We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment in paradise.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Moonlight Resort

Save Saved
You added Moonlight Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moonlight Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Logon, Daanbantayan, 6013, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointment in paradise.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Far from the beach, no AC, if you want AC you have to pay almost double. The hot water is no working and the Wi-fi is very low. They offer to refill your bottle of water with mineral water paying 15 pesos but they refill it with tap water! Whom entered into the room took 3000 pesos and they denied it, no one took responsibility for it and was impossible to get in touch with the manager. Awful, awful, awful experience! do not book with them!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nürnberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were a big group of people and we had rented all rooms of the resort together. I must say that the Moonlight resort is exactly what we expected: a very neat and clean and comfortable, cosy place with wonderful nature around. Quiet enough to relax and be on our own, but close enough to the next lovely beach to walk within 2 minutes!!

When I read other peoples comments here, I don´t know what they expect when they book a resort by this price on a small Island like Malapascua! No ATM machine! Wow .... of course not. Its called nature what you will find there! I thought thats why people book on small Islands, to find a piece of nature remaining and NOT technical equipment all over. Well, too bad they don´t even know the difference between moonlight and midnight.


Anyway, I can say that our stay was very very positive. The place is a at a silent corner of the Island, 10 minutes walk away from the Village Logon where you will find several restaurants. The garden of the Resort is arranged very nicely. Quiet and beautiful flowers. Very relaxing and perfect for our kids who played there while we were sitting at the restaurant. The staff was very friendly. A little slow in cooking, but we solved this problem with ordering the food for dinner in the morning and then it worked perfect! By the time we came back from the beach, the food was already served!

Very positive was the way they wrote bills: Nothing, really nothing was wrong on it. I double-checked the bills each time and nothing was forgotten or added , they are very reliable in this point. The food was delicious and the servings huge, the price ok. The rooms were very big, enough space for 3 people to feel really comfortable. Wifi working well. It was very clean and the aircondition was working perfect! The matress of the beds was extremely comfortable. Sometimes there was little low water when we showered at the same time in all rooms. We solved this by showering one after the other. :)

Another positive point: the restaurant normally closes at 10. We wanted to sit there and talk until late night. They brought a karaoke system for us as soon as we asked for it. And there was one guy staying awake with us, patiently fulfilling our wishes until we went to bed. Thanks to him, that made us feel very special !!

The closest beach there is the Mongrove Beach, which is just around the corner. Its a nice silent sand beach wich is almost empty! We enjoyed to be there by our own. The legendary Bounty Beach is on the other side of the Village, only 15 minutes walk away. But you will find beaches all around, in whatever direction you go, as expected by an Island :) The nightlife is happening at Bounty Beach but we were not interested to go there as we wanted to stay by ourself anyway. The trip back to Cebu City was also arranged by the hotel and to our full satisfaction! We found a helping hand everywhere and for everything.

I would always come back to this hotel in this family-atmosphere!!!

Room Tip: My tip for travellers: it depends on what you are looking for. Luxury is not what you will find at M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FT LAUDERDALE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I booked my room at the midnight resort...online....for a two night stay....just about anything that could go wrong went wrong...briefly...no ATM MACHINE>>>they did not except credit cards for anything...at the resort. THE air conditioner was not turned on once...even when I asked and offered to pay for its use....NOPE>....terrible hot and uncomfortable....attitude of the staff was consistently rude and short and obviously unhappy with my unhappiness....as if it was my fault....THERE WERE SOME POSITIVE aspects to the rooms themselves but far out weighed by the negative experiences right from the very beginning......never again....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camiguin, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

