in my opinion the best in Malapascua as most of the others are on bounty beach where it can get noisy and the view is not as nice. Also at Tepanee you are free from street vendors so much nicer

A solid 4 stars, I would be willing to givr 4.5. I think 5 stars should be extremly rare and awarded by people far too often. 5 stars should be given when no room for improvement stand or if the price/value ratio is simply outstanding. In this case you get what you pay for and I can only highly recommend this resort to anyone, you will not regret staying here!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed a week..while diving with TSD.. Tepanee is close to the dive shop and local shops.. Don't expect a 5 star resort...but its clean and staff very friendly... and the private beach is just a gem..But try to book the full ocean view (cold shower only).. will definitely go back again for my next dive visit....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tepanee Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tepanee Beach Resort

Address: Malapascua Island | Logon - Danbantayan - Cebu, 6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tepanee Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malapascua is a gem of an island where our dream came true. Ours is an intimate, friendly resort that will give you a holiday to remember. Tepanee stands on a small hill that rises up from Logon beach and our territory goes down to our own private sandy beach, from where it's possible to admire breathtaking sunsets in an area secluded from the rest of the island and where we placed beach umbrellas, sunbeds, a gazebo for massages and our lovely Chiringuito at Sunset Beach Bar & Restaurant. Historically, the concept for our resort followed a philosophy of low environment impact. Most of the building materials are natural and local: wood, bamboo and stones used for the main structures, roofs made of a typical straw named kogon. The buildings are almost invisible from the ocean, even if many are built right on the seaside. The name TEPANEE comes from the Polinesyan name of frangipani: a tropical tree that produces the flowers printed in these pages. Many tepanees grow on our small hill, flowering in different colours: during the blooming season their fragrance diffuses in the air. Opened on December 8, 2008, Tepanee in the beginning was consisted of 6 independent double cottages and one building of two storeyes with 4 triple rooms. We have grown, and can now offer you: 3 Deluxe Aircon Cottage: superb ocean view (perhaps the best in Malapascua); independent buildings with aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, 24h electricity, balcony with sofa, daily cleaning, double bed with option for one or two extra single beds. 8 Aircon Cottages: independent buildings with aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, 24h electricity, balcony with sofa, daily cleaning, double bed with option for one extra single bed. 4 Aircon Rooms: 3 rooms are double and 1 room has two single beds; private entrance, aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, 24h electricity, balcony with sofa, daily cleaning, double bed with option for one extra single bed. 4 Fan Cottages: with an amazing ocean view; independent buildings with ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, 24h electricity, balcony with sofa, daily cleaning, double bed with option for one extra single bed; no aircon, shower at room temperature. We provide for the wifi in the public areas (beach, bar, restaurant) and in some of the rooms and cottages. Please, note that we are in a remote island and the service sometime may be slow or discontinuous. Since December 2012, you can eat and drink right next to our private beach, at the Chiringuito at Sunset Beach Bar & Restaurant, where we serve breakfast and lunch, snacks, drinks and natural fruit juices, cocktails, with soft background music in the background. In May 2013, we opened our new Amihan Bar & Restaurant, in a panoramic position on the hill at the new entrance of Tepanee: we are serving the amazing Mediterranean cuisine as well as some other dish and beyond that Amihan had already become renowned for. Some practical information We accept credit cards payments: Visa, Mastercard, American Express and JCB (bank transaction charges apply). We also accept cash payments in Pesos, Euros and US Dollars. Malapascua does not have any normal bank, ATMs, official exchange bureaus nor post offices. Therefore it's not possible to get hold of cash and the nearest bank is in Bogo, a town that is about one hour by bus from Maya pier (that is about half an hour by boat from Malapascua). We recommend that you arrive in Malapascua with enough Pesos, the local money, for your stay here. The nearest airport is the Mactan Cebu International Airport of Cebu City (IATA code: CEB). From the airport there are about 140 kms of paved road (all totally cleared since Typhoon Yolanda) to get to the port of Maya, in the far north of the island of Cebu. Maya is 8 kms far from Malapascua by sea. Tepanee organizes transfers at any time by private van and boat, reducing the travel time to about 3 and a half hours in all: our boats arrive and depart from our private beach, located inside the Tepanee Beach Resort area. There is a bus service and public ferries that allow, in about 5 and a half hours, to go from Cebu City to Malapascua. The bus service runs 24/7 and some buses have air conditioning: there is no official timetable, but the rides are frequent. The ferries operate from Maya to Malapascua from 7:00 AM to 5:00 PM, and from Malapascua to Maya from 6:30 AM to 2:00 PM. Departures are every 30 minutes, but only if the minimum number of passengers is reached. The people of Malapascua are very kind and friendly. Their ability to smile through the losses they have suffered in the typhoon is nothing short of amazing, and inspiring. The islanders do have customs and traditions that can be different from ours. To show proper respect for them, please don't go around the villages just wearing only a bathing suit: please wear at least shorts and a T-shirt. Furthermore, topless bathing and nudism are forbidden even on beaches, even though no one is likely to complain to you. Tepanee Beach Resort is located in a non-flat area: from the reception to the rooms and the beach on the back there are stairs to go up and down. The steps are wide and low, but they do exist: please be aware of this when choosing our hotel for your stay. We do not offer the beach towels service, as we are trying to conserve natural resources: the fresh water on the island comes from a limited sub-soil water table, and the laundering of beach towels every day would contribute to unsustainable levels of water consumption. We do not provide hair-dryers. We do not have tv in the rooms. Check-in is possible from 2:00 PM. Check-out must be completed by 12:00 noon. Reception is open from 6:00 AM to 11:00 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tepanee Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tepanee Beach Hotel Malapascua Island
Tepanee Beach Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tepanee Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.