We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Rated Resort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tepanee Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tepanee Beach Resort to your Saves list
Tepanee Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Malapascua Island | Logon - Danbantayan - Cebu, 6013, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Malapascua Island
London UK...
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Over Rated Resort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

After quick search on internet found the Tepanee resort web page
after reading trough rang and booked accommodation and paid
deposit as asked for .
First t impression was good due to receptionist named Julie,
Very helpful and l informative, with a welcome big smile which was nice to see.
Room was ok hot cold water problem is when taking a shower if toilet is flushed
then the shower stops working for 3 mins due to water pressure ...Bed is not comfy
also dye to it being such a small resort tit dose not have it.s own Restaurant but has done a deal with owner of small place next door ...
Worst thing about this resort is at night due to location its close to other resorts and they play very loud music till 1 or 2am .
If your looking for choice of food the there are plenty to chose from along the main beach all with in 10 mins walk from hotel...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    68
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
110
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Staying at Tepanee was arranged for us by Thresher Shark dive shop, and it was a good choice, its simple and comfortable but clean and recently decorated and good value. Most people are there for diving, so you you don't have to have the lap of luxury, and given what we saw and heard of some of the alternatives, I don't think i'd want tostay any where else when we go back! Also has a good restaurant attached - dare I say it was fillipino-italian fusion? :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We have spent in Tepanee 9 days between december 2010 and january 2011.
Rooms/bungalows are very clean, have all the essentials (patio, air-con, comfortable bathroom with hot water, safe, windows with mosquito nets) and are in a very secluded and quiet area of the island.
The owners, Silvia and Andrea, made us feel welcomed since the very first day, together with Angela and Riccardo, owners of Angelina's restaurant (best food in Malapascua!). All of them, together with their staff, gave us whatever support and information we needed, helping us to get the most from our stay.
Overall, regardless of the cloudy weather, our experience in Malapascua was extremely positive, and we have to thank Tepanee, its owners and staff, for contributing a lot to this feedback.
We miss the place and we hope to be able to return, sooner or later.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

If you are looking for a stay at Malapascua this resort/hotel is really nicely done, a combination of Malapascua natural things with an Italian style. Its location is perfect, not on the boulevard next to all the other resorts, but in the corner of the beach where all the boats arrive.

We were happy with the room, clean, bright and nice local design. But if you love Italy, you can have a good espresso in the morning or home-made pasta from Angelina & husband in the evening.

Within a walking distance of the best local diveshop: Divelink.

We will definately come back because its a nice place but the owners do more for Malapascua then earning money alone. Silvia & Andreas really try to learn their staff or in times of trouble they will be there. Respect!

And if you have never dived before? Ask Silvia as your Instructor ;)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

The resort is very basic. The bed is simple and average comfort. It does have running water but, not fresh. A/C works ok and is reasonably quiet. There is a small safe in the closet which is convenient and easy to operate. Also a small stocked refrigerator is a nice addition. I think the best feature is the balcony - very nice for relaxing in the morning or evening. Somewhat interesting, I never met anyone from the resort - almost seemed that nobody was there.

Skip

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010 via mobile

Beat location on island very quiet no loud bars or cockerel waking u up!! Private beach lovely. Rooms ok basic but nice. Glad we chose this place to stay only few minutes to main beach. We dived with tsd they were good nice divemaster je-Ann showed us some great stuff lived the diving threshers great !! Oscars bar above tsd had the best food ever go and check it out yum!!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

We stayed at Tepanee for a week and what a beautiful place. The rooms have been done in keeping with the environment and are lovely, very spacious and clean and really comfortable. We had a A/C room which had a safe and a fridge too. Although the cheaper fan rooms have a beautiful view of the sea front. The hotel is next door to a lovely Italian restaurant too called Angelines, I am not sure if it is part of the hotel or not. The house wine was really good and cheap so this is was a bonus for us as we had not had any decent wine for ages on our trip. The homemade bread was good too. Maybe the restaurant staff at the restaurant could work on their customer service skills but we still returned as it was such good food/wine. The hotel has its own private beach as well which means that you didnt have any hassle from vendors or kids asking you to buy shells. There no wifi which we normally prefer to have in a hotel but you can go down the way to Malditos to surf the net. You did have to pay in cash for the hotel as they didnt accept credit cards and there is no ATM on the island so you have to make sure that you have enough cash for the week for lodging and food etc - we would have preferred to pay by Paypal (if credit card payment is not accepted) beforehand if possible so we didnt have to carry so much cash with us. We loved our stay at Tepanee and would love to return one day, it really is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tepanee Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tepanee Beach Resort