booked on-line also a not so cheap "all inclusive transfer" from Cebu City to the resort. All worked out pretty well (car/driver/boat) until the boat reached in front of the beach of Malapascua where we had to transfer to a smaller boat which we had to pay for extra.
There were several more or less friendly girls/ladies hanging around at the restaurant/reception of the resort. the room n. 3 was ok, nicely tiled floor and a kingsize bed with good mattress! shower and toilet are separated, the hand basin in the room. air conditioner not too loud but air flow was directed right on the bed and could not be regulated, neither horizontally nor vertically - had to divert the airflow with a shirt. The shower head needed urgent cleaning as there was only very little water like about 7 needle thin jets coming out although the pressure at the hand basin was sufficient. The room was clean but the daily cleaning obviously was limited to a little floor sweeping (bedroom only) and putting the bedsheets right. in 4 days, the bathroom/shower was never cleaned what could be easily verified by the amount of hair around the drain; empty toilet paper rolls remained on the holder and dirty towels on the wall. Breakfast was slow and uninspiring, so was the main food; for the departure day we ordered breakfast for 7:30am, time when the service was supposed to start - very much in a hurry, we waited until 7:50 when finally the cook lady arrived, but we had to go....
Moonlight resort is situated inside the island with no view whatsoever, in a sort of little valley where no air/breeze arrived, what lead also to a not so nice mosquito problem. One inner island path passes the premise with 2 curves at the left and the right front corners of the resort where the passing motorbikes, for security reasons, sound their horns, day and night.
The 15 minutes walk to the nice Bounty beach leads through "real local life" which for several reasons might not be always too pleasant for some tourists and for us did not have nothing of folkloric at all.....it's quite long under the burning sun....
All in all, it was definitely felt that the owners, most of the year, seem to live in Austria and leave the "management" to local family members and unqualified staff.
We might come back some day to Malpascua's Thresher Sharks, but we surely will consider alternatives to the Moonlight Resort, of which there seems to be no lack....

Room Tip: choose your room by the quantity of water that comes out of the shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mora
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great and friendly staff. The rooms (the have 5 in a row) get's a bit stuff if you do not open the toilet window but that one does not have mosquito net. Great big bed. Hot water kettle.

Our main window did not have a working lock so I made a lock from a plastic pipe I found in the back, that way I could leave my laptop in the room as it otherwise would be possible to just go through the mosquito net. I'm not sure why the staff removed the lock and left the window open when I was away.

It is a bit of a walk from the main beach (Bounty Beach) but the hotel is good value for money.

I hope they will organize scheduled trips to Malapascua from Maya in the future. Low season now and you have to wait until enough passengers arrive or *organize a special trip*.

Lars

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at Moonlight Resort for a week and it was worth it. The food was delicious and the stuff super-friendly. The owner of the hotel is Austrian, so you can also enjoy "Schnitzel" or other Austrian meals. Also the dogs were cute. The room is european-standard and the price okay (10 -20 €/Person i think). The accomodation is not directly beachfront but just a 5-10 minutes walking distance away from it. It´s quietly situated, however at night there are no lights and you have to walk through a path in the "forest". All in all we highly recommend Moonlight Resort, if you don´t mind a short walk to the beach.
Lena, Stephan (23)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My grilfriend and I spent the first half of our holiday in this peaceful hideaway. The pretty garden creates a peaceful atmosphere not found inthe more popular - and more expensive - beach hotels. The staff are lovely and the accommodation excellent. We rented a motorbike to explore the small but scenic and interesting island (talk to Loy on 09266 251935 we got a good deal for 3 days) and recommend this. The main beach is about 10 minutes but nicer - and mostly deserted - beaches can be reached by motor or 20-30 minutes walk. Aircon is worth the extra 600 or so pesos - unfortunately elctricity prices on some islands are high. Enjoy!

Room Tip: All the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moonlight Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Resort

Address: Logon, Daanbantayan, 6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moonlight Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonlight Resort, in the heart of the small island Malapascua, offers silence and recuperation to its guests between innumerable coconut trees. Also activities like sunbathing at white beaches, swimming in crystal-clear water, snorkeling and diving at the surrounding reefs are possible anytime. In the restaurant you can spoil your palate with national and international dishes and beverages. The Moonlight Resort is the one and only resort on the island with sweetwater shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Moonlight Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlight Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonlight Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.