Address: Malapascua Island | Logon - Danbantayan - Cebu, 6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Malapascua Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tepanee Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malapascua is a gem of an island where our dream came true. Ours is an intimate, friendly resort that will give you a holiday to remember. Tepanee stands on a small hill that rises up from Logon beach and our territory goes down to our own private sandy beach, from where it's possible to admire breathtaking sunsets in an area secluded from the rest of the island and where we placed beach umbrellas, sunbeds, a gazebo for massages and our lovely Chiringuito at Sunset Beach Bar & Restaurant. Historically, the concept for our resort followed a philosophy of low environment impact. Most of the building materials are natural and local: wood, bamboo and stones used for the main structures, roofs made of a typical straw named kogon. The buildings are almost invisible from the ocean, even if many are built right on the seaside. The name TEPANEE comes from the Polinesyan name of frangipani: a tropical tree that produces the flowers printed in these pages. Many tepanees grow on our small hill, flowering in different colours: during the blooming season their fragrance diffuses in the air. Opened on December 8, 2008, Tepanee in the beginning was consisted of 6 independent double cottages and one building of two storeyes with 4 triple rooms. We have grown, and can now offer you: 3 Deluxe Aircon Cottage: superb ocean view (perhaps the best in Malapascua); independent buildings with aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, 24h electricity, balcony with sofa, daily cleaning, double bed with option for one or two extra single beds. 8 Aircon Cottages: independent buildings with aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, 24h electricity, balcony with sofa, daily cleaning, double bed with option for one extra single bed. 4 Aircon Rooms: 3 rooms are double and 1 room has two single beds; private entrance, aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, 24h electricity, balcony with sofa, daily cleaning, double bed with option for one extra single bed. 4 Fan Cottages: with an amazing ocean view; independent buildings with ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, 24h electricity, balcony with sofa, daily cleaning, double bed with option for one extra single bed; no aircon, shower at room temperature. We provide for the wifi in the public areas (beach, bar, restaurant) and in some of the rooms and cottages. Please, note that we are in a remote island and the service sometime may be slow or discontinuous. Since December 2012, you can eat and drink right next to our private beach, at the Chiringuito at Sunset Beach Bar & Restaurant, where we serve breakfast and lunch, snacks, drinks and natural fruit juices, cocktails, with soft background music in the background. In May 2013, we opened our new Amihan Bar & Restaurant, in a panoramic position on the hill at the new entrance of Tepanee: we are serving the amazing Mediterranean cuisine as well as some other dish and beyond that Amihan had already become renowned for. Some practical information We accept credit cards payments: Visa, Mastercard, American Express and JCB (bank transaction charges apply). We also accept cash payments in Pesos, Euros and US Dollars. Malapascua does not have any normal bank, ATMs, official exchange bureaus nor post offices. Therefore it's not possible to get hold of cash and the nearest bank is in Bogo, a town that is about one hour by bus from Maya pier (that is about half an hour by boat from Malapascua). We recommend that you arrive in Malapascua with enough Pesos, the local money, for your stay here. The nearest airport is the Mactan Cebu International Airport of Cebu City (IATA code: CEB). From the airport there are about 140 kms of paved road (all totally cleared since Typhoon Yolanda) to get to the port of Maya, in the far north of the island of Cebu. Maya is 8 kms far from Malapascua by sea. Tepanee organizes transfers at any time by private van and boat, reducing the travel time to about 3 and a half hours in all: our boats arrive and depart from our private beach, located inside the Tepanee Beach Resort area. There is a bus service and public ferries that allow, in about 5 and a half hours, to go from Cebu City to Malapascua. The bus service runs 24/7 and some buses have air conditioning: there is no official timetable, but the rides are frequent. The ferries operate from Maya to Malapascua from 7:00 AM to 5:00 PM, and from Malapascua to Maya from 6:30 AM to 2:00 PM. Departures are every 30 minutes, but only if the minimum number of passengers is reached. The people of Malapascua are very kind and friendly. Their ability to smile through the losses they have suffered in the typhoon is nothing short of amazing, and inspiring. The islanders do have customs and traditions that can be different from ours. To show proper respect for them, please don't go around the villages just wearing only a bathing suit: please wear at least shorts and a T-shirt. Furthermore, topless bathing and nudism are forbidden even on beaches, even though no one is likely to complain to you. Tepanee Beach Resort is located in a non-flat area: from the reception to the rooms and the beach on the back there are stairs to go up and down. The steps are wide and low, but they do exist: please be aware of this when choosing our hotel for your stay. We do not offer the beach towels service, as we are trying to conserve natural resources: the fresh water on the island comes from a limited sub-soil water table, and the laundering of beach towels every day would contribute to unsustainable levels of water consumption. We do not provide hair-dryers. We do not have tv in the rooms. Check-in is possible from 2:00 PM. Check-out must be completed by 12:00 noon. Reception is open from 6:00 AM to 11:00 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tepanee Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tepanee Beach Hotel Malapascua Island
Tepanee Beach Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tepanee Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